We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is macedonia, don't expect high standard”
Review of Stone Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stone Bridge
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Me and my wife spent 3 nights and we enjoyed the hotel. Seriously don't expect the hotel to be 5star-quality. Also I would expect ALL 5star hotels in the city to be of lower standard than average 5star.

Rooms towards the big square is nice, great view. Service is awesome when requested for it.
The showers are catastrophic, its small shower stand alone booths where they have radio sound etc. The water was luke-warm, no really hot showers here. Water pressure on 2nd floor is ok, on 3rd floor is worse.

There is a swimming pool, but the room is almost as small as the pool. The sauna is also basically a booth. Both swimmingpool and sauna are not inviting.

we had some problem with heating in the rooms since it was still quite cold during the nights. We were changed to another room when requested, no fuss at all.

Location is the best thing about the hotel.

Room Tip: would recommend any of the rooms on 2nd floor towards the big square. make sure the room heating/AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhuh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stay in the Stone Bridge Hotel whenever I am in Skopje, i.e. a couple of times a year. I have always found it an excellent choice: Relatively good value (they have a special weekend rate), great location with nice views, very helpful and efficient staff, it is clean and very well maintained.

The building work has now finished, so nice is no longer an issue and the whole neighbourhood has been revamped, even though some may find the style a bit overdone. Breakfast is not your standard international affair but a Balkans/Turkish buffer, which I quite like, though it may not be to everyone's taste. The decor is rather pleasant and cosy, at least to my taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Stone Bridge and city centre, rather than one on the side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Rooms are neat, with a great view of the bridge, and close to some nice restaurants. Oh, and the toilet papers smells nice.
But...staff are incredibly noisy outside rooms - they play music, have fairly vocal arguments, and seemed to spend the entire day gossiping at the top of their lungs right outside my room. A few requests to tone it down did not help.
Breakfast is edible but not particularly inspired or inspiring.
No tea making facilities in rooms - is this a Skopje thing?
Showers are complicated to operate, and work nothing like the instructional diagrams they put up.
Inconsistent room service - sometimes I got a face cloth, sometimes not. Sometimes I got a big bath towel, sometimes not.
Mattresses too soft, and someone needs to do something about the dog living somewhere outside who barks all.night.long.
When I checked in they were busy renovating the outside of the hotel - so for the first week of my stay I literally had 5 workmen peering into my window, every day. I was told they could change my room, but I would lose the view of the bridge (well, yes, except I had no view of the bridge - I had a view of 5 workmen.)
Still, better than the other option I've tried in Skopje.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room on the 5th floor - it seems that is where staff congregate and make the most n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room faced the Stone Bridge and the square with a LOT of nice and large fountains. We were blown away by the unexpected beauty, but we only had time for one night, or we certainly would have stayed longer. I'd like to go back as the archaeological museum is next door.

The room was clean and comfortable. A mark of a well trained staff is their service especially when things go wrong. When we checked in, I discovered the tilt and turn window did not turn. The front desk immediately sent a repairman who determined it could not be repaired. We were immediately relocated to another room. Great staff. Restaurant was beautiful, and the breakfast was nice.

Best place in town to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyKasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Unless my bedroom was the single exception in this hotel, you will sleeping on a slab of concrete covered with sheets. Airconditioning doesn't work so you either freeze to death at night or lie in a sweltering sweaty mess. Awful breakfast, terrible choice of television channels and cleaners who believe that "Do Not Disturb" means standing outside your door shouting as loud as possible at colleagues. I pity anyone who has to experience a four star hotel or less in Skopje if this is an example of a five star. Utterly terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Although it is not a five star hotels is among the decent options when it comes to travel in the capital city of F.Y.R.O.M . .Room was clean and I had a view to the stone bridge (teh hotel is very close to the central square of Skopje ) .Breakfast was served in their roof top restaurant and it was ok .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarisThes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom had a silly, "fancy" shower with too many I-don't know-what-for buttons. None of them worked, but shower did and it was ok, huh..
AC was blasting very cold air and it wasn't possible to adjust the temperature. They said it's broken and the only option was to be turned off. I understand summer days are very hot in Macedonia, but the AC was unbearable especially at night. So, yes, I had a terrible sleep and also in the morning I was greeted with a terrible buffet breakfast too. Few options for cereal, low quality juice and plenty of fried, soggy vegetables and omelettes. Awful! I sometimes ask myself is it really that difficult for a hotel to provide just a decent quality of ingredients for something simple like BREAKFAST??? Would not visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBZ_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.3 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 71 in Skopje
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 71 in Skopje
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Skopje
Holiday Inn - Skopje
#11 of 71 in Skopje
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 71 in Skopje
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Bridge

Address: Kej Dimitar Vlahov 1, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range: £59 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stone Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experiencing unforgettable moments and pleasure, in the mix of the cultures from the Orient, Mediterranean, Balkan and Europe, is the privilege to experience the unique Stone Bridge Hotel. Superiorly authentic, in the heart of the city, where the past meets the present and the tradition touches the contemporary living. With its sophisticated architectural and designer appearance, aristocrat gracefulness and luxury it has achieved the right of the expression - the pride of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stone Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Bridge Skopje
Stone Bridge Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing