We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of the city”
Review of Stone Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Bridge
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Seeley Lake, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week. It's
Close to everything. Shops, and places to eat all around. The rooms were clean and nice. The shower is a little crazy to find out how to use. Could of been just a regular shower for me. The only complaint I have is it was very loud and noisy. Each night almost until 1 am sometimes 2-3 on weekends you can here the music in your room. I had a hard time sleeping a few nights. I was on vacation the whole week. I couldn't imagine having to work and stay there for a week. The food is good and the service is very pleasant. Overall nice place. I would go back and stay. Just bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    35
    32
    14
    4
See reviews for
9
30
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in a suite overlooking the Stone Bridge. Very beautiful, especially at night when the lights come on. Could sit in the window and stare for ages. Also, the hotel has an atmosphere of old splendour. Rooms are nice, service is good. The food is edible but not exactly gourmet food. Mediocre is a word that springs to mind, and the selection at the breakfast buffet is not great. Also, there were no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room. Maybe the two previous issues are a Balkans thing - good food and possibility to make coffee in the rooms is difficult to find in this region!

The so-called spa area is not really a spa area. It was very cold, the water in the tiny swimming pool was actually so cold that not even our 5 year-old wanted to jump in - that says a lot! There was an old jaccuzzi without much bubbles there, more like a large hot tub which they needed 1 hour to fill, so you had to tell the staff in advance. Not exactly impressive. The showers in the room were complicated to operate, but the bathroom was nice enough except a little flooding after the shower. Why, oh why do no hotels have drainage possibilities outside the shower/bathtub?

All-in-all: Nice stay, except the food. Not a 5-star hotel, but I guess a good 4-star for this region. If ever going back to Skopje I would probably stay again, however found Skopje rather boring and will most likely not go back because of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sthlm
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Me and my wife spent 3 nights and we enjoyed the hotel. Seriously don't expect the hotel to be 5star-quality. Also I would expect ALL 5star hotels in the city to be of lower standard than average 5star.

Rooms towards the big square is nice, great view. Service is awesome when requested for it.
The showers are catastrophic, its small shower stand alone booths where they have radio sound etc. The water was luke-warm, no really hot showers here. Water pressure on 2nd floor is ok, on 3rd floor is worse.

There is a swimming pool, but the room is almost as small as the pool. The sauna is also basically a booth. Both swimmingpool and sauna are not inviting.

we had some problem with heating in the rooms since it was still quite cold during the nights. We were changed to another room when requested, no fuss at all.

Location is the best thing about the hotel.

Room Tip: would recommend any of the rooms on 2nd floor towards the big square. make sure the room heating/AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhuh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stay in the Stone Bridge Hotel whenever I am in Skopje, i.e. a couple of times a year. I have always found it an excellent choice: Relatively good value (they have a special weekend rate), great location with nice views, very helpful and efficient staff, it is clean and very well maintained.

The building work has now finished, so nice is no longer an issue and the whole neighbourhood has been revamped, even though some may find the style a bit overdone. Breakfast is not your standard international affair but a Balkans/Turkish buffer, which I quite like, though it may not be to everyone's taste. The decor is rather pleasant and cosy, at least to my taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Stone Bridge and city centre, rather than one on the side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Rooms are neat, with a great view of the bridge, and close to some nice restaurants. Oh, and the toilet papers smells nice.
But...staff are incredibly noisy outside rooms - they play music, have fairly vocal arguments, and seemed to spend the entire day gossiping at the top of their lungs right outside my room. A few requests to tone it down did not help.
Breakfast is edible but not particularly inspired or inspiring.
No tea making facilities in rooms - is this a Skopje thing?
Showers are complicated to operate, and work nothing like the instructional diagrams they put up.
Inconsistent room service - sometimes I got a face cloth, sometimes not. Sometimes I got a big bath towel, sometimes not.
Mattresses too soft, and someone needs to do something about the dog living somewhere outside who barks all.night.long.
When I checked in they were busy renovating the outside of the hotel - so for the first week of my stay I literally had 5 workmen peering into my window, every day. I was told they could change my room, but I would lose the view of the bridge (well, yes, except I had no view of the bridge - I had a view of 5 workmen.)
Still, better than the other option I've tried in Skopje.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room on the 5th floor - it seems that is where staff congregate and make the most n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
762 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room faced the Stone Bridge and the square with a LOT of nice and large fountains. We were blown away by the unexpected beauty, but we only had time for one night, or we certainly would have stayed longer. I'd like to go back as the archaeological museum is next door.

The room was clean and comfortable. A mark of a well trained staff is their service especially when things go wrong. When we checked in, I discovered the tilt and turn window did not turn. The front desk immediately sent a repairman who determined it could not be repaired. We were immediately relocated to another room. Great staff. Restaurant was beautiful, and the breakfast was nice.

Best place in town to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyKasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Unless my bedroom was the single exception in this hotel, you will sleeping on a slab of concrete covered with sheets. Airconditioning doesn't work so you either freeze to death at night or lie in a sweltering sweaty mess. Awful breakfast, terrible choice of television channels and cleaners who believe that "Do Not Disturb" means standing outside your door shouting as loud as possible at colleagues. I pity anyone who has to experience a four star hotel or less in Skopje if this is an example of a five star. Utterly terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.3 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 71 in Skopje
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 71 in Skopje
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
0.3 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Bridge

Property: Stone Bridge
Address: Kej Dimitar Vlahov 1, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stone Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experiencing unforgettable moments and pleasure, in the mix of the cultures from the Orient, Mediterranean, Balkan and Europe, is the privilege to experience the unique Stone Bridge Hotel. Superiorly authentic, in the heart of the city, where the past meets the present and the tradition touches the contemporary living. With its sophisticated architectural and designer appearance, aristocrat gracefulness and luxury it has achieved the right of the expression - the pride of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Stone Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Bridge Skopje
Stone Bridge Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing