We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, inexpencive, charming hotel in Skopje”
Review of Vergina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vergina
Ranked #28 of 72 Skopje B&B and Inns
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful, inexpencive, charming hotel in Skopje”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

A group of friends with teenagers travelled across Macedonia last month and I must say that hotel Vergina was the best choice on our trip. Yes, this is small 3* hotel but very clean and inexpensive. Rrooms are spacious and very nice with elegant blue blankets on the beds (room No.51 on the ground floor). Bathroom is also very clean but not very up to date. Breakfast is adequate.
We must catch a plane very early in the morning, so we weaked up at 4 am and the breakfast was waiting for us - thanks again to very friendly staff (they was there whenever we needed). In front of the hotel there is a beautiful green garden with two little pools and a sitting place for relax with a breathtaking view on Vodno hill with a Millenium Cross on the top. I recommended it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We were booked into this hotel by a cost-conscious client. The hotel produced a rather strange impression on us. On one hand, it seemed really new and clean, with a cheerful, albeit kitschy, decor. The staff was young and friendly. However, the furnishings were really basic. There were only two towels in the bathroom, and no towel to put on the rather cold floor. It is located in the middle of nowhere, and our rooms overlooked a rather noisy highway. My colleague and I seemed to be the only two guests in our wing of the hotel (separate from the rest of the hotel and the reception wing), which felt a little creepy. Homeless dogs howling outside by night contributed to this feeling. Most importantly, despite a statement of the reception to the contrary, there was no wireless, or any other, internet in our rooms (there was WiFi in the common area downstairs). Since I was travelling on business, I found this very inconvenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

13 of us stayed at the Hotel Vergina when we were in Skopje to watch Scotland v Macedonia.

The hotel has a lovely pool but as a previous poster has mentioned it was empty although they filled a smaller plunge pool for us. The rooms were good and breakfast was adequate, cold meats/cereals/coffee/orange juice etc.

The hotel is about 35 mins walk to the centre along by the river but taxis were only 120 dinar although returning to the hotel they tried to charge us anything up to 1300 dinar !

  • Liked — Good sized rooms, friendly welcome
  • Disliked — Pool not in use
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perthsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Be very careful about the star ratings of hotels in Macedonia, they can be very misleading. Visited some 4 star hotels which were more like 2 star. The Hotel Vergina is rated as 3 star. It is very clean and the staff are very accommodating. We stayed for one week, the air conditioned room was a welcome relief in very hot weather. Our room had a sofa, computer with internet access and an ample ensuite with a shower. The room was cleaned every day and bedding was changed every day too. The only downside is the hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool but it was empty and it will probably be empty for a while. There is a splash pool which was ample to cool off in. There are only 2 sun loungers but we bought airbeds in the near by market place as there were 4 of us in our party. Breakfast was pretty basic, not hot food just a simple buffet. The hotel happily arranged taxis, which is the best form of transport and very cheap. Overall we were highly delighted with this hotel.

  • Liked — SIze of room and air conditioning
  • Disliked — Outdoor pool was empty
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank basketballmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
#15 of 71 in Skopje
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 71 in Skopje
105 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#29 of 73 in Skopje
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Valentin 2
Hostel Valentin 2
#9 of 73 in Skopje
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergina

Property: Vergina
Address: Ul. Skupi B.B, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vergina 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vergina is located just 2 km from the center of Skopje, near the river Vardar and the city park, and 3 km from the main highway E-75. It has 18 rooms, each modernly furnished and equipped with air-condition, mini-bar, satellite TV, Wi-Fi. It also has a parking lot with capacity of 20 cars, with 24-hour video surveillance. This hotel is a nice place for rest or a business stay in the city of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Vergina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vergina Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing