We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average brown hotel”
Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Skopje
Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An average brown hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for a week at 88 euros per night. It's an OK hotel, very quiet, saw no more than 6 other guests in a week.
Located just off the bazaar, 10 minutes walk from the Stone Bridge. Some interesting sights very close by, two hamams, 2 caravanserai, the green market. The approach to the hotel is untidy, unprepossessing and dirty. Hotel itself is no architectural marvel, a glass block from the 80's. Easy to get taxis- 5 minute walk.
Reception staff are very helpful. Very clean throughout.
But the facilities, room, bar and restaurant are very average. The only exception to this are the views from the 7th floor which are very good indeed. Takes a little bit of intuition to find the way out. Swimming pool would be good for kids only.
Room was decorated almost entirely in brown, brown bed, brown furniture, brown walls, brown desk, so much brown. Wifi connection intermittent- was fine on the 7th floor. Aircon ok, def needed. Windows do open but the amplified calls from the multiple mosques nearby is pretty deafening. Light switches can only be operated from a remote control. Daft when you come in late in the dark. Bathroom usable but with a shower in a deep-sided half-sized bath. Worst combination possible.
Lots of choice for breakfast but none of it appetising, better to go into the bazaar and get fresh bread or pastries from the bakers.



Colleague paid an extra 10 euros for a better room. Exec room. Worth it.

Room Tip: choose room with view over bazaar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grs3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
8
13
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham Uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not as good as other hotels for the same price. I previously stayed at the hotel Duvet, they are both the same price at about 80 to 90 euros a night and this hotel is not as nice as the Duvet.

The hotel is in a central location walking distance of the city centre and the hotel has a nice bar and indoor pool on the 7th floor.

The hotel is not a five star by a long way, but it’s a nice four star and value for money at 88 euros a night. The rooms are basic and the shower is a bit naff. The shower was just a spray head above a bath. The shower curtain was material cheap slide type, not what you would expect from a hotel that is trying to rate itself as five stars.

The quality of the rooms doesn’t seem to match the grandeur of the hotel lobby. It was raining when I was in skopje and it was very noisy with rain on the glass windows.

Air con works well, flat screen tv and, mini bar in the room, free Wi-Fi. Everything you could need. I am not going to give it a five star and its basic and should never rate itself as a five star hotel!

You wont be disappointed if you stay here but have a look at the hotel Duvet if you are staying for while, the rooms in the Duvet are bigger and the bathroom and shower in particular is better.

Glass lifts on the outside of the building, my travel companion suffers from vertigo and hated the glass lifts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WifethreekidsandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I have been there for 3 nights for business. Good location, near the old city and the new one. Big and clean room, nice the breakfast room at the last floor around a little swimming pool. For italian style isn't a real 5 star hotel, but, howevere, the people is very kind and professional. WiFi doesn't work well in the room but just in the hall. I raccomande it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank marco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel. Overall my experience was positive, and I shall return when the occasion arises again. The hotel benefits from a great location at the old bazaar district. Staff were exceptionally courteous, helpful and polite. The room (mine was on the fifth floor) was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Other services which were included were free wifi service, a refrigerator, TV, hair-drier, etc. Can’t say much about the choice for breakfast, because of the limited range of food which I can eat due to intolerance/sensitivity. Yet, the view from the roof above the breakfast area is incredible, and I spent some time there capturing photos whilst enjoying an apple and sipping my morning coffee . On the negative side, the room became fairly hot and stuffy in the afternoon/evening, when the sun was shining directly inside. The air-conditioning system could not be turned on at the time (apparently the system was turned off in October). Eventually in the evening, I opened the two windows wide open for some time (in pitch-darkness, to avoid mosquitoes/insects swarming into the room). Having sorted this out, I thought I deserved a good night sleep. Yet very early in the morning I was awoken by the very loud morning prayers which originate from a nearby mosque. But with so many mosques in the city, most probably this is inevitable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The pool is in the middle if the restaurant on the 7th floor with a beautiful view of Skopje. Lovely area above the restaurant with bar and very attentive staff. We booked a suite which was nice. Big bathroom but water went everywhere when having a shower. Good location easy walk into the middle of Skopje and what a sight. Macedonia has totally transformed & has everything you need for a holiday. Great restaurants so cheap. Main meal around 250 dinars which is around 7 euros. Amazing history definitely will be going back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The rooms are beautiful and the staff accommodating but it is difficult to get into the main entrance and the pool was closed. That was a bit disappointing. Each room is different and creatively done. Most views are over the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I spent four nights in this hotel during a business trip. I have no prior experience of hotels in Macedonia.

The plusses are a great location at the old bazaar district, helpful and polite personnel, and ok facilities for my needs inluding free internet access which is slow but usable.

A small minus was the Imam, who woke me up each morning at 5 am with a prayer call broadcast via a pa system. This felt exotic for a northener at first, but started to irritate a little in the end. The bigger problems were a smelly room (some kind of distinct chemical smell which stuck to my clothes), and poor breakfast. The breakfast selection is laid out on the table on plates wtih no heating, and it is a bit disgusting to see every morning the same cheese and sausages when you start the day.

My room overlooked a restaurant and there was noise at times. During the last night when there was a lot of noise due to a graduation party, I asked for a room switch, and they gave me a nice sweet for a replacement.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.6 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 70 in Skopje
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
BH Hotel Hamburg
BH Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 70 in Skopje
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel & Spa
Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 70 in Skopje
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 70 in Skopje
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 70 in Skopje
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#9 of 70 in Skopje
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Property: Hotel Arka
Address: Bitpazarska 90/2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Skopje
#14 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arka 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arka is a modern and contemporary hotel located in the historic nucleus of Skopje's Old Bazaar, within walking distance from the city center and all major tourist attractions. Located behind the main boulevard, Hotel Arka is on the borderline with the culturally protected area of the Old City, within the walking proximity to most tourist attractions and the city center. Business travelers prefer us because of the easy access to city center and the chance to experience the different aspects of the city in a short period of time. Tourists stay with us because we are just footsteps away from the main tourist points in the city: the Old Bazaar, Fortress Kale, Stone Bridge, Main Square, Museum of Macedonia etc. And we give you our word that our stylish rooftop bar offers the best views of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arka Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing