We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but staff could smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nuuk
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Like a glorified youth hostel, quite nice place to visit and very quaint. Fairly old, beside docks, decent walk into town. Nice enough. Night staff were curt in the extreme, but not unhelpful.

Probably more unique than the main hotel in Nuuk, but I think I'll stay at the other hotel next time (it's write in the 'town' centre)

Great view of Northern Lights however, always a bonus!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2010

Just stayed one night at this hostal, on a stop-over from Reykjavik to Ilulissat with late check-in and early check-out. Greenlands capital Nuuk is a rather soulless city (but cosmopolitan compared to the other 16 main cities), so as a tourist there is little to see in this city and most tourist fly directly to Ilulissat, where you can get a real taste of Greenlands natural beauties.

Price of 110 EUR for a single night is definitely overpriced, but Greenland is an expensive place and the few 4-star hotels in Greenland charge prices above 5-star hotels in Tokyo.

The Somandshejm Nuuk has very basic rooms, which are lacking charm and heart. I disliked to find some used towels in the closet, plus the wash-bowl leaked, so that the bathroom was flooded when I tried to brush my teeth. As a consequence, I had could not take a shower before departure.

In spite of all these annoying factors, I really slept well that night and the temperature of the room was comfortable.

I was positively surprised by the breakfast, which starts already at 5.30 am (which was perfect for a half-jetlagged traveler that has to take an early flight) and offers a wide variety of plates, serviced by a very friendly Thai person.

I went to have a goodnight drink at the Bryhus Brewery, which is serving beer of questionable taste; but a good way to get into contact with locals. Afterwards some locals invited my to a pub nearby with live-music from a rather untalented Bulgarian band, which was filled with drunken (and somewhat aggressive) Greenlandic people, a quite sad experience.

I did not have dinner in Nuuk, some locals told me that the only recommendable places the Nipisa (gourmet claim) and Sarfalik (restaurant of Hans Egede Hotel).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hons_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Recommendable place, clean rooms. Nice for at stay in Nuuk. Food is acceptable, but not high quality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STLHerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Placed a bit outside central Nuuk, but on the other hand a wonderful view of the harbour. Not at all noicy, but on the other hand rather steep hill to get to central Nuuk. Even though I did love that walk, it was not without some effort. The breakfast was a disaster as for what was served, but on the other hand you did sit together with the seamen, so there was a special athmosphere to it.

Should I come back to Nuuk, I would try to get a bed more central. But would probably take a stroll down the harbour one of the days ...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PellePennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Fun place to stay. Very nice staff. Viewing into a pile of containers has some charm.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MortenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

It was ok. Nice bed, lobby, and staffe. It was average. Warm on -20 degree days.

- Johan Schmidt, Cologne, Germany

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2005

Stayed a couple of times here just overnight. Twin bedded rooms comfortable, clean and warm. Some have magnificent views, as everywhere in Greenland. Telephone in room has to be pre-paid. International calls work well, but are expensive. Internet connection available but was slow and expensive. Food is cafeteria style and only average. You pay at multi-lingual reception and get a voucher for food. Reception will exchange foreign currency (well, US dollars anyway) but exchange rate not generous. Advise you bring plenty of Danish Kronur with you as Greenland is VERY expensive. About 7 minute taxi ride from airport; too far to walk.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Loosecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuuk
0 mi away
Hotel Sisimiut
Hotel Sisimiut
#1 of 2 in Sisimiut
42 reviews
0 mi away
Vandrehuset Hostel
Vandrehuset Hostel
#1 of 5 in Nuuk
10 reviews
0 mi away
Vandrehuset Hostel 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home

Address: Marinevej 3, Nuuk 3900, Greenland
Region: Greenland > Sermersooq Municipality > Nuuk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nuuk
Price Range: £100 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seamen's Home Hotel in Nuuk is a comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings. It offers 41 rooms of three different standards - Standard Plus, Standard and Economy. The Seamen's Home hotel is a 3-star hotel. In our pleasant cafeteria you can enjoy the dish of the day, a Danish sandwich, fast-food, homemade cake and more, while you read the daily paper or a magazine from the shelf. Our modern conference facilities are all 3-star certified. The Hotel provides several conference- and meeting rooms in various sizes, all ready to set the scene for your next conference. We are working hard to ensure a pleasant and satisfying stay, and hope that you will enjoy every moment of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing