We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good bet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nuuk
Scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A good bet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a clean and comfortable option near the harbour, about 10 minutes in a taxi from the Airport. Rooms are basic, warm and light. They have tv if you should be bored but how could you be in Greenland? Reception staff are helpful and friendly if a little shy.
The canteen provides an excellent, good value breakfast and up to 10.30am. It's not a great place for a vegetarian so you need to walk about two km into town for a good pizza or whatever you can find. Rooms without showers/wc are better value if you are on a budget.
Beware dodgy taxi drivers who will pass off Philippine 5peso coins for DKK20!
Greenland is one of the most amazing countries you will ever be lucky enough to see. There are some cruises for tourists (a must) and a fine museum in old Nuuk and an art gallery (closed in the mornings). The town itself is functional. There are some of the worst flats I have seen anywhere in the world here and row after row of them. Get out and walk/hike if you can.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quieter room. Depends on other residents but I was lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Seaman's Home is not a hotel, it's an upscale hostel. If you are looking for an authentic hotel for your stay in Greenland, check out Hans Egede in downtown Nuuk. There are a few good points about Seaman's Home; it's in a quiet area, not too far of a walk from downtown, and if you are lucky enough to get on a boat tour, they all leave from the port behind the hotel, err hostel. There are also some very negative points about Seaman's Home, though. Overall, the staff members are uninformed and unhelpful. When I asked a fluent English speaker who had lived in Nuuk for over 11 years about the bus system and how to get out to the airport for a hike, he told me to simply wait by the red building on the road that runs past Seaman's Home. That's fine, except nearly all the homes in Greenland are red! How about getting up and actually helping a solo traveler out? Furthermore, if you experience credit card problems while paying, the staff direct you to a bank and tell you to figure it out. Again, thanks for the help. Aside from that, the rooms at Seaman's Home are standard; absolutely no frills whatsoever, but fine for a few nights. If you DO end up staying at Seaman's Home, though, definitely don't stroll into Hotel Hans Egede even if it's just for a look around. It will make you wish you booked there and sucked up the extra cost instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors or once that face the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Östra Nyland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at the Seamen's home for four nights and was quite happy about the choice. The room was simple but clean and the staff friendly in a quiet way. Even in the weekend there was no disturbance at all. (Colleagues who stayed at Hans Egede complained about noise in the street almost every night.) The breakfast was all right, but a bit masculine. It would have been nice to have some fruit or vegetables too, but the bread was very good.
The oldest part of the building must be more than 100 years old (there's a painting of it in the museum of art in town) so it would be nice to get to know something about the history. Perhaps they could produce a brochure for the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedemark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Standard beetween very good youth hostel and 2-star-hotel, too expensive in comparison with "slightly" more expensive 4-star hotel Hans Egede, breakfast buffet not as good as described in well-known travel guide books.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here for five nights during a business trip in March 2011. Think more 'grown up youth hostel' than plush hotel and you'll be on the mark. The rooms are basic but clean and, more importantly, warm! They're big and have their own bathroom, good shower, TV & desk. I found it impossible to get a mobile signal there - but my colleague had no difficulty. Internet is available but quite expensive, from memory about £10 an hour (I think).
There is a cafe/canteen in the hotel that does a really good breakfast and mostly sandwich lunches but has limited opening times after that. it overlooks the harbour though where you can watch eagles soaring in the morning - a nice touch.
There are several 'group' areas scattered about the hotel and a lounge where you can hold meetings.
The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Nuuk. Not a problem if you're well kitted out, but it can nip at -30. Taxis are cheap and easy to get though.
The only downside I would say would be the staff; no-one was particularly attentive or willing to help with even small things and after five days of seeing the same guy on reception we didn't even get a goodbye when we left. Such is life. Probably more a reflection of the fact that foreign guests are a bit of a rarity and the attitude in Greenland is 'just get on with it'. I really liked this place, its a bit different from the norm and it has real character.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boilwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Like a glorified youth hostel, quite nice place to visit and very quaint. Fairly old, beside docks, decent walk into town. Nice enough. Night staff were curt in the extreme, but not unhelpful.

Probably more unique than the main hotel in Nuuk, but I think I'll stay at the other hotel next time (it's write in the 'town' centre)

Great view of Northern Lights however, always a bonus!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Just stayed one night at this hostal, on a stop-over from Reykjavik to Ilulissat with late check-in and early check-out. Greenlands capital Nuuk is a rather soulless city (but cosmopolitan compared to the other 16 main cities), so as a tourist there is little to see in this city and most tourist fly directly to Ilulissat, where you can get a real taste of Greenlands natural beauties.

Price of 110 EUR for a single night is definitely overpriced, but Greenland is an expensive place and the few 4-star hotels in Greenland charge prices above 5-star hotels in Tokyo.

The Somandshejm Nuuk has very basic rooms, which are lacking charm and heart. I disliked to find some used towels in the closet, plus the wash-bowl leaked, so that the bathroom was flooded when I tried to brush my teeth. As a consequence, I had could not take a shower before departure.

In spite of all these annoying factors, I really slept well that night and the temperature of the room was comfortable.

I was positively surprised by the breakfast, which starts already at 5.30 am (which was perfect for a half-jetlagged traveler that has to take an early flight) and offers a wide variety of plates, serviced by a very friendly Thai person.

I went to have a goodnight drink at the Bryhus Brewery, which is serving beer of questionable taste; but a good way to get into contact with locals. Afterwards some locals invited my to a pub nearby with live-music from a rather untalented Bulgarian band, which was filled with drunken (and somewhat aggressive) Greenlandic people, a quite sad experience.

I did not have dinner in Nuuk, some locals told me that the only recommendable places the Nipisa (gourmet claim) and Sarfalik (restaurant of Hans Egede Hotel).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hons_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuuk hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuuk
0.6 mi away
Hans Egede Hotel
Hans Egede Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vandrehuset Hostel
Vandrehuset Hostel
#2 of 4 in Nuuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vandrehuset Hostel 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nordbo
Nordbo
#1 of 1 in Nuuk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Narsaq
Hotel Narsaq
#2 of 5 in Narsaq
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polar Lodge
Polar Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kangerlussuaq
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home

Property: Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home
Address: Marinevej 3, Nuuk 3900, Greenland
Region: Greenland > Sermersooq Municipality > Nuuk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nuuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seamen's Home Hotel in Nuuk is a comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings. It offers 41 rooms of three different standards - Standard Plus, Standard and Economy. The Seamen's Home hotel is a 3-star hotel. In our pleasant cafeteria you can enjoy the dish of the day, a Danish sandwich, fast-food, homemade cake and more, while you read the daily paper or a magazine from the shelf. Our modern conference facilities are all 3-star certified. The Hotel provides several conference- and meeting rooms in various sizes, all ready to set the scene for your next conference. We are working hard to ensure a pleasant and satisfying stay, and hope that you will enjoy every moment of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing