We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trade Winds Country Cottages
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Sorry for my belated review of your awesome accommodation. My wife and I visited Norfolk twice in 2013, both times we stayed at Tradewinds. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we have a choice. Greg and Robyn were wonderful attentive hosts, met us at the airport and took care of our needs. The cottage we stayed at had enormous rooms and was clean and comfortable. We could not fault the place of the hoer car they organised for us. I just love Norfolk Island and cannot wait to get back, stay at Tradewinds, dine at Hillis and be pampered at expressions. My idea of the perfect holiday!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kanwal, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a fabulous place to stay! It has the best of both worlds, being five minutes from everything but in such a rural, tranquil location. Greg and Robyn are lovely people, always available and happy to help or just have a chat. Their dog will be your best friend if you're willing. The accommodation is top notch - the beds are comfy, the kitchen has all the equipment you need to cook anything from a boiled egg to a three course meal, the rooms are huge and all have access to the covered verandah where you can sit and watch the world go by at a very leisurely pace. In all, a perfect place to stay for your time in paradise. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

What a delightful place! Robyn met us at the airport with our rental car and we followed her to the gorgeous Trade Winds Country Cottages approx 5km from the town centre along pretty country roads where the speed limit is 50, cows have the right of way and everyone waves as they drive past. Our home for a week was the Betsy Young cottage which exceeded all expectations. Often advertising pics are taken with a special lens to make the rooms look bigger, but in this case, the rooms were HUGE ...... no illusion. Everything we needed for our comfort was provided including a mobile phone for our sole use while there, picnic blanket, beach towels, umbrella and a welcome pack of local fruit, milk, tea, coffee and sugar.
Thank you Greg and Robyn for a most delightful week in which we explored every corner of NI, walked every track, researched our family history, learned about the Island history, shopped, ate well and even attended a screening of Gravity at the local cinema where we reclined in huge arm chairs. A delightfully different holiday in the best accommodation we have ever had!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoon Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Last week we were lucky to spend a week at Trade Winds. Our hosts , Robyn and Greg, were wonderful. They were very friendly and made us feel welcomed. They were very informative, giving us insights to both the Island history as well as their own. We were met at the airport and provided with a car, in which we followed Greg to our cottage.

The accommodation was excellent. We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage which was very spacious with en -suites in all rooms and access to the large verandah. A fully equipped kitchen made breakfast easy. The grounds and gardens were beautiful and relaxing. With only a short drive to town, it was easy to sightsee and dine at the many cafes and restaurants.

If you’re thinking of holidaying in Norfolk Island, you can’t beat Trade Winds for great hosts, size and quality of accommodation, close access to town and beautiful gardens. Just perfect!!
Thanks to Robyn and Greg for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were part of the family group reviewed by Heather W. Heather's rave review is fully endorsed by both Helen and Roger W.
Greg and Robyn are both extremely hospitable as hosts and there was absolutely nothing more that we wanted for except for at least another two weeks in the paradise that is Norfolk Island and the superb accommodation at Trade Winds.
Darren's Advance Fishing Charter is the best I have ever experienced apart from tired shoulders from catching so many delicious fish- hope Greg and Robyn enjoyed the surplus given to them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were met at the airport and provided with two cars for our family group of 8. We were also provided with two mobile phones and local credit.

The accommodation exceeded all expectations. We had the main house and one cottage. It was very spacious and very well-appointed. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very large bedrooms, each with an en suite and doors out to a wonderful verandah. We didn't experience any Mosquitos so the doors could be open all night. Fully equipped kitchens made catering for a group of 8 a breeze.

A selection of DVDs was provided, as were plenty of beach towels and board games. Everything we needed was there and anything else we wanted was quickly provided by Robyn and Greg, our delightful and obliging hosts. The wonderful gardens were brimming with flowers and fruits trees such as banana and avocado. The hibiscus flowers were stunning.

The island scenery is spectacular and the activities and choice in sight-seeing tours seemed endless. We bought the museum pass and attended all the museum tours. The guides were all excellent and gave us a new appreciation for the history of Norfolk Island. The half day bus tour was great, and we did it on the first day so we had a good understanding of the island from the start. The bus tour guide was excellent.

The kids loved swimming out to the pontoon at Emily Beach and snorkelling in the bay. The guys had a wonderful fishing charter with Advance charters and brought back a huge haul of delicious fish. We had a wonderful massage from Suzanne at the day spa.

We went to a couple of cafés -Tempo and The Olive - and had fabulous hamburgers. The shopping was great for shoes, jewellery and perfumes.

The local people are very friendly and hospitable. Overall, I absolutely recommend Norfolk Island as a holiday destination and Tradewinds was a superb place to stay. Robyn and a Greg are a wealth of information and knowledge about the area and always available to assist in any way.

Thanks for making our time with you so memorable,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Well what can one say we were met at the airport and given a car then off to the accomodation, WOW this isnt a usual holiday motel its a huge cottage massive bedroon with walk in wardrobe and on suite plus a loune diningroon-kitchen of the same size and then if needed another bedroon the same size on the other size of the lounge. We enjoyed fresh bananas and pawpaws avacados and more from the gardens which are fantastic. We went to sleep listening to the cows and crickets no road noise just peace and quiet.
We spent 2 weeks here and just relaxed in the quiet atmosphere enjoying the country sounds,
Plenty of room for relaxing or just walking the property well worth the short drive each day to town

Room Tip: all rooms are good no matter which cottage you are in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Shearwater Scenic Villas
Shearwater Scenic Villas
#16 of 46 in Norfolk Island
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hibiscus Crown
Hibiscus Crown
#9 of 46 in Norfolk Island
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Cumberland Resort & Spa
#1 of 12 in Burnt Pine
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shiralee Executive Cottages
Shiralee Executive Cottages
#3 of 12 in Burnt Pine
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
A-Frame Chalets at Mokutu
A-Frame Chalets at Mokutu
#25 of 46 in Norfolk Island
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forrester Court Clifftop Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Country Cottages

Property: Trade Winds Country Cottages
Address: Stockyard Road | Steele's Point, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Norfolk Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trade Winds Country Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Country Cottages (4 & 4.5*) is our family managed accommodation property for the discerning traveller. Our four cottages (one or two bedrooms) and a three bedroom house offer a high standard of outfitting from huge king sized memory foam beds and bedrooms to match all with private ensuite bathroom through to granite and stainless steel kitchens. We outfit the accommodation as we expect when we travel right down to the little things like including a coffee grinder. As Robyn and Greg are available 24/7 just ask as many of our facilities are behind the scenes such as the picnic baskets, eskys and thermos bottles for you to enjoy that out of the way picnic around the island. A hire vehicle may be included in our tariff (insurance and fuel additional). We know you will find so many things to do on Norfolk to explore its unique history, to immerse yourself in the beauty, to pamper yourself in the restaurants, cafes and wellness spas, to enjoy the most amazing golf course or walks through the national park, or just to relax on the most beautiful beaches and that you too will enjoy a holiday at Trade Winds Country Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trade Winds Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing