We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy pancakes and omelet ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Cafe

Classic Cafe
Ranked #76 of 111 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy pancakes and omelet ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast after the battle of Lexington with he kids. Small but friendly and good pancakes. About $10 per person with drink.

Helpful?
Thank VICMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
628 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Nice local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

There is something about this place that is compelling - it feels a bit like a time capsule, taking you back to an easier less troubled time - it just feels good! The atmosphere is real, authentic - not something that Classic Cafe aspired to, or hired a decorator to achieve - this is the real deal, the small neighborhood diner, where everyone knows everyone else, that the lucky ones among us grew up with. That said, I do think that the light fixtures could use a deep cleaning, the windows, the air conditioner unit - things like that could use an appointment with Merry Maids - but, the kitchen itself, that you can see straight into, the tables, all of the important things are spic and span! As far as the food goes, we thought the eggs, potatoes, meats, egg muffin sandwich - all top notch! The pancakes however, at least on the day we went, were definitely not good - too thick, generally flavorless, and not cooked all the way through. They can easily adjust their recipe, maybe get some pure buttermilk in there, make them a bit thinner and assure they are fully cooked - there is potential, for sure. Next time, I'll order an omelet, as they seem to be their specialty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Service but just okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We called one day ahead for a midweek breakfast for 10 at 9 AM.
Tables were ready, the greeting was warm and friendly and the service was great.
One server took care of the entire table.

The menu is massive!
Most of the food was tasty and plentiful. The pancakes were a bit heavy and slightly over-cooked. Eggs and potatoes were perfect. Omelets were perfect.
They were accomodating with substitutions--I exchanged bacon and sausage for ham.
The ham was horrible; very thin sliced ham from a package (Hormel variety) with more fat than meat. Could not cut it and found it be un-edible.

At a time when the restaurant had only 2 other patrons, the kitchen seemed to have trouble keeping up. No one's order came out complete. The "2222" came out with 2 pancakes first and 5 minutes later the eggs, potatoes and ham. For those who had toast with their meal, the toast came out 10 minutes before their entree like it was an appetizer. We'd have been in serious trouble if they were busy !

A nice finishing touch was 2 small complimentary fruit plates. The fruit was fresh & delicious.

The Classic Cafe is very small, a bit cramped and very warm, bordering on uncomfortable.
The door to the restaurant was open slightly to let in some cool air--but clearly a sign the air conditioning should have been on.

This is a cash only establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Classic is a friendly, homey place with many many ommeletes to choose from. We've had may breakfasts there and is a place we take our out of town guests for the "non-chain" experience. Excellent food and service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The friendly neighborhood atmosphere of the Classic brings us back for more with Mimosa and Paige remembering our standard orders and taking care of us. Depending on how busy things are, the attention to detail can be spotty. As a regular customer, I notice the change in quality of the food from time to time. Don't know if there's a change in the cook or the quality of the ingredients but sometimes it's better than others. That's why the average rather than the above average rating. Can be noisy with seating close together. This is, after all, a neighborhood cafe where people read the paper and drink the regularly refilled coffee over breakfast. Sundays can be very busy so be prepared to wait.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Classic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing