We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Food Has Declined”

Jimmy's Steer House
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Arlington, Mass
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Service & Food Has Declined”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have gone to Jimmy's for over 30 years it is a real "Townie" restaurant . It used to be great with decent prices and generous portions . Along with wonderful attentive services . Over the last couple of years , the food & service has declined and the prices have increased . I recently went with an elderly friend for lunch , we waited a very long time for our appetizer , the server told us she forgot to put the order in . We got it with our dinner that arrived cold with re-heated baked potato (probably from the night before) I keep going back to this restaurant as it is close but the
service & food is inconsistent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MassZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    48
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winchendon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, recommended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were a party of 4, dining on a Sunday afternoon. We have eaten at this location many times, never had a bad meal here. We DID have bad server once here, though. It's a nice atmosphere, something on the menu for everyone. We had prime rib, Surf + Turf, baked haddock + chicken teriyaki. All the meals were good, the service was good. I recommend trying the rice pilaf. It's mixed with spinach, and a welcome change from the baked potato. This restaraunt has several locations, they are equally good. We like Grassroots in Andover the best, it's a sister restaraunt. Same food, but smaller and more intimate. Reasonable prices and highly recommended!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrolds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always Good Food at a Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have never had a bad meal here and I have eaten here on numerous occasions. Service is always excellent. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't beat the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Jimmy's is the constant good food place in Arlington. Price is right and food is ample...always some to take home. Be ready to wait for a table..busy all the time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reliably Good New England Traditional Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I live about a mile from Jimmy's and go there often to meet friends for lunch. It is one of the few restaurants that just about everyone likes. There are many booths, so that it's possible to have a quiet conversation even when it is busy. The seafood is always fresh and well-cooked. I don't eat meat, but my friends always seem satisfied with that too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva121036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's Steer House also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Steer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing