We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, unique pizza and salads” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Za

Za
Ranked #24 of 111 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious, unique pizza and salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We just ate at Za again, and as always it didn't disappoint. We did have to wait for a table, but it's a smallish restaurant that is very popular, so we weren't surprised. The service was attentive without being pushy. The Caesar-style salad was remarkable -- a fabulous homemade dressing really stood out -- and I also enjoyed an amazing pizza with sweet potato and carmelized onion (I opted out of the listed meat and spicy peppers per the menu with no problem from the kitchen). Most impressing is that when my pizza came out, it had not come out of the cutting up and being transferred for serving quite perfectly -- some of the toppings had slid around. The server explained to me that they were in the midst of cooking a new pizza, but I could enjoy this one in the meantime if I liked. I did enjoy it (no problem with the taste even if it didn't look as pretty as intended), and was thrilled to take home a full pizza when that "make-up" pizza arrived later. What thoughtful service, and what a way to make sure customers leave happy! We will return again and again whenever we are in downtown Arlington.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RinfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Original tasty pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The pizza selection is amazing! The menu has items that are available year round, they also have a fabulous seasonal menu. Wait staff is friendly and helpful with menu selections. Nice neighborhood feel. I will definitely be back next time I am in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cjsSaltLakeCity_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in Arlington!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The food is imaginative, the pizzas are not the usual margarita pizzas, but Mac and Cheese, Figs and blue cheese, chicken and broccoli and much more, try the salads, they are delicious !!! The service is very, very friendly !!! A very nice place in Arlington!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

While staying in Arlington, MA we walked from our hotel to this inviting little restaurant for an evening meal with our 3 children ages 7-14. As you might imagine, more exotic cuisine is not an option for this age group. However, as parents we were very pleasantly surprised at the options and varieties of pizza and appetizers available. The 14 year old who is true to his age in general attitude declared it the best pizza ever. A high compliment if ever there was one. The price was extremely reasonable, especially for Boston, and the staff was exceptionally friendly and polite. One waiter even stopped by to teach my seven year old an easy game he could beat his older siblings at consistently. Such a nice place, we wished we lived in the neighborhood so we could be regulars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb salads and pizza's with pizzaz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Gourmet experience for a friendly price.
Try the avocado salad for lunch and return in the evening for he fig and blue cheese pizza!
Limited menu- only pizza and salad- but everything on it is worth your while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hynoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Za also viewed

Arlington, MA
Arlington, MA
 
Arlington, MA
 

Been to Za? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing