We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice Cream Heaven”
Review of The Clam Box - CLOSED

The Clam Box
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Thompson, CT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Heaven”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We've been a dozen times this summer. The ice cream flavors are great. The toasted coconut is really good. We've not had the food but it looks right. The roadside stand feeling is very cool.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stopped here on our way to Niagara Falls and based on other reviews were very disappointed with our experience. We chose to dine in and found the surroundings to be worn and not particularily clean. The fries tasted like the cooking oil had not been changed in some time and not all of the whole clams were cooked thoroughly. Maybe we are spoiled by the excellent seafood available here in Atlantic Canada but what we had was neither 'fantastic' or 'great'. Sorry, we will not stop here again and cannot recommend it to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NBTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toano, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clams!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stopped here on our way to Boston from CT. It was my first time eating fried clams with the bag, they were wonderful! I grew up in VA, but my parents grew up in MA, they were in heaven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Check your takeout order before you leave.”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Phoned in an order for 3 meals. Each was to come with cole slaw and a choice of potato. What I received were 2 meals without and one with cole slaw and fries...no choice. Since the parking lot was empty, I suspect the experience would have been about the same had I ordered to eat there. The food I tried was good but getting an incomplete order drops their rating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank banc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood !! (:”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

They have great tasting seafood, & they have three locations in Central Massachusetts. They also have ice cream in the summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing