We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on Nantucket”
Review of 27 Fair Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
27 Fair Street Inn
Ranked #34 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot on Nantucket”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Loved the location, the pool, the beach, bike trails, and the overall property. It was a fantastic place to stay. we had a great time. Cotteges were small but clean. Service was OK but not fantastic. Nantucket is amazing, a great place for the family but pricey.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjr123Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    6
    15
    27
See reviews for
23
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Summer house is in a great spot. Beach and pool right
Outside your door. A bit pricey however!
Stay at the cottages at the boat basin. Rent a car from
Tim at affordable rental in
Nantucket and you are more than all set.
12.00 dollars for a water is just an example
. Dinner fir 2 will run you over 200.00. Boat basin
Has a car to the beach and great in town walkable
Resteraunts.

Room Tip: I would not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at 27 Fair Street in Nantucket and was greeted and received wonderful service by Evette. She was very welcoming and took time with each guest to make sure to answer any questions or guide you to make your trip memorable. It is very close to town and we truly enjoyed the walking to the historic districts. On the other hand we visited the Summer House in Sconset and found them to be extremely uninviting. The hostess acted as if she would fall asleep right in front of us and fall over. While other visitors (according to the reviews received great service) when we arrived at the pool side one waitress ranted when we asked for the towels. A different host tried to assist and called over the supervisor/manager who unbelievably walked over and barked at us that the towels which were looking for had been thrown onto some other guests table, as if we were blind. I have traveled to many types of resorts and cities and have never been treated to poorly in any type of hotel or resort. While promised to have chairs, umbrellas and towels brought to the beach, our only option was to make multiple trips and bring them ourselves. I would highly recommend the Summer House on Fair Street, however I would discourage anyone from visiting the resort.
27 and 29 Fair Street is outstanding
Summer House at Sconset is deplorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at 27 Fair Street Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Christina,

Thanks for your kind note regarding your stay at our Fair Street Property. We hear lots of compliments about Evette's work with our guests, and it's great to learn your experience was wonderful.

The top priority of our staff across all of our properties is to provide fantastic service. It is important to us that your experience matched that found with Evette and many of the positive reviews written by other guests. Unfortunately, it seems like there was trouble getting towels and chairs setup at the pool to the level of satisfaction you expected. While our staff can get busy and overwhelmed during the Summer's busiest times, it is still important to us that they deliver on our clients expectations. We appreciate you raising this concern, and we will bring this situation up during our staff training for the 2013 season to ensure we are responsive.

Thanks for your note. We hope to see you in Natucket again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

For years, my family and I have been enjoying the Summer House. We have stayed at the cottages in 'Sconset as well as enjoyed the restaurant out there. We have been summering in Nantucket for nearly 20 years and it is our favorite spot on the island, which says a lot considering the wonderful options. The food is always delicious and Jamie at the piano is what makes the dinner an experience. Singing along to your favorite songs and enjoying the merry atmosphere will make you feel like a kid again.
As for the cottages, they are charming and a throw back to Old Nantucket. The staff is friendly and this year they have taken the service up another notch. We left my 11 year-old son's beloved stuffed animal in our cottage but did not discover it until well after we returned home and unpacked. When I called the Summer House, they tracked him down and overnighted him to us.
Again, the Summer House is the perfect spot for an, easy, relaxed, getaway. Whether it's as a couple or as a family, you will be enraptured by the charm and the sea breeze.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montebello, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I spent July 4th week on Nantucket at the The Summer House. We stayed at The Fair Street B & B in a charming cottage. It was an easy walk to town for all restaurants, shopping and people watching. We used the shuttle they provided to take us to their beach in Sconset.(about 8 miles) We used their chairs, towels and had a great lunch while we spent the day on the beach. It is a lovely property. Evette, the concierge at The Fair House was great and helped my wife with all of her reservations and ideas for our stay. In fact, we loved the place so much, we are going back again for 5 days next week!

Room Tip: Speak with the owners about your needs. There are some rooms that are very small, however they are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Summer House is a sylvan respite in a sea of touristy overcrowded cobblestone streets. Tucked away in 'Sconset on the eastern end of the island, the charming cottages, welcoming bar scene, cool. relaxing pool and stellar location on the beach make this a true getaway -- particularly from the hordes of day trippers in Nantucket Town. Frequent van service ensures that if town is the desired destination The Summer House will take you there but who would ever want to leave? The Summer House is an all-in-one resort: swim laps in the pool, laze on the beach, feel like you're in St. Tropez at the Poolside Bistro, or sing along at the piano bar in the evening after filling up on Todd English's incomparable cuisine. The rooms are charming and the accommodations clean, well maintained, and decorated in an unpretentiously chic style. You will be lulled to sleep by the nearby waves and wake to breakfast on the porch with fresh, hot coffee to fuel your days of exploring this uniquely beautiful island. I simply cannot recommend The Summer House highly enough: once you stay there you will feel like family and want to return time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Even the most beautiful view can't make up for the inconsistent, unprofessional service. While some of the staff was great (Nathaniel and Tony included), others such as Kathy in the yellow hat, made us so uncomfortable we considered leaving. She told our waiter to "get us out" because lunch service was stopping in an hour and we had to go to the bar ourselves to order our $18(!) a drink, right in front of us. Nathaniel and Tony were very apologetic and quick to accommodate, but no matter how great a view $18 is NOT reasonable for a drink. The lifeguard with the belly ring and bikini strutting around did not add to the uneasiness of the situation. We were really looking forward our entire vacation to visiting this seemingly wonderful restaurant, but in reality was not wonderful at all. The ambiance was unsettling and not welcoming to people who wanted a drink. We witnessed Kathy yell at her colleagues numerous times. That is not something that a client wants to witness. We would not recommend going here for a drink "on the beach" at all. Walk up the street to the wine shop next to Claudette's, buy yourself a bottle of wine, and drink it on the beach. Save yourself $50 and some wasted time at a subpar bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
The Summer House - India Street Inn
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Inn
Pineapple Inn
#28 of 38 in Nantucket
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century House
Century House
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#7 of 38 in Nantucket
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barnacle Inn
Barnacle Inn
#9 of 38 in Nantucket
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborview Nantucket
Harborview Nantucket
#1 of 7 in Nantucket
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 Fair Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Fair Street Inn

Property: 27 Fair Street Inn
Address: 27 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3744
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — 27 Fair Street Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summer House 27 Fair Street Inn offers accommodations for all needs and tastes. Our charming suites and private cottage, Shakespearian gardens, are all just a short walk from Main Street. We offer a range of amenities to make your stay with us on the Island perfect. Enjoy complimentary Jitney access to our private beachside resort in Siasconset, with a freshwater pool and Atlantic Ocean beach. Other amenities include air conditioning, priority seating at our restaurants, and more... Each room at the Summer House 27 Fair Street offers a distinctively Nantucket lodging experience in the heart of Nantucket's historic district. Our guests enjoy full privileges at our beachside pool and Atlantic Ocean beach in Siasconset, as well as priority access to our three great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 27 Fair Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer House Hotel Siasconset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing