We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Inn !”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2007

I just recently joined TA - but wanted to comment on my stay from 2006.

The inn is perfectly situated; very close to town. I stayed 3 nights.

Ken, the owner/innkeeper, was extremely gracious and professional, offering great restaurant suggestions - including making the reservations. He also mingled with the guests during the breakfasts. The breakfasts, I remember, were to die for. Very sophisticated in their presentation as well - you can sit inside or outside in their quaint patio.

The rooms were well-kept, and the beds/linens first rate.

I traveled alone -but noticed there were not too many solo travelers in Nantucket. Overall - very relaxing time. Coming onto the island, I did not take the ferry in from the Cape - but rather, was daring, and flew in a puddle jumper - right behind the pilot with his window open...that was exciting! Try it if you can - great view of the Sound from overhead!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freespirit22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2007

We treated ourselves and our friends to an overnight stay on Nantucket and selected the Union Street Inn based on the Tripadvisor reviews. It was just wonderful. The rooms, the linens, the location (short walk from the ferry), the breakfast and the hospitality were top notch. The innkeepers are very conscious of making sure you are comfortable and welcome at all times, whether sitting in the common rooms reading, at breakfast, or just chatting with fellow travelers. I would not hesitate to recommend Union Street to others.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hbcitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We loved the inn, the bed linens were wonderful, and the bathroom, although small, had a wonderful shower. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. Ken, the owner makes a point of "reaching out" to each guest every morning over breakfast. My first stay and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GigiMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

There are many B and B's on Nantucket , and many are quite lovely. However, the Union Street Inn is run professionally with luxurious touches and fine service. The rooms are variable in size but all well done and represent the very essence of Nantucket's past. The linens are excellent and the extras, such as coffee, tea, and wonderful fresh cookies are available in the lounge. You may use the refrigerator ad lib, and also have access to all major newspapers. There is a pleasant patio, albeit small. Also, you do not need to bring your laptop. They have a pretty snappy one readily available on a desk for you to use free of charge, with a printer.

The proximity to town and ferries is notable too-- about 4 blocks and easy to manage with luggage.

Breakfast is quite nice, with one gourmet full breakfast choice, and 2 or 3 continental choices with fresh fruit, on the patio or inside.

The spaces, like all genuine colonial houses are small, but could not be more nicely done.

The only minor caveats are these:
1. staying on the first floor of an old house exposes you to the sounds of people walking above you, so if you can, shoot for the highest room. Go online and select your room (on the 2nd floor).
2. Some rooms only have showers, so if you are a tub person, try to book one of the lovely tub rooms that fizz.
3. Tiny TV, but who goes to Nantucket to watch TV?

Otherwise, if you are looking at the expensive hotels on Nantucket, (there are only a few) unless you are an unmitgated elitist and must stay somewhere with a lot of resources (restaurant, pool) , think again--this is a lovely option that is far better than most B and B's elsewhere--and the price is excellent for a very expensive Island.

We loved it and our expectations are often higher than other reviewers (probably due to our age and experience--we often find that higher ratings come from younger peopl with less travel experience--esphoneymooners). Take our word as veteran travelers, Union Street has charm, character, luxury, friendly and competent service and assistance, and wonderful extras (great working fireplaces for cooler nights too).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Beecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

My husband and I really liked the Union Street Inn. The breakfasts were yummy and we had a choice from several dishes each morning. We ate every morning out on the back porch area...even though it was a little cold in June-u-ary, as they call it. The room was nice, but BELEIVE the owners when they say on their web site that Room 5 has a very small bathroom. It was postage stamp sized. The bed linens were so nice and comfortable that when I came home I bought some Frette sheets so that I could replicate that feel in my own bed! The location of the Union Street Inn is very convenient to the main shopping and dining areas, but then again in the town of Nantucket...what isn't? We had a great time at the Union Street Inn and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gracie123Voorhees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Innkeepers and staff are lovely and very accomodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and fresh and different every morning. Inkeepers make sure guests know what to do, how to get around, help them get dinner reservations etc. Felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ehward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Delightful stay. Everything was as imagined and promised with all details attended to. The breakfast was prompt and sumptuous as well as the coffee being especially fresh and flavorful. Everything was exceptionally clean. Every staff member was cheerful and helpful. Location was perfect and afforded access to everything, from bicycles, restaurants, and ferry, to shuttle bus to the airport. Would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AZReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
257 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: £148 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing