We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite!”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have been coming to Nantucket since 1984. We have stayed in many inns on the island and off, and Union Street is number one on our list. This is inn is very comfortable, extremely clean, and beautifully decorated. The staff is warm and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious, not just a muffin, fruit juice and coffee. I hate to give this inn a good review, because we would like to keep it a secret.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our first trip to Nantucket and we lucked upon the Union Street Inn via the internet. Everything was topnotch from our arrival to departure. The service was exceptional. They tended to our every need and made great recommendations to help us plan our days. I would have given an excellent on sleep except that it was unseasonably warm while we were there and I had a hard time cooling off one night. The bed was very comfortable however and the linens exquisite. The location is terrific and just a short walk from downtown. We stayed in room 7 which was beautiful. We can highly recommend the Union Street Inn and hope to come again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Last week was perhaps our ninth or tenth stay at the Union Street Inn. My wife and I remain convinced it is the nicest B&B on the island and one of the nicest we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The Inn itself is beautiful and decorated perfectly, but the style betrays what is actually an incredibly welcoming, down-to-earth, and friendly staff. The rooms are unique and are immaculately clean, the breakfasts are always delicious, but overall the Inn makes one feel as if you have a home on the island even when you are just visiting for the night.

If you are visiting Nantucket, try the Union Street Inn first. If they are booked, then you can start calling everyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Charming antique rooms, decorated in the most exquisite taste. Breakfast was way more elaborate than we would have expected at a B&B. Five stars all the way!

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They spent a lot of time arranging dinner reservations for not only ourselves, but other family members, whose requirements kept changing; it took a lot of doing, but they did not complain, and did whatever was necessary to work things out for all of our party. That's great service!

Room Tip: look at the online pictures to choose the color scheme you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My boyfriend and I took our first trip to Nantucket this past week. We stayed at the USI for just one night and we were blown away!! Ken and the entire staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. From letting us keep our bags in the Inn before/after check-in to helping us make the most of our short trip, everyone treated us like family. We stayed in room #6 and it was SO clean and well-kept. Loved the decorations and the way they kept it very Colonial looking but it still had a modern and spotless bathroom. The breakfast was delicious. We both had Challah French Toast with strawberries and blueberries and sausage links. Additionally, they kept out Chobani yogurt, water bottles, tea and coffee all afternoon for a snack when you stopped back in. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying on the island...especially those visiting Nantucket for their first time. Truly traditional, beautiful, and very Nantucket-y.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed for a night on July 3rd. Wonderful place - very elegant but not stuffy! Easy walk or bike to town, restaurants, and beaches. Staff accommodating with dinner reservations, welcome tour and breakfast. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BahamaMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have stayed at many Inns on the island and this one by far is just Fantastic!! From the moment that we arrived to the minute that we left we were treated life family. I can't say enough about the décor, it is just beautiful. The outside patio were we had coffee, brownies and carrot cake in the afternoon to the fabulous breakfast in the morning was just outstanding and very relaxing.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
456 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: £160 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing