We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Nantucket”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our third stay at the Union Street Inn. It is no wonder why so many guest, like us, return each year. The hosts and the staff are warm, wonderful, and make you feel so welcome. And we learned this year - they really go above and beyond to be accommodating. All of the rooms are lovely and pristine. The breakfasts and afternoon sweets are delicious. There are wonderful sitting areas both inside and out. Thank you so much for another great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We recently visited with another couple.Our rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings and fabrics. The inn keepers were warm and welcoming.The breakfast was wonderful....blueberry pancakes,bagels with smoked salmon and sausages the reminded me of ones served in the best B&Bs in the UK:-) The innkeeper was kind enough to share the source of their wonderful granola.The garden and patio were charming and private.I really never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaxnFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location, comfort, beautiful decorations, clean, good breakfast and helpful staff ......what else could a person want! The staff gave suggestions for restaurants - CRU was super!! We booked reservation prior to leaving home. Also they suggested that we go to 'Sconset by bus which was so easy and enjoyable. Our last day we did Island with Gail's tours - only suggestion is to book am a.m. tour. We would most definitely return if ever on Nantucket.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We called last minute for one night over Columbus Day Weekend. Amanda could not have been more gracious,describing the rooms that were available and which would be best for us. We stayed in Room 3, right on the first floor, beautifully but comfortably decorated with a scrumptious modern four poster bed and every possible amenity. Ken showed us around the newly redecorated house and newly done gardens. I wanted to move right in and live there! Afternoon tea was delicious with teas, cookies, carrot cake squares and brownies. Breakfast included the usual fruit and granola but also eggs benedict or bagels and smoked salmon. I'm a stickler for poached eggs and these were perfect. We are B and B travelers and this is one of the best ever! I hope we have many more opportunities to stay there. By the way, Union Street is NOT a main thorofare as some other reviewer asserted, the rooms are quiet and the living room is small but cozy and comfortable. I thought our price (179. for our room) was exceptionally reasonable.

Room Tip: We loved Room 3 with its king sized four poster and two wing chairs. The bath is modern and the stal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My first trip to Nantucket on business, Innkeeper Amanda was amazingly helpful in pointing out the best places in town for dinner and drinks. The accommodations were fantastic (as were the oatmeal raisin cookies).Personable, friendly and professional! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A stay at Union St Inn on Nantucket is an absolute must for anyone looking for a well appointed, professionally run inn with an extremely friendly & knowledgeable staff. The owners were wonderful people whom we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachcomber2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We saw the outstanding reviews of this place, number 3 B&B in Nantucket, and all the rave reviews, and we said, "how can we go wrong?". Well, don't believe everything you read, Trip Advisor members. This place is NOT that good.

By way of background, my wife and I stay at many B&B's throughout New England. We have a very good feel for price/value. I get this is Nantucket, but paying big big money for mediocre value is not appealing.

Some positives:
The Inn is cute and old and has strong character;
You are right near town, so is convenient;
The linens are fresh and clean, and the place is well-decorated.

But there are negatives:
You are right on a busy road (Union Street) and it can be loud;
The place is very tight and small;
Little privacy (you can hear people in the hall and right outside the courtyard);
Not much room to hang out - only a few tables inside for breakfast, and nowhere really to sit and read, etc.

Also, the breakfast was really just barely ok, not off the charts. And, by the way, the context of this review is off the charts pricing! You are not getting that value in return for this place, as I said

Also, there was a cold feel here, my wife and I never met the innkeeper (although I think he was around) they did not go out of their way to be warm, at least to us. Ryan the helper was trying to be pleasant, and Jocelyn who helped with breakfast seemed to rush us along.

In summary, look for another place. This Inn is good, not great. I don't know how it gets these ecstatic reviews. We will not spend that money and stay here again. I'm sure there are better places in Nantucket.

Room Tip: Stay away from front of Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Doug57216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
257 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: £149 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing