We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed at”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B we've ever stayed at”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I can't recommend this bed and breakfast enough. We prefer to stay at bed and breakfasts when we go away for long weekends, and of all of those that we've stayed at, this is by far the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieUnion, General Manager at Union Street Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Wow! What a fabulous review! Thank you very much. It is wonderful to hear all of our guests comments and feedback. Hope you make it back to the island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
332
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a last minute getaway at the Union Street Inn. They thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and luxurious! (The welcome chocolates were extra special!) The room was cozy with a beautiful fireplace and crisp white linens. You must try the mid-afternoon cookies, they were delightful. There is a beautiful patio where you can sit and relax and enjoy an amazing breakfast. The staff was extremely helpful with recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The location is perfect, just a short walk to everything.

Room Tip: We were advised ahead of time that the room we selected on the first floor was on the street side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieUnion, General Manager at Union Street Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Ladies, work very hard on the afternoon snacks so I will pass along to them your praises. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here on a cold April weekend in Room 5 on the second floor. We were greeted warmly and professionally by Amanda, who had also set up a pitcher of iced tea, cake, and cookies which was a great relief after our cold trek in the rain to the inn. You will be warned when booking that Room 5's bathroom is very small, but it actually turned out to be ok-- they made good use of the space, and it's perfectly reasonably sized for one person at a time.

The room and the inn was beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed chatting with the innkeeper Ken, who stopped by to say hello at breakfast. Overall, one of my Top 5 B&B experiences ever; very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 (corner queen with fireplace on 2nd floor) was great. It faces the front and side of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieUnion, General Manager at Union Street Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Amanda is in her third season here as an innkeeper and she is very helpful and informative. We hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

For its combination of location, food, rooms and service, the Union Street Inn is hard to beat, although it comes at a price compared with other options. We have stayed at the Union Street Inn on three occasions and typically spend a couple of nights here before moving out to The Wauwinet to get some time away from town. The rooms are tastefully decorated and really well maintained - we typically stay in a queen room that includes two twin beds pushed together, but in a comfortable way. The breakfasts are filling and high quality - better than other B&B breakfast experiences. The other nice feature, for people with a car, is the off-street parking, which makes exploring the whole island possible (for those not interested in biking). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

There are many upsides to this place, and one of them is its location. A few minutes’ walk from the harbor and being right in the center of town, means both that you don’t need a car to get here, and that a wealth of restaurants are literally at your door step. There are buses that cross the island, making getting around very effortless, and since the bus stop is right around the corner from the inn, it’s very convenient for its guests. For the more active, there are plenty of places to hire a bike, and the islands caters to this with great paths to cycle on. After a day of exploring you simply park your bike right in front of the inn.
The place itself is upscale and elegant without sacrificing the homey feel you expect from a B&B. The rooms are beautifully appointed and a highlight of the inn. The bathrooms are quite luxurious and the overall décor very attractive. The communal areas are also inviting, and supply guests with lounge areas both inside and outside in the courtyard, where also breakfast is served outside weather permitting. The breakfast itself gives you a hot entre option, and was very delicious indeed. The meal was further enhanced by the friendly innkeepers who stopped by every breakfast for a chat.
If going to Nantucket – this place is highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

my hubby and i stayed for 5 nites, right after Labor Day which was great bc the weather was perfect and the crowds had thinned out.
the location is convenient to everywhere you want to go. the staff were courteous -- especially deserving of kudos is the blonde lady at nite who was both warm and professional. the breakfast was delicious. the afternoon treats were yummy.
we stayed in the smallest room with the detached bathroom. i think this set up would be adequate for a nite or 2. bc it required getting dressed every time you wanted to go to the bathroom which was a bit inconvenient. PLUS you had to be quiet despite the creaky hallway floors due to the thin walls so as not to disturb your neighbors.
what's more, tho both my hubby and i are slender, the room is quite little. perhaps good for just 1 occupant. and the bedding is piled half way to the ceiling which makes for a pretty display. but there was nowhere to put the excess fluff but on the floor regrettably bc to sleep underneath the 25 lbs of duvets/comforters would be suffocating. i would certainly recommend this lovely B&B. but we would stay in a different room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegetarian-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

First time to Nantucket. Stayed here for our anniversary September 29- October 1st 2013. Right in town. 5 minute walk from ferry. Owners live on site and were very pleasant. Great breakfast made to order in the morning with a nice patio outside. Beautiful old building in great condition. Well maintained. Stayed in room 6, top of stairs. They made the extra effort to let us know what was going on in the area and the restaurants to go to. Nice time of year to go as well. As rates go for Nantucket, very affordable. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 6 top of stairs - quiet despite near stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibum028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing