We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Voorhees, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

My husband and I really liked the Union Street Inn. The breakfasts were yummy and we had a choice from several dishes each morning. We ate every morning out on the back porch area...even though it was a little cold in June-u-ary, as they call it. The room was nice, but BELEIVE the owners when they say on their web site that Room 5 has a very small bathroom. It was postage stamp sized. The bed linens were so nice and comfortable that when I came home I bought some Frette sheets so that I could replicate that feel in my own bed! The location of the Union Street Inn is very convenient to the main shopping and dining areas, but then again in the town of Nantucket...what isn't? We had a great time at the Union Street Inn and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracie123Voorhees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
336
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scarsdale
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Innkeepers and staff are lovely and very accomodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and fresh and different every morning. Inkeepers make sure guests know what to do, how to get around, help them get dinner reservations etc. Felt like a home away from home.

  • Liked — location and great breakfasts
  • Disliked — small bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ehward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Delightful stay. Everything was as imagined and promised with all details attended to. The breakfast was prompt and sumptuous as well as the coffee being especially fresh and flavorful. Everything was exceptionally clean. Every staff member was cheerful and helpful. Location was perfect and afforded access to everything, from bicycles, restaurants, and ferry, to shuttle bus to the airport. Would stay there again and again!

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — size of bathroom, but was forewarned ahead of time!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AZReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

My fiance and I stayed at the Union Street Inn last summer and it was perfect. This was my 3rd trip to Nantucket (I previously stayed at the Beachside Hotel and Anchor Inn, both nice but nothing to rave about); the Union Street Inn was by far the best. We stayed in their smallest room (#14) and it was plenty of space and had the largest bathroom. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly and keep the inn more like a boutique hotel than a bed and breakfast.

The breakfasts were wonderful! Most other hotels/inns offer muffins and coffee but Union Street Inn made us a delicious breakfast each morning.

The inn is only a block off of Main Street but it was never noisy and the location was very convenient to the restaurants, harbor, and shopping. We rented bicycles to get to the beaches which were between 3 and 6 miles away.

Be sure to try the Even Keel Cafe and go sailing on the Endeavor!

  • Liked — Luxurious accomodations and delicious breakfast
  • Disliked — The price!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bookwormteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2006

Our fifth summer to stay at Union Street Inn and this was the best yet! Over the years we had stayed in various B&B's in Nantucket. Then we found this gem and have been here five times.

The location is supreb! Easy walks to all the best places downtown. Gourmet breakfast that is the best. In the afternoon fresh baked cookies and brownies along with tea and coffee. Open fridge with bottle water any time.

The home was built in 1795 and is full of charm and intimacy.

The host treat you as family and Ken and Deb make recommendations and reservations. This is the place to relax and renew.

We are planning our next summer now.

  • Liked — Warmth of host
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TWB2006SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 April 2006

If you love quaint New England inns, this will definitely be one of your best visits ever. Beautifully restored, with moderns conveniences, this inn is one block from the town center and ferry docks. Best dining on the island is within four block radius. Beaches are fairly distant, so you will need a car or bike. Ken was unfailingly polite, prompt, and responsive to any of our requests. I have already booked our next visit for high-season!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2005

What a fantastic inn. My wife and I stayed here first on our honeymoon and then returned again this past summer. As the other posters have said, we really think this inn has it all. Ken is a wonderful innkeeper and even worked with us to fix a small problem we had last time we stayed. The breakfast is great and it is wonderful to be able to eat outside. The location cannot be beat. The only reason I would tell anyone not to stay there is that we would love to keep those "in the know" to a minimum so that the "affordable" rooms are available during the high season! My wife and I have very high standards for where we stay on vacation, and this inn always meets them.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TribecaTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
443 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing