We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven Sea Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We were expecting more from the inn. It is a bit run down and the room was small and dark with the sink in the room. The sheets were pilly which was uncomfortable.
We were disappointed because we paid the full summer rates and thought it would be cheerier and better maintained. Another guest told us her room had a musty odor. The place could use some sprucing up and some landscaping too. Definately not worth the price and can do better elsewhere. The women who worked there were warm, helpful and friendly so that was a big plus!! They were wonderful and tried to make our stay comfortable,but this is certainly not a romantic spot!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 866Peterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msp3672, Owner at Seven Sea Street Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We regret any disappointment in our guests lodging experience and believe we offer excellent quality and value for Nantucket, as so many other guests confirm and as they've stated through hundreds of written letters and verbal feedback which we seek, so this less than enthusiastic review was certainly hard to read.

We utilize every off season to perform constant upgrades and refurbishments to all the guest and common rooms so they meet the high standards of our valued guests. For instance, just this past Winter all guest rooms were freshly painted, new high definition 32" TV sets installed in every room, along with new linens and bedding, new furniture in various rooms, and a completely remodeled Spa room, so it's difficult to read someone say anything is run down. I think it's fair to say this review is not consistent with the majority of our other reviews which commend us on the quality, value and service we consistently try to offer every guest.

We do appreciate the acknowledgement of our hospitality and excellent service, along with our ideal location in the old historic district. We encourage prospective guests to read our many other reviews as well for greater perspective, and hope you will choose to stay with us for a special Nantucket lodging experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    64
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
62
288
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were guests at the Seven Sea Street Inn for the 5th time on August 4 - 11 and it remains the same as what we have stated about it in our previous reviews of this wonderful place! There is little that we can add to our reviews: Matthew, the innkeeper was gracious, Claudia his assistant
was great and always ready to help out, our room was great, breakfast around the great room table was enjoyable and we had a wonderful time, all in all!
This year we solved the travel difficulties we have experienced in the past (every time we have been delayed upon leaving the Island by air). This year we left our departure open and watched the weather. The day before we were to depart instead of flying, we booked the "fast ferry" and a limo from Hyannis to Boston and it worked out perfectly at essentially the same price as the flight from the Island to Boston and about the same duration if you figure in the taxi time from Logan to downtown Boston. The anxiety was removed and it was really quite pleasant.
We continue our 40+ year love of Nantucket (which started with our honeymoon in 1971) and look forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmarchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Seven Sea Street Inn in late August, the week before Labor Day. We had a delightful stay. Matt, the Innkeeper, was very hospitable. He started the Inn and has been running it for nearly 30 years. He shared with us that the Inn is a Labor of Love and that shows. The rooms are cozy and air conditioned (for those travelling in summer) and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen TV. The location was fantastic. A very short walk (maybe one city block) from the center of downtown, but far enough away to be quiet. We enjoyed getting to know other folks staying at the Inn over the elaborate continental breakfasts served every morning. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room. We heard some footsteps overhead when the guests above us returned lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I recently spent four nights at the Seven Sea Street Inn on Nantucket. It was a treat!!
The extreme cleanliness was evident everywhere. The comfortable mattress, double sheeting,
soft as silk bed linens, and fragrant soap, shampoo and lotion all added to the ambiance.
We met other interesting guests over lovely breakfasts. The helpful and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. The ability to walk so many places is a plus as well. We eagerly await a return visit.

Susan Robinson Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location. Matthew the innkeeper was very cordial and helpful when we arrived and all during our stay.

No one should be disappointed with the breakfast. We booked late, yet our room was very airy and nice even though it was right next to the dining room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hma8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

One simply cannot go wrong by choosing this charming B & B for a great time in Nantucket.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful, and it has all the amenities that make for a lovely vacation.
You can engage in conversation at the group breakfast (8 or 9 am seating-your choice) or you can take a tray to your room or to the outdoor patio if you prefer a bit of privacy.
Nice touches like homemade cookies and chocolate covered cranberries on your night table.
We have stayed here 3 times and will be booking the 4th for next summer.
I believe that says it all!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newbiznanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our 4th or 5th time at the inn and the experience was never better. Matt and his assistants were most helpful and gracious. The continental breakfast was second to none. The rooms were spotless.
The inn is less than five minute walk from the Steamship Authority fast ferry.Absolutely a great location. We look forward to visiting every summer. It doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suddensudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Sea Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Sea Street Inn

Property: Seven Sea Street Inn
Address: 7 Sea St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Sea Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Sea Street is a beautiful red oak post and beam Inn, designed with an authentic Nantucket ambiance in mind. We invite you to experience our charming Inn, where we pride ourselves on the attentive service and cozy accommodations that will make your stay with us a fond memory. Our location couldn't be better, nestled on a quiet side street and just a short walk from Main Street, Steamboat Wharf, Jetties Beach, and Brant Point Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seven Sea Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Sea Street Hotel Nantucket
7 Sea Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing