We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Nantucket Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #12 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Carlisle House, a traditional bed and breakfast inn, conveniently located steps from downtown. Rooms are a good size for the island and kept clean, with everything in working order. Inn was quiet in the evenings and mornings, which we really appreciated for a relaxing long weekend. Nice common areas and beautiful grounds. Innkeeper Heather was incredibly helpful and pleasant, starting months before when we made the reservation through our checkout. Breakfasts served at a reasonable hour and each day the offerings varied slightly. Cheese and wine reception was an excellent touch to mingle with other guests before heading out for the evening. Would highly recommend to other island visitors!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cisco, which we liked the location, size, and decor. The bed was squeaky; but nothing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLCote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Inn was a typical B and B. It had great location, and the owner, Heather was a great hostess. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Nantucket (if there. Is such a thing), this is a good place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecnalkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The breakfast that was included was delicious and substantial...the other guests were respectful and friendly...great location...quiet yet walk to town.

Room Tip: On a muggy day the central air conditioning was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momdaughterteam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I stay here annually during the Nantucket Wine Festival in May. It's cozy, clean and welcoming. The breakfast is homemade, fresh and bountiful. Coffee and tea are available all day and night. There is a computer with internet in the common area for guests to use. We stay in a comfortable suite with a large closet, private bath and a sitting room. The decor is classic New England with antiques and old-world charm. If you want a modern hotel, this is not the place for you. It had all the amenities we wanted and all the charm we enjoy. It's a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had a night booked at the Carlisle and we were looking forward. However, when we called because we could not get to Nantucket as the Ferry Service cancelled all boats that day due to very rough water conditions (The service cancelled the boat 20 mins before departure so it was extremely short notice) - Heather the owner, who should learn some customer service skills btw, as she was very rude and told us there was nothing she could do and we lost our money - no refund. Very dissappointing! We love Nantucket and visit frequent, but will NEVER book the Carlisle in future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank DMM154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at The Carlisle House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

This person was understandably upset when the inter-island ferry from Martha's Vineyard to Nantucket was cancelled. Unfortunately, he took his anger and frustration out on our staff, even when suggestions were offered that would have provided him a way to get to Nantucket that day since all other boats and planes WERE operating. Our cancellation policy, which is similar to all other Nantucket properties' policies, is clearly stated in all of our communications prior to a guest's visit and on our website, and they agree to that policy when making their reservation. Ufortunately, this person hung up abruptly as we were telling him we would make every effort to re-book the room. He was clearly enraged by how his day was going and not interested in hearing any suggestions or alternate solutions to his transportation problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This was my first trip to the Island of Nantucket and I had a list of locations to visit. Having never been I was not sure which Inn to reserve space in. I stumbled upon a YouTube video featuring the Carlisle House Inn and really enjoyed two things: 1) being able to see the folks in charge; and 2) get a sense of what it really looked like, how the Inn was situated on the block, and what the rooms look like.
after departing the ferry, the Inn was literally about a 5-6 minute walk. Upon arrival I was greeted by the super friendly Inn-keeper Heather who made certain that I felt welcomed, and comfortable during my two night stay.
The room I stayed in was cozy, cool when it needed to be and warm with it needed to be. As a New Yorker I appreciated being able to lay in a very comfortable bed, watch a little local news and take a comfortable nap free of taxi-cab horns and kneeling city buses!
I truly appreciated the warm, calming (I enjoyed the Bach and Dvorák Cello concerto in common area) homely feel of the old Captain's home, located just minutes from Main st and South Water with a bunch of shops and restaurants - this is exactly the way I wanted to experience the Island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amorganWaikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This was my 3rd or 4th trip to Nantucket, but first time off-season and first time not staying with friends who have a house on the island. Accustomed to the homey feel of an old Nantucket house, and spoiled by not usually having to pay, the Carlisle House was perfect for us! Reasonably priced, great quiet location, clean but lived-in homey feeling, and just the right amount of interaction with the friendly and accommodating Innkeeper, Heather. And best food I've eaten in a while is right around the corner at Lola's!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumblyOpinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £78 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlisle House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Carlisle House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing