We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

First time visit to Nantucket after a family wedding in RI. We prefer the B & B experience when traveling and have stayed in a lot of them both in the US and Canada. This one rates on the low side, although we did fine it seemed like we paid a lot for what we got. We don't know what the average B & B on Nantucket is like; everything on the island seemed horrifically overpriced. The place IS convenient to the ferry. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the street; probably would have been very noisy due to the cobblestone street, but we had the AC on all the time so it didn't matter.. The room itself was adequate, window AC did an okay job of cooling the room, but we couldn't run the hair dryer at the same time without a power outage on the whole floor. Queen size bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small. The phone-booth size shower had a curtain that was both too long and had been doubled back on itself so it was also too narrow for the opening. Water slopped out onto the floor no matter how careful we tried to be. It didn't seem very sanitary to us either to have the shower curtain that was laying on the floor of the shower soaking up other people's dirty water. Our towels were never replaced and since there was no ventilation in the bathroom, they never got dry. As far as we could tell, our room never received any "housekeeping" service at all. The breakfast room is on a small side porch with tiny tables very close together so it was very difficult to sit down when there were more than a half dozen people present. Coffee carafe was empty two of the mornings. Non-functioning ice machine. Innkeeper was pleasant enough. There were hot popovers one morning, some nice quick breads and fresh cut up fruit which supplemented the instant oatmeal and cold cereal, bagels, English muffins, etc on the breakfast bar. We probably would try a different place if we ever came back to Nantucket.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momzanurz1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    35
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
86
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The inn is in a great location, close to the center of town, and a short walk to the beach as well. Heather was a great host, and we really appreciated her attention to the small things -- great restuarant recommendations, cold water, wine & cheese, treats at the desk daily.

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Spent as a couple a few nights during summer. We are used to spending for quality
but felt this room was extremily over priced for what it is. Old decor, little
light, no extra plug to charge phones (had to unplug the light), bathroom was inappropriately
small, you hit the walls as you wash your hair (and we are slim), two people
don't fit or cannot cross each other, innkeeper has an attitude that is far
from helpful / available. Inn is however well located, in silent street. Breakfast is good
and breakfast atmosphere is peaceful. It's worth $200/night peak season.

Room Tip: Ask about room and bathroom size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabethdegenszejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here right around Thanksgiving last year and it was the most relaxing place. It is very clean and cozy and the breakfast buffets are divine. The room we had was on the 2nd floor and it was nice and big, very comfortable and we just enjoyed it so much.

Very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyRoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This inn maintains its historic ,cozy ambiance . Offers a great little breakfast and is conveniently located to all. Visit the Whaling Museum down the block. A gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lampgod127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A lovely B&B. Beautifully maintained. Wonderful hostess, Heather. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast is just right. Wonderful muffins or fruit breads. It's close to everything. Town, beach, shops, etc.. And priced very reasonably.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cohoes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

spent this past weekend here and could not have been more pleased!!!! heather (our hostess) was friendly, helpful and frequently visible, tho not intrusive. she was interactive with all her guests. breakfast was great! homemade popovers and blueberry cake, local breads, just enough but not too much to bog you down. LOVED, LOVED the inn, convenient to everything, charming, and quintessential cape cod!! nantucket is the cape at its finest. heather even writes childrens stories, so of course i had to come home with one of them for my grandson. thanks so much for a superb weekend heather. hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vac613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#2 of 39 in Nantucket
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#11 of 39 in Nantucket
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#20 of 39 in Nantucket
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Property: The Carlisle House Inn
Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing