We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #12 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've stayed at the Carlisle House Inn twice now, and I highly recommend it. The location is convenient (a 5-minute walk from the steamship) breakfasts are wholesome and generous, everything is neat and clean in the rooms with thougntful little touches and on a cold winter night, the fireplace makes the livingroom a cozy place to hang out. Whatever your reason for visiting the Island, you'll find your home away from home at the Carlisle House..

C. Hayes, Weymouth, MA

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogainthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at The Carlisle House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you, Carlotta! It's always a pleasure welcoming you back to The Carlisle House Inn. Looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

My buddy and I came to Nantucket for work and ended up getting stuck on the island due to the storm. We searched for something a stones throw away from the Steamships and stumbled upon an amazing bed and breakfast spot. We were surprised to see how reasonably priced this place was and ended up with a very home feel room. Warm and cozy during a stressful time of being stuck from the nasty weather. Heather made us feel right at home! This stay at the Carlisle set us at ease and the breakfast in the am was superb! Will most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Sconsett Suite has a fireplace and a seperate living room area ... very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you want that homey feeling while visiting the Island, the Carlisle House Inn is the place to stay. Owner/Innkeekper Heather has maintained the historical essence of the era throughout the house, including the large oil portraits of her ancestors on the walls of the living room. The bedrooms (there are many) are spacious, spotless and warmly welcome you when you open the door. Many include large fireplaces. Our queen bed was very comfortable. Heather loves to bake and rewards her visitors in the morning with fresh baked scones, breads and biscuits out on the brightly decorated breakfast porch. She also provides fruit, juice, cereal and coffee/tea. It's a short walk from the wharf to the Inn as well as to the Whaler's Museum (a MUST SEE while visiting the island), Dreamland Theatre (remarkable Performing Arts/Movie Theater, Young's Bicycle/Car Rental, Sankaty lighthouse and many of the island's wonderful restaurants and sites. Over the course of our three-day visit in February, we managed to walk the entire lower portion of the island from Sankaty Lighthouse to the whaling captain's mansions on Main Street and out to The Old Mill. We look forward to going back in warmer weather to hop on bicycles and explore the central area of the island and maybe play a little golf!

Room Tip: The Inn is very quiet so your choice of room would be based on the accommodations you're looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Have been to Nantucket often in the Summer but to stay in mid-winter was a delight. A well situated location and Heather a delightful owner/innkeeper, made our stay a pleasure. The working fireplace in the large room and our private bath made the weekend stay a welcome getaway. Just a few minutes walk to the center, the perfect location and the beautiful old Inn made for a special weekend. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Having stayed in plenty of B&Bs around the world, I was really pleased to find that the hospitality, location, room and owner were all great. Friendly, unpretentious, down to earth and comfortable - the hallmarks of hospitality.

We stayed in the middle of the February snowstorm, and while there were lots of interesting places to go and see (Cisco Brewery, Lighthouses, bars, restaurants, museums, etc) we were always weighing those activities with the comfort and charm of simply relaxing by the working fireplace in our room. The location was fantastic, with a 10 minute walk to most of the best attractions and beaches on the north shore of the island.

I can't more highly recommend Heather's great B&B, and if you get the chance, STAY HERE. There are a TON of B&Bs on Nantucket, but only one like this.

Room Tip: Room #20 on the upstairs corner has amazing light and views into the trees and street. It's quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstevenson559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at The Carlisle House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

It was such a pleasure having you and Kristina with us for three nights, Charlie! We are so happy that you enjoyed the cozy fireplace and the experience of staying in our authentic Nantucket whaling captain's home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is a late review, but my boyfriend and I (now fiance!) stayed at the Carlisle House Inn from June 12-16. We stayed in the Dionis Room and while it was on the small side, it was just fine for the two of us. The Carlisle house is clean, pretty and welcoming, the shared bathroom was immaculate, the desserts set out by Heather were delish and we just loved the feel of being able to go into the kitchen/porch and eat & store what we bought and brought with us. The back yard space was very sweet, we stayed out there together a couple of nights and enjoyed crackers & cheese with a bottle of wine, and everything in town is a convenient walk from Carlisle. It was just a very nice experience and we enjoyed it very much. Thanks again! My only complaint is that you can sometimes hear other guests in their rooms, but for goodness sakes it's a house, not a high-rise hotel so it comes with the territory of a B&B. Overall nothing to discourage us from returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmarie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second time this summer- the first was for our honeymoon two years ago. When we returned this summer for our Anniversary, Heather, the owner, sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room with a note welcoming us back- what a thoughtful touch!

The price is decent for Nantucket. The location is great- walking distance to the downtown area, and just around the corner from a major bus stop. There is a complimentary breakfast each morning with homemade baked goods (the popovers are amazing!), fresh fruit, and lots more.

We will definitely stay there again the next time we're in Nantucket.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#16 of 38 in Nantucket
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £92 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlisle House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Carlisle House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing