We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #12 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Carlisle House is a very comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay when you are in Nantucket. Our favorite room is the Tom Nevers on the third floor - and don't forget to try one of Heather's (innkeeper) scones at breakfast!

Room Tip: I like top floors so that no one is above me and down the hall so people don't walk by the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLC404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great location, charming room with first class hospitality. Really comfortable common areas as well. Delicious home made breads for breakfast. Innkeeper is readily available with helpful suggestions and information.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butch5295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great choice of accommodations. Our visit was in the off season and we enjoyed the whole long weekend. We stayed in the third floor Tuckernuck Room--about the inn's cheapest room. The room was sunny, comfortable and clean with a sweet beachy decor. Plenty of towels and blankets. The room was small--but not too small--with a perk of a private bath that was roomy large (7'x10'). As other reviewers have mentioned, the complimentary breakfast was excellent. The inn is a 5-10 minute walk to shops and restaurants, the ferry, and the Brant Point beach and lighthouse. Walking to other beaches and just around the island was convenient and fun. If you have bicycles, bring them! The Inn has an outdoor bike rack for convenience. Heather, the innkeeper/owner is knowledgeable about her town and quite friendly to talk with.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boats_and_castles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Perfect location. Convenient to stores, restaurants, ferry. Clean, comfortable rooms with cozy New England feel. Just right blend of privacy and availability of innkeeper. Delicious, reasonably priced breakfast of home baked breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, tea, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just got back from a "girls weekend" in Nantucket and were fortunate enough to stay at the Carlisle House. Not only was the location, just perfect (being so close to town and the Cliff Road area/Brant Point area) but the accommodations were excellent as was the continental breakfast each morning!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Carlisle House Inn was our home for a 3 day discovery tour of Nantucket. We very much appreciated Heather’s warm welcome, the excellent breakfast with home baked goodies as well as the parlour with nice music, a fireplace and coffee/tea . The Carlisle Inn is conveniently located, just a 10 minute walk from the ferry dock and the center of Nantucket. We stayed in the Cisco room that was nicely decorated and had a working fireplace, very much appreciated when it’s freezing outside and the wind blows at 20 mph. Consider however that in a 1765 built wooden house you can hear the guests walking on the floor above and a neighbour coughing … but I guess that’s the case in all constructions of this type. We can warmly recommend the Carlisle House Inn.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, choose the top floor ... if you can carry your luggage over two fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've stayed at the Carlisle House Inn twice now, and I highly recommend it. The location is convenient (a 5-minute walk from the steamship) breakfasts are wholesome and generous, everything is neat and clean in the rooms with thougntful little touches and on a cold winter night, the fireplace makes the livingroom a cozy place to hang out. Whatever your reason for visiting the Island, you'll find your home away from home at the Carlisle House..

C. Hayes, Weymouth, MA

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogainthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at The Carlisle House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you, Carlotta! It's always a pleasure welcoming you back to The Carlisle House Inn. Looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanessa Noel Hotel
Vanessa Noel Hotel
#13 of 14 in Nantucket
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £72 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing