We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful inn for our stay in Nantucket”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #11 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Carlisle House Inn and it was a perfect place for us. It is well-situated in Nantucket and Heather, the inn-keeper, is very helpful and gracious and went out of her way to make us feel at home and give us information to enhance our stay. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PiggyMarcello4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Carlisle House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have visited Nantucket every summer for many years, and the place we stay at most often is the Carlisle House Inn. The location is excellent for dining, shopping, beaching, and sightseeing. Heather, the innkeeper, is so accommodating. We've stayed in different rooms and have brought friends with us who stayed in other rooms, and I can say that all those we have seen there offer charm, are kept clean, and are regularly maintained. Nantucket is expensive to visit, and the inn's rates are competitive. I recommend it to anyone and we will be back there in a few months!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DLCote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Everything about The Carlisle House made for a GREAT vacation! Heather has created such a relaxing, inviting retreat for vacationers to a busy island. From the plush towels provided for the beach to the homemade baked goods each morning it is a 5 star experience all around. Be sure to ask for her banana muffins in particular :) I wouldn't look anywhere else for my next stay to the island. Well done, Heather!

Room Tip: I only saw the room I was in which was just perfect, but all the other guests that I met were as ple...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Carlisle House as part of an overnighter trip to Nantucket. The innkeeper, Heather, was so helpful in putting together not just a stay at the Carlisle House, but a whole experience for us. She worked with my admittedly quirky requests for, for example, champagne delivered to the room late at night while we were out, and had no problem handling us showing up at a wildly different time than originally agreed upon. The house itself was cozy and convenient to the rest of the town.

Many hotels feel like they just slap together a cheap breakfast so they can say they serve breakfast, but that is not true here. They put a lot of care into the food they serve, and, again, make an entire experience out of it. Speaking of which, try to stay on a Saturday night so you can take advantage of the truly excellent Wine and Cheese tasting that Heather does. She isn't skimping on the wine or the cheese - very good stuff, and we met with lots of interesting folks there.

Highly recommended from me!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshjordanwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although we stayed at the Inn through a category 1 hurricane, it was still a great time. Our hostess Heather never got frazzled or lost her composure through wind, rain and a black out. The place is charming and clean and a great location to the wondercul town center. Breakfast every morning on the porch was delicious! I travelled with 2 teenagers and they loved the place too. When the lights were out, she provided board games and candles and the kids loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathybor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Carlisle House Inn in the Tuckernuck Room for our first visit to Nantucket. This vacation was completely magical and I feel like Nantucket is an absolute dream! The Tuckernuck Room was cozy, and most importantly, an excellent value for Nantucket in July! We had our own bathroom, which was a must. The room was small, but the bathroom was actually quite large. The shower was great, good pressure, hot water. The AC unit was noisy, but earplugs took care of that, and there were a lack of outlets in the room so we had be creative with our devices, but again, it is a historical home, so all totally understandable. The mattress was very firm, but we became accustomed to it after one night, and slept well after that. The continental breakfast was basic, but lovely. The B and B has a beautiful garden in the back. The location in town was terrific. We rented bikes so we could get everywhere on the island (there is a bike rack on the property), but you can walk to town and most restaurants just fine. We went to "The Bean" coffeehouse every morning and afternoon. We had an unforgettable time, and I can't wait to return!

Pros: Excellent Location, Great free Wi-Fi, Charming, lovely, simple continental breakfast, GREAT value for a very expensive island
Cons: Lack of outlets, noisy AC unit, firm mattress

Tip: Ride your bike out to Madaket (about a 6 mile ride, 12 round trip) and eat at Millie's. Best lobster roll we've ever had! Beautiful scenic ride.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here for the first time for a wknd getaway for my boyfriends bday. The place is very clean & the room was clean, charming & comfortable. We stayed in the Tom Nevers rm king size bed w/private bath shower. On Sunday I became very I'll & check out was for 11am but the owner was very understanding & extended out check out to 1pm. I would def stay here again & hopefully next time I won't get sick becausey Sunday was ruined. We also took our bikes.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenjasoncole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#4 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £70 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing