We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Piece of Nantucket History !!”
Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Piece of Nantucket History !!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This beautiful inn was built by Jared Coffin, patriarch of one of the original families who settled on Nantucket Island. Very comfortable, well-appointed rooms and a great restaurant. Convenient to many of the popular sites on the main streets and to other great restaurants. Excellent service from all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    82
    35
    16
    9
See reviews for
29
131
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
489 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Wonderful!!! Well kept historic building, impeccably furnished, great staff, helpful and welcoming. Great location. Reserve early and often.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plastx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Had been looking forward to a mother/daughter summer experience at this Inn. Booked it through Hotels.com whose website stated that payment would be directly taken from the hotel at check out. Instead, the money was immediately deducted for the total stay from my checking account. While I can appreciate that the fault was also Hotels.com, I felt that the response from Jared Coffin's management was extremely poor: no admission at all that they had any responsibility and simply a re-instatement of their inn's booking policy, which apparently also involves their holding onto 10% of the deposit even after my cancellation well in advance of 21 days.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Gypsy090 - thank you for the comments above. Yes, indeed that is our in-season cancellation policy. This is not uncommon among the hotels and resorts in this highly seasonal area. I think you may find that in fact our policy is more flexible than many out there. Also, I would recommend booking directly with the hotel/resort's website when possible - most have, as we do - a guaranteed lowest published rate policy and can be reach more redibly than most online travel agencies. Please contact me at the JC if you have any questions and thanks again for the comments. Jim Storey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My daughter and I checked in for our weekend, I was told that they did not have my reservation, then sent me along my way to the visitors center to try to find other accommodations. No help what so ever, though I was close to tears. At the visitors center, I got the impression this did not happen infrequently. I booked on line ,I am not so sure I would trust that, or the Inn. Good luck

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Sue S - I am so sorry you and your daughter had to go through what you did. We should have called the visitor center for you and for not doing that, I apologize. We missed it and thank you for commenting on this as we have use this information for training purposes. The way the visitor center works on Nantucket is every Hotel/Resort/Inn that has rooms (during busy periods) keeps them apprised of what, if any, availability they have. So the visitors center is sort of a one stop shop for what is available instead of having to call around. It would have been our pleasure to accomodate you and your daughter but we were in fact sold out. Also - I would recommend getting and travelling with a confirmation number just in case, preferrably printed from the booking source website. Again, very sorry for the situation you experienced. Jim Storey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
consum1
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This Hotel is located right in the middle of all the shops and eatries in Nantucket. You don't need a car you can walk everywhere! It is beautifully decorated. Each common area room has a different decor it seemed. The library room is done in american traditional furnishing and the lounge/restaurant area has a ethic flare. See pics. I ate at Lolas,great! and the brotherhood, also great! both within 2 blocks.

Room Tip: This is a historic hotel so if you choose a single room with a twin bed, know that is really for 1 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Convenient location to ferry. Small rooms. Smaller bathrooms. No terrific amenities. Bare bones breakfast. New restaurant to open this week. No porch. Small patio. The staff were friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. The rooms are very small up there. Not sure about the size of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at the Jared Coffin House for two nights in the Daniel Webster building, adjacent to the main Inn. While the downtown location is super, the inn itself is dated, worn, and truly unspectacular. Combined with the price, it made for an exceptionally poor value for the money spent. Positives: new TV in the room, location, ease of getting there from the ferry. Negatives: price, amenities, breakfast ("meager"), wear & tear, noise from the adjacent beer garden (and I like beer!). I will not be staying there again. Look around, there are many better values on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet away from the street or the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Property: Jared Coffin House
Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing