We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful History, Not so great service”
Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This building is not to be missed!!! It is a wonderful historic site!! The feeling of being there just makes me happy :)

On a sourer note, the people are clearly annoyed by your presence. If I worked at a fancy hotel, I would always be chipper, even to locals (like me) whose parents are visiting the island.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank MinnieD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear MinnieD1896 - I really would like to hear about your visit to the Jared Coffin House so if you would contact me at the hotel I would really appreciate it.

I am glad you feel the Jared Coffin House is a wonderful historic site as I couldn't agree with you more. Thank you for taking the time to stop by with your parents.

As you may imagine, due to the historic nature of the main buiding and the location, we receive many many walk in visitors daily. We welcome the interest and try to make everyone feel at home (even if they are not staying with us).

The only time this becomes a bit of an issue is when people not staying with us enjoy our complimentary coffee and/or lemonade. I wish we could accomodate everyone that walked in with coffee or lemonade, but it would be impossible for us to keep up with the demand. And when trying to control this, sometimes people get offended.

As a local such as yourself, I would be grateful to hear from you. Thanks, Jim Storey, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Jared Coffin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Jared Coffin and had a wonderful time. Staff called in advance asking if they could assist with outing and restaurant reservations, and when we arrived were even able to accommodate our need for an early check-in due to a red-eye flight from the west coast. Rooms were clean and charming, as was the rest of the inn - and staff were always gracious. It truly allowed our long weekend stay to be as seamless as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someinput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This beautiful inn was built by Jared Coffin, patriarch of one of the original families who settled on Nantucket Island. Very comfortable, well-appointed rooms and a great restaurant. Convenient to many of the popular sites on the main streets and to other great restaurants. Excellent service from all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Wonderful!!! Well kept historic building, impeccably furnished, great staff, helpful and welcoming. Great location. Reserve early and often.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plastx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Had been looking forward to a mother/daughter summer experience at this Inn. Booked it through Hotels.com whose website stated that payment would be directly taken from the hotel at check out. Instead, the money was immediately deducted for the total stay from my checking account. While I can appreciate that the fault was also Hotels.com, I felt that the response from Jared Coffin's management was extremely poor: no admission at all that they had any responsibility and simply a re-instatement of their inn's booking policy, which apparently also involves their holding onto 10% of the deposit even after my cancellation well in advance of 21 days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank gypsy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Gypsy090 - thank you for the comments above. Yes, indeed that is our in-season cancellation policy. This is not uncommon among the hotels and resorts in this highly seasonal area. I think you may find that in fact our policy is more flexible than many out there. Also, I would recommend booking directly with the hotel/resort's website when possible - most have, as we do - a guaranteed lowest published rate policy and can be reach more redibly than most online travel agencies. Please contact me at the JC if you have any questions and thanks again for the comments. Jim Storey, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My daughter and I checked in for our weekend, I was told that they did not have my reservation, then sent me along my way to the visitors center to try to find other accommodations. No help what so ever, though I was close to tears. At the visitors center, I got the impression this did not happen infrequently. I booked on line ,I am not so sure I would trust that, or the Inn. Good luck

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Sue S - I am so sorry you and your daughter had to go through what you did. We should have called the visitor center for you and for not doing that, I apologize. We missed it and thank you for commenting on this as we have use this information for training purposes. The way the visitor center works on Nantucket is every Hotel/Resort/Inn that has rooms (during busy periods) keeps them apprised of what, if any, availability they have. So the visitors center is sort of a one stop shop for what is available instead of having to call around. It would have been our pleasure to accomodate you and your daughter but we were in fact sold out. Also - I would recommend getting and travelling with a confirmation number just in case, preferrably printed from the booking source website. Again, very sorry for the situation you experienced. Jim Storey, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This Hotel is located right in the middle of all the shops and eatries in Nantucket. You don't need a car you can walk everywhere! It is beautifully decorated. Each common area room has a different decor it seemed. The library room is done in american traditional furnishing and the lounge/restaurant area has a ethic flare. See pics. I ate at Lolas,great! and the brotherhood, also great! both within 2 blocks.

Room Tip: This is a historic hotel so if you choose a single room with a twin bed, know that is really for 1 p...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank consum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: £141 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing