We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant accommodations and Great Location”
Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant accommodations and Great Location”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jared Coffin house Sept. 12-13, 2012. We loved the location as it was an easy walk to town, shops, restaurants, museums, etc. We stayed on the top floor in a corner room overlooking the beautiful street area of Nantucket. Our room was very comfortable for two nights and had a nice, quiet, cool air conditioner, full bath and even a flat screen TV to check the weather, etc. It was pricey but we found you truly get what you pay for with B&B's. We are more the Hotel type and this was comfortable for us and private enough. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as we were on the third floor and had to get help with our luggage since there is no elevator in the historical home. The breakfast was only a continental. Coffee, juice, yogurt, muffins and some fruit. We really enjoyed the Petticoat Bakery just steps away from the front door of the Inn. Wonderful pastries, quiche and a great selection of coffee! Dinner in the restaurant was disappointing. We expected more of a seafood selection. Ended up with appetizers and shrimp and grits. Meal was ok, not the best we had on the Island. We would, however, stay there again and do intend to return to Nantucket and stay more than two nights!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so, if you have a lot of luggage or have difficulty with stairs, request a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    87
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
32
136
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Jared Coffin House for 2 nights and the accomodations were o.k., but not great. The bathroom was very dated and we thought it was fairly expensive for what it was. In particular, it was represented that this was a bed and breakfast, however they did not provide breakfast other than coffee and we had to buy breakfast at the restaurant that was next door to the Jared Coffin House (even though the kitchen was in the main house for the Jared Coffin House). The staff was friendly. I was surprised by the review that continental breakfast was included, because it was not included when we stayed there in June, 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Staff couldnt be nicer. Such an historic place. Many period furnishings.
Reasonable sized room with private bath.
Convenient in town location. Steps from shops, museums and ferry docks.
A bit pricey but out of season is less. Same company as White Elephant, Wharf Cottages and Wauwinet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfingkicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Nantucket has some super high end places but if you want something more affordable and still quite nice, stay here! Small but adequate rooms with room air conditioners, excellent service from the front desk, great location within walking distance of everything in town, and continental breakfast included! Definitely would return. Only complaint is no elevator, but then you quite get your exercise! And there is no pool or fitness center that I know about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suelhallmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This B & B was excellant! Near downtown's gorgeous cobblestone streets with a multitude of quaint boutiques and eateries. Upscale shops and restaurants! The place itself was clean, the rooms were a decent size but could have used some updating. The staff was great! Helpful, cheerful, and in control. They provided beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. The buses to the beach are right down the street! There is also a restaurant on site that is modern and romantic as well as a outside cafe. I was very impressed!

Room Tip: They seem to be all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovrtotrsavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jared Coffin house for a quick getaway in August. This was our first visit to Nantucket and we absolutely loved it! We got off the ferry and had a pleasant 8 minute walk to the hotel. Rachel at the front desk greeted us warmly and was most helpful in finding us things to do until our room was ready. I noticed immediately how clean and tidy everything was and loved that the parlor and living room were traditional antique New England yet the restaurant located directly behind them was modern and fun. The staff was as friendly as can be and knows the island like the back of their hand. We had not made any restaurant reservations but are foodies and love a good meal. Rachel and her co-workers found us reservations at a couple of overbooked hotspots with ease and polish. We were thankful! Our room was in the building next door (not sure if those are less fancy than the main building - we did NO research on this place) and was exactly what we needed. These are not rooms that are outfitted with the latest and greatest like you would expect in a 5 star urban hotel but what is there is charming, comfortable, has all the amenities one would need, and is spic-and-span clean. Our pillows were fluffy, the a/c was super-responsive, and the mini fridge kept our drinks nice and cold. We ate brunch at the restaurant on our last day and the food was spectacular! I had no idea what we were walking into initially but after a few days on the island I came to realize the location can't be beat. Hats off to the fine staff - we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momtravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary. I wasn't expecting a lot, but the place was really nice and more upscale than my expectations. The room was small, but very clean and great bed, high def TV, and decent bathroom. The location is great as well as you can easily walk to anywhere downtown. Light continental breakfast was included. A couple of other things that we did which may be useful to know:
- We rented bikes from Young's right down the street. Took 5 minutes and we were on our way to the beach. Bikes are a great way to get around Nantucket and would recommend this for anyone. There are bike paths to many of the beaches, but heads up you will be biking for at least 3+ miles to most of them. We were able to lock up our bikes right near the hotel on the sidewalk. Only thing to watch out for is the "local" drivers who seem annoyed with the bikers congesting the town and can be aggressive and rude.
- 3.5 mi ride to Surfside beach was well worth it. Amazing beach for relaxing and has a good beachside drink/food stall for lunch. Also rode out to Madaket beach which was also nice, but not as much wow factor as Surfside.
- Rode our bikes to Cisco brewery and spent a few hours one afternoon drinking great beer and listening to music. Definitely would do this again and recommend it for anyone who wants to taste beer, vodka, or wine on a nice afternoon.
- Dinner at Cru was also spectacular, highly recommend the swordfish.
- Only downside to Nantucket is the snobbish feel that you get from people at many of the restaurants and stores, and certainly the drivers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
443 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Property: Jared Coffin House
Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing