We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight for daffodil weekend!”
Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A delight for daffodil weekend!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

My friend and I decided to go to the daffodil festival and she recommended this hotel.
The location was so perfect from the ferry to the shopping and finally to view the festival!
Yes the hotel is on the older side but it still felt updated.
I think for us the best part is the amazing service the front desk provided. Special shout out to Desmond who took us to our room and made sure we were all set before he departed. A true gem!
Only downside no restaurant/bar service.
Definitely delightful place to stay.
Thank you for your hospitality Jared Coffin!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Kathy P - I will be sure to pass along your comment regarding Desmond and I must agree, he is a gem. Desmond has been with our company for over 15 years and he is a true professional. Also thank you your coments regarding the front desk, we do have an amazing team in place there. Thank you Kathy, hope to see you again soon. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    86
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
31
135
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Jared Coffin House is a nice place. It is an older building; by this I mean historic, not run down. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. They have a small-ish breakfast snack table set up in the communal living space downstairs in the morning; juice, muffins, cereal, coffee, etc. We didn't really want to eat breakfast there anyway since there are so many nice restaurants nearby to have breakfast. The front-desk staff is very courteous and friendly. The building itself is very beautiful inside and out. It is located conveniently near Main St. We would stay there again if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear gulloj - thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing this review. On bealf of the entire team here at the Jared Coffin House, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back one day. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed at Jared Coffin House for Daffodil weekend and my stay was great. The location is perfect, hotel is beautiful, staff is extremely welcoming, rooms and especially beds are fantastic and continental breakfast was a nice surprise! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Paul L - glad you enjoyed Daffodil weekend and your stay at the Jared Coffin House. I also appreciate your kind commments and hope you return to the island and the Jared Coffin House soon. Regards, Jim Storey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at Jared Coffin. Every time we come it just gets better. I am now sitting in my 4th floor room w/10' ceilings looking out the window at the rooftops and have also have a harbor view...enchanting. The living room is lovely...so easy to meet people and have a cocktail. I realize that all rooms are different sizes but ours is quite large w/a flat screen, large bureau and 2 chairs. Very comfortable queen size bed. 2 large windows w/wooden shutters. the only thing missing is an elevator! The location of the building could not be better...right in town; walk to everything! Would definitely stay again...also walk to ferry. Front desk is very helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks harbor...great views and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Sally R. - thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on a return visit. Regards, Jim Storey - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I booked three nights at the Jared Coffin House to get some much needed r&r during my final trimester of pregnancy. Unfortunately they stuck us in a room right behind the reception area and literally every time anyone had a conversation or walked in the door we could hear it. The noise from other guests was also pretty insane. It was like there were elephants upstairs which made it impossible to sleep past 7a and we could hear everyone's coughing, showers, flushes, and conversations. If you plan to stay here, pack earplugs and a white noise machine.

Room Tip: Don't stay downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Gerda P - Thank you for providing this feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry you were disturbed by noise and I wish we knew you were. This time of year we operate out of the Daniel Webster building and the main Jared Coffin house building will re-open next week for the 2013 season. Again, I appologize for the inconveniences you incurred and thank you for letting us know. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in the Daniel Webster section for a couple of nights recently. Room was eh. Very middle-brow 80s NE inn decor. As has been noted the walls are thin, and we had quite a coughing cantata next door. The breakfast arrangement is subpar: too many people squeezed into a weird dining room with processed cereals and a k-cup machine. Maybe the main house is nicer? The staff was helpful and kind, but couldn't offset the aforementioned issues. Perhaps the management should have a retreat and consider the next chapter for this property in terms of decor and amenities. They could probably double the rates. It's a dynamite location and a very historic place.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Flying Owl - thank you for the feedback regard your stay at the Daniel Webster House. Well I have great news for you - we just installed new furniture in the Daniel Webster House and the Jared Coffin House main building and it looks great! The Jared Coffin House main building has been closed for the winter but we re-open on April 4th and we very excited for upcoming season with all the improvements we accomplished over the winter. Hope you consider us should you visit Nantucket again. Jim Storey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Wanted to stay here as a Coffin descendent but were almost scarred off by the price. We were able to get a room for not much more than a motel. There seems to quite a price range among rooms. Mid week in off season helped I'm sure. We had a front nice corner in the main part. Staff was top rate from the bellman to the inn keeper. It was nice to be called by name and they were very helpful. Very convenient location. We were traveling light and rolled our bags up from the morning ferry. They checked us in and stored our bags until the room was ready and called our cell phone. We loved the décor in the room as well as the common area. Breakfast is more like a tea. If you need more there is a very good bakery close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear GGDesMoines - thank you for staying with us and I am certainly glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff, we truly take pride in the service levels we provide. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Property: Jared Coffin House
Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing