We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is an upgrade?”
Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“this is an upgrade?”
Reviewed 8 August 2005

The "deluxe" accommodations in the Harrison Grey House at the Jared Coffin property were sadly disappointing. We stayed in a queen deluxe room, where the wallpaper was stained and faded, the bathroom creaky and tiny, there was a noisy service area in the basement underneath our room where housekeeping and handymen kept up loud conversations all morning; all contibuted to a feeling of being led to believe something other than what we had read online. The "sumptuous breakfast", although nice, was merely some strawberries and muffins; no juice, yogurt, or cereals. (calling it a "continental breakfast" might have been more appropriate). The bath surround was cheap fiberglass, the toilet needed to be flushed many times to empty it, the door to the bathroom could not be opened completely without hitting the toilet, the sink was behind the door and next to the heating unit, and there was zero counter space. We kept our toiletries in the room on the mantel and brought them into the bath when we needed them. The bed and linens were nice, and the room was indeed spacious, but there was absolutely nothing on the walls other than the faded wallpaper and a map of Nantucket. We never ate at the restaurant although it looked nice, but the Tap Room was quite musty and dark. ("Historic"!) The location was excellent, however, for walking into town and dining or shopping. The lobby and public areas in the Jared Coffin House were quite lovely and well-kept, and the staff were friendly, but the hotel was full or we would have requested another room, perhaps in the Jared Coffin House itself. I'd save my money if you're looking for "deluxe" at the Harrison Grey House, which advertised "upgraded amenities". Next time we'll spend a little more for the White Elephant!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sanfrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    86
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
31
135
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 January 2005

I've stayed at the "JC House" twice, but it's been 6 or 7 years ago. If it gets any better than this, I don't want to know about it. Shabby is being comfortable in its own skin (or bricks) -- Nantucket is not a pretentious place. The food in the two restaurants was outstanding, and the location perfect. As soon as I save enough pennies, I'll be back there!

  • Stayed October 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2004

Found the place to be stuffy and tired as if it were resting on past laurels. Not worthy of its reputation. Put a nail in this coffin.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2003

My new husband and I stayed at the Jared Coffin House for our Honeymoon at the beginning of November. We stayed in the Harrison Gray building and found the accommodations to be outstanding. Our room was large and included a sitting room, an enclosed patio and a bathroom. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was exemplary. The service staff at the restaurant and the inn were friendly and personable, remembering our names and that we were honeymooning. The inn is located in town but on the outskirts, away from the most crowded spots. We highly recommend the Jared Coffin House to anyone visiting Nantucket!

Helpful?
7 Thank michelle44312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 September 2003

The Jared Coffin offers a wonderful location, but suffers from rooms with tired/shabby decor, unattractive bathrooms, mediocre quality bed linens, and squeaky beds. There are several new inns that have opened in the last year that address the concerns raised above and which would have been a far better choice for us (in this price range $290-$320/night). Also note that, even though this is often billed as a "bed and breakfast," breakfast is not included in the room rate.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
438 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Property: Jared Coffin House
Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing