We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time is a charm”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Third time is a charm”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was my third visit to Nantucket and my third stay at the Martin House Inn. It's a lovely property, very well maintained and a five minute walk from Main Street. Skye is an excellent hostess who loves her work. All the rooms are different and have their own charms. Their sister property is Cliff Lodge, so if Martin House is full, call them. Martin House is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    49
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
115
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My first visit to Nantucket was fantastic! The whole experience was just what I thought it would be, especially the Martin House Inn. The caretaker, Skye, was enthusiastic from the initial booking through our departure. You can tell she's proud of her property. The house was very authentic for the early 1800's and very well maintained. It is an easy walk to the main shopping and dining. I'll stay there on my next trip to Nantucket!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Call for information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgeFan1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is a beautiful house with wonderful rooms and a delightful host. The breakfast is delicious and there are always home-baked goods in the afternoon so that the whole house smells delicious. Skye's openness and friendliness is reflected throughout the house so that everybody feels at ease. One doesn't even need the beauty of Nantucket to appreciate what a wonderful B&B this is!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The rooms were comfortable, luxurious and very clean!!! The staff was fantastic. ask for the massage with Sari! Would stay there again and again (and have!!!!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pass0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEASANTVILLE, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We arrived in Nantucket one gorgeous Friday afternoon in late May and were greeted warmly be the innkeeper, Skye. After a stroll around town, we settled on her beautiful, wraparound veranda for a glass and to enjoy the lovely light, trees and birdsong that surrounded us. When was the last time you went to a bed and breakfast--or hotel, for that matter--and were treated to a big cheese platter and two choices of local wine? This was just part of Skye's repertoire (chocolate-covered strawberries and cupcakes appeared another evening) in her lovely inn. In addition to the uniquely large and comfortable porch, there is a classic dining room in which Skye serves a scrumptious breakfast of home-baked goods, fresh fruit, yogurt, and fresh Portuguese bread from the island, parlor, and widow's walk on top with a great view. We had chosen one of her smaller bedrooms, which was comfortable and also decorated with the period pieces and art that Skye has throughout the inn. Only the bed was a tad softer than what I am used to (read: lower lumbar issues). Skye's exuberance, the quaintness and spaciousness of the inn, its affordability, location, and charm, all make the Martin House Inn a winner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a fantastic trip to Nantucket because of the Martin House! It was really convenient to beaches, shopping, Town, and restaurants...we did not bring a car to the Island and were able to walk everywhere. Staff was amazingly helpful and friendly, and breakfast each morning was great. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhem111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Very enjoyable. Everything was great, food, friendly inn keeper and staff. House Is well kept with a lot of different rooms to choose from. The location is perfect, you can walk to everything including restaurants, shopping and beaches.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#8 of 38 in Nantucket
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#4 of 38 in Nantucket
479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous homemade granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is just a short walk from all the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing