We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and calming”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had a very relaxing stay and felt very welcome in this idyllic inn. Skye called me while I was driving, just to check that I was coming late in the evening so that she would wait up. (I had implied weeks earlier that although I had paid for the night, I wasn't certain that I was coming before the next day).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigco1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great two-day stay for a girls' get-a-way. All the previous comments about proximity to the ferry and restaurants are true. It takes a certain personality to be successful as an innkeeper and Skye has it--showing great patience in answering the same questions numerous times, making all visitors feel welcome, and baking up a storm. Her recommendations on walks, activities, and restaurants were spot on, especially about the sandwich shop down the lane by the blue mailbox! Wine and cheese was served on Friday eve & a trip to the widow's walk for the view is worth it. We had a special deal in pricing, which made the cost more reasonable, and we would definitely return. Aside: It was a real treat to be on Nantucket during daffodil season and before the summer crowds.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd Fl. was extremely small (don't recall the #) and we had to keep our small su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzu1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed @ the Martin House Inn for a few days toward the end of April. We took a morning ferry from Hyannis, arriving in Nantucket around 11:15am. Friends met us to take our luggage, while my friend & I rode our bikes to the inn. The Martin House is in an ideal location, just a short walk or bike ride from both ferries or from the Main St. area with all its quaint shops & restaurants. Although we arrived well-ahead of the usual check-in time, we were warmly welcomed by our innkeeper, Skye, who told us that our room was all ready for us. She led us upstairs to Room 21 with its beautiful queen-sized canopy bed. It was a cool, breezy day, and the fireplace was equipped with a Duraflame log that we lit later that evening. We had our own private porch with a nice wicker furniture set. The bathroom was large & well-lit. We had our own little refrigerator, & the room came equipped with wineglasses & a corkscrew. Skye showed us the staircase to the widow's walk on the rooftop, where we ended up spending some time on Friday with a few other guest enjoying the panoramic views of the harbor & village. Skye was full of suggestions for us, from restaurant recommendations to biking destinations. Thanks to her, we had a wonderful 3-day stay. Unbeknownst to me, my friend had been in constant contact with Skye, prior to our arrival, to set up the perfect surroundings for his marriage proposal. Although my friend continued to change the details about the actual proposal, Skye was up to the adventure. Need a violinist @ the restaurant? Skye could find you one! Need a message in a bottle buried @ the beach? Skye would do it! Want the most beautiful arrangement of roses waiting in your room when you got back from dinner? Skye would make a trip to the florist to pick them up for you! Not only that, but there would also be a bottle of Nantucket Winery Merlot and Skye's hand-dipped chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for you! She hosted a wonderful wine & cheese reception on Friday evening. Although it was supposed to last only an hour, all the guests were enjoying themselves so much, that we were there 'til after 8pm. We had a perfect visit to Nantucket & a wonderful stay @ the Martin House Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21, but all the rooms were very attractive, most with canopy beds and working fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The innkeeper Skye knows everything about the area. She is very useful in giving ideas of what to see, where to go and how to get there. Everything Skye served was great! All the other guests were a lot of fun. My wife already wants to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Martin House Inn is the perfect quintessential B&B on Nantucket. It's in a great location to downtown restaurants and shops. The breakfast with it's homemade scones and coffee cakes are to die for. The innkeeper Skye is just a wealth of information and has a true pulse to everything going on.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubySlippers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The owner and Innkeeper go over and beyond to make you feel like a queen. Anything Skye bakes is other worldly...so indulge while you are there! Tiki, Skye's beloved dog, is the cherry on top-making the visit feel like home. :)
Be sure have a massage there too..heavenly!
Thank you Lisa and staff!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyMckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for two nights during the off season. The inn was convenient, comfortable and cute. Skye and Tiki were great---so welcoming and helpful. The only negative was the very creaky bed. The bathroom is small. The bed was very comfortable. Skye really went above and beyond, making dinner reservations for us and even offering rides. She knew the island well and was able to point us in the right direction. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAG617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
456 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Address: 61 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £89 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martin House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and its spacious roof walk featuring panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is a short walk from the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet, in-room hotel safes; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing