We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn and Innkeeper!”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great Inn and Innkeeper!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed at the Inn a few times and absolutely love the sense of humor and great service offered by the Innkeeper, Skye. She is quite the baker too! Wow, try the scones. I have also found the rates to be very reasonable in the summer compared to other Nantucket B&Bs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan_Boston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    47
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
110
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Martin House was an excellent inn for a getaway. Perfect location, clean comfortable rooms, and a superb innkeeper. Skye was very personable, informative and patient in answering all our questions and her baking was an added bonus. We will definitely return.
My only recommendation would be a tv in the rooms.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my second visit to the Martin House and it hasn't changed a bit in two years - still the welcoming, comfortable place I remembered. Skye is a wonderful innkeeper who goes out of her way to make everyone's stay the vacation they wished for. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The two single rooms at the top of the house are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had a very relaxing stay and felt very welcome in this idyllic inn. Skye called me while I was driving, just to check that I was coming late in the evening so that she would wait up. (I had implied weeks earlier that although I had paid for the night, I wasn't certain that I was coming before the next day).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigco1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great two-day stay for a girls' get-a-way. All the previous comments about proximity to the ferry and restaurants are true. It takes a certain personality to be successful as an innkeeper and Skye has it--showing great patience in answering the same questions numerous times, making all visitors feel welcome, and baking up a storm. Her recommendations on walks, activities, and restaurants were spot on, especially about the sandwich shop down the lane by the blue mailbox! Wine and cheese was served on Friday eve & a trip to the widow's walk for the view is worth it. We had a special deal in pricing, which made the cost more reasonable, and we would definitely return. Aside: It was a real treat to be on Nantucket during daffodil season and before the summer crowds.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd Fl. was extremely small (don't recall the #) and we had to keep our small su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzu1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed @ the Martin House Inn for a few days toward the end of April. We took a morning ferry from Hyannis, arriving in Nantucket around 11:15am. Friends met us to take our luggage, while my friend & I rode our bikes to the inn. The Martin House is in an ideal location, just a short walk or bike ride from both ferries or from the Main St. area with all its quaint shops & restaurants. Although we arrived well-ahead of the usual check-in time, we were warmly welcomed by our innkeeper, Skye, who told us that our room was all ready for us. She led us upstairs to Room 21 with its beautiful queen-sized canopy bed. It was a cool, breezy day, and the fireplace was equipped with a Duraflame log that we lit later that evening. We had our own private porch with a nice wicker furniture set. The bathroom was large & well-lit. We had our own little refrigerator, & the room came equipped with wineglasses & a corkscrew. Skye showed us the staircase to the widow's walk on the rooftop, where we ended up spending some time on Friday with a few other guest enjoying the panoramic views of the harbor & village. Skye was full of suggestions for us, from restaurant recommendations to biking destinations. Thanks to her, we had a wonderful 3-day stay. Unbeknownst to me, my friend had been in constant contact with Skye, prior to our arrival, to set up the perfect surroundings for his marriage proposal. Although my friend continued to change the details about the actual proposal, Skye was up to the adventure. Need a violinist @ the restaurant? Skye could find you one! Need a message in a bottle buried @ the beach? Skye would do it! Want the most beautiful arrangement of roses waiting in your room when you got back from dinner? Skye would make a trip to the florist to pick them up for you! Not only that, but there would also be a bottle of Nantucket Winery Merlot and Skye's hand-dipped chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for you! She hosted a wonderful wine & cheese reception on Friday evening. Although it was supposed to last only an hour, all the guests were enjoying themselves so much, that we were there 'til after 8pm. We had a perfect visit to Nantucket & a wonderful stay @ the Martin House Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21, but all the rooms were very attractive, most with canopy beds and working fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The innkeeper Skye knows everything about the area. She is very useful in giving ideas of what to see, where to go and how to get there. Everything Skye served was great! All the other guests were a lot of fun. My wife already wants to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#8 of 38 in Nantucket
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous homemade granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is just a short walk from all the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing