We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price, I do not recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sherburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherburne Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Not worth the price, I do not recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We booked a room for a week-end in July 2011 at the last minute (3 days before leaving). There was only one room left which was the most expensive one (room 8). Unfortunately, our flight to Nantucket was cancelled because of weather condition (as it happens very often) and we had to fly the following day. Sherburne Inn refused to refund us the night (or even a part of the night). We insisted and they finaly offered a 15$ voucher for a sandwich !
Overall, the place is very clean and in a good location. But it is very expensive for the level of service provided and disappointing. The room was unexpectedly small and breakfast was very light. They had told us they were providing umbrellas for the beach but when we arrived they did not have any left. It looks like they are really saving on everything !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
I do remember phone conversations with both the husband and wife regarding details and policies at our inn prior to taking this last minute reservation. I explained the standard Nantucket lodging cancellation policies and emphasized that this booking was outside the cancellation window of 14 days. It thus would be a prepaid non-refundable reservation for the weekend. All seemed to be in agreement.
When I received the call in the early evening that our guests’ flight was cancelled and they were not arriving as planned, I was disappointed as well and offered them an additional night extension to their reservation at no charge. They declined and asked for a refund. I suggested they speak to the airline to see what they could do for them, as our policies could not accommodate their request. Certainly this is an ideal situation for trip insurance something we are finding very valuable with airplane travel anywhere these days.
We are having a wonderful season at the Sherburne Inn - it's just about a sell out!
As onsite owners, it is a joy for us and our staff to see so many of our guests from all over the world enjoy our island. Nantucket's top rated beaches, outstanding fine dining, miles of bike trails, unique shopping, and world renown museums and art galleries make for a very special vacation - a superb value to thousands and well worth the travel challenges that can sometimes occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    30
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
168
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our second visit to the Sherburne Inn. The location, friendliness, accoutrements and comforts are top notch. Breakfast could be more substantial, but then again I'm a big eater! Price on Nantucket can be an issue, but the value here is as good as it gets anywhere we've seen on the Island. We came out for the Daffodil Days; the flowers and trees were all in bloom, and we enjoyed great weather. Be sure to check out Sayles Seafood and the Sea Grille for excellent dinners and service, and Cisco Brewers for great libations.

Room Tip: Room # 8 - it's in the back, upstairs, porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhnykamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We recently stayed overnight at the Sherburne Inn and wished that we could have stayed longer! The room (#5) was cozy and romantic and the sheets were as soft as silk! Susan was so helpful with restaurant suggestions and pointed us in the right direction to rent a moped (a fun way to see the island!). Loved the brownies in the evening and, especially, the breakfast basket at our door in the morning. Being late sleepers, it was nice to not have to rush to make any assigned breakfast hours (the norm at most B&Bs). The Aveda products in the bathroom were a nice bonus. Will definitely stay at the Sherburne Inn on our next visit to Nantucket! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCmtns_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zdanielle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

The Sherburne Inn is quite delightful, nicely decorated and comfortable. Susan and John made us feel right at home. Susan provided cookies and sherry every evening and a delicious breakfast with fruit, yogurt and pastry every morning. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the ferry, and it's close to all the shops and restaurants but not right on the main streets of town, so it's quiet and restful. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

My wife and I went for a last minute trip before things got too busy in Nantucket, cant say enough about the friendly warm welcome we got from this Inn. Short walk to the center of town and located on a nice quiet side street. The breakfast that was laid out for us in a basket at our door hit the spot perfectly. We enjoyed our stay and would look to stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

This quaint bed and breakfast was the perfect place for us. It was tucked away down a residential street within 5 minutes to everything (walking distance). The owner, Susan was so friendly and helpful. We felt as though we lived there our whole lives. We had room #7 which was the smallest and least expensive room. It had it's own bathroom that was very small but manageable. We managed to peek into some of the other rooms and they were much bigger. I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We recently had the great pleasure of staying at the Sherburne Inn. We loved it and would recommend it highly to anyone who is visiting Nantucket. The Inn is absolutely charming. It is well located and immaclulate. We loved our room. The owner could not have been nicer and we so enjoyed our Continental breakfast and the wonderful coffee that was served. Sherry and cookies/brownies were served in the late afternoon. If you want a great place to stay, stay at the Sherburne Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroveCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherburne Inn

Property: Sherburne Inn
Address: 10 Gay Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic Inn, offering 8 spacious rooms with king or queen 4 poster beds, private baths and garden views. Each room includes luxury linens and amenities, central AC, free Wifi, extensive continental breakfast daily, nightly wine tastings and full concierge. Conveniently located on a quiet street, just one block from the shops and restaurants. Easy walk from either ferry. Experience the true essence of Nantucket and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sherburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherburne Inn, Nantucket Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing