We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherburne Inn
Nearby Hotels
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
76 Main(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Veranda House Hotel Collection(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Union Street Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jared Coffin House(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Wauwinet(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$251
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nantucket Hotel & Resort(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
235
34
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
34
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast basketquiet streetyogurteach morningin townb bwine and cheesefruit infused watermeet other guestsshort walkbed was very comfortableceiling fanfirst floorbeach towels and chairsqueen roomwhaling museumrestaurant reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We booked a room for a week-end in July 2011 at the last minute (3 days before leaving). There was only one room left which was the most expensive one (room 8). Unfortunately, our flight to Nantucket was cancelled because of weather condition (as it happens very often) and we had to fly the following day. Sherburne Inn refused to refund us the night (or even a part of the night). We insisted and they finaly offered a 15$ voucher for a sandwich !
Overall, the place is very clean and in a good location. But it is very expensive for the level of service provided and disappointing. The room was unexpectedly small and breakfast was very light. They had told us they were providing umbrellas for the beach but when we arrived they did not have any left. It looks like they are really saving on everything !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2011

I do remember phone conversations with both the husband and wife regarding details and policies at our inn prior to taking this last minute reservation. I explained the standard Nantucket lodging cancellation policies and emphasized that this booking was outside the cancellation window of 14 days. It thus would be a prepaid non-refundable reservation for the weekend. All seemed to be in agreement.
When I received the call in the early evening that our guests’ flight was cancelled and they were not arriving as planned, I was disappointed as well and offered them an additional night extension to their reservation at no charge. They declined and asked for a refund. I suggested they speak to the airline to see what they could do for them, as our policies could not accommodate their request. Certainly this is an ideal situation for trip insurance something we are finding very valuable with airplane travel anywhere these days.
We are having a wonderful season at the Sherburne Inn - it's just about a sell out!
As onsite owners, it is a joy for us and our staff to see so many of our guests from all over the world enjoy our island. Nantucket's top rated beaches, outstanding fine dining, miles of bike trails, unique shopping, and world renown museums and art galleries make for a very special vacation - a superb value to thousands and well worth the travel challenges that can sometimes occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our second visit to the Sherburne Inn. The location, friendliness, accoutrements and comforts are top notch. Breakfast could be more substantial, but then again I'm a big eater! Price on Nantucket can be an issue, but the value here is as good as it gets anywhere we've seen on the Island. We came out for the Daffodil Days; the flowers and trees were all in bloom, and we enjoyed great weather. Be sure to check out Sayles Seafood and the Sea Grille for excellent dinners and service, and Cisco Brewers for great libations.

Room Tip: Room # 8 - it's in the back, upstairs, porch
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhnykamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We recently stayed overnight at the Sherburne Inn and wished that we could have stayed longer! The room (#5) was cozy and romantic and the sheets were as soft as silk! Susan was so helpful with restaurant suggestions and pointed us in the right direction to rent a moped (a fun way to see the island!). Loved the brownies in the evening and, especially, the breakfast basket at our door in the morning. Being late sleepers, it was nice to not have to rush to make any assigned breakfast hours (the norm at most B&Bs). The Aveda products in the bathroom were a nice bonus. Will definitely stay at the Sherburne Inn on our next visit to Nantucket! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCmtns_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The Sherburne Inn is quite delightful, nicely decorated and comfortable. Susan and John made us feel right at home. Susan provided cookies and sherry every evening and a delicious breakfast with fruit, yogurt and pastry every morning. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the ferry, and it's close to all the shops and restaurants but not right on the main streets of town, so it's quiet and restful. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zdanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My wife and I went for a last minute trip before things got too busy in Nantucket, cant say enough about the friendly warm welcome we got from this Inn. Short walk to the center of town and located on a nice quiet side street. The breakfast that was laid out for us in a basket at our door hit the spot perfectly. We enjoyed our stay and would look to stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews