We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn”
Review of Sherburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherburne Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a very nicely maintained Inn which is a short walk to the center of town. We stayed in room 7 which is described as very small on the website. They were telling the truth, the room is very small as they described but we expected that. The Inn is very clean. We only met one staff member, Pauline, who is very nice and works nonstop to attend to the needs of the guests. The breakfast basket is very cute and dropped off outside the door without disruption. They stored our luggage for us after checkout until we had to leave for the airport. We had a lovely, private stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

Very nice place and great service. Met all of our expectations. Will be back again for sure.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your short 'n sweet review of our Inn. It is just right.
We are currently preparing our young and eager staff, our 8 charming guest rooms, and our tree-shaded lawn and gardens for the very busy summer season that begins mid-June. Nantucket literally blossoms in every way possible. So much so that the Island has been named "#1 Best Island in the World" by National Geographic! Perhaps you'll come back to visit us in the summer when Nantucket is in it's full glory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Open year round even though the Visitor Services literature does not say so. Even has a parlor with a working fireplace. Nice Federal-vintage town house, perfectly restored and full of serious antiques and art.
As an ultra-offseason winter tourist more interested in the natural landscape, all this niceness was a tad wasted on me, but it was admittedly fine to be pampered coming home to such high-end accomodations after a long day out in cold wind and drizzle.
A great central but quiet location, easy walk to/from both ferry piers and a good start/finish point for walking or running loops in all directions that include multiple historic, architectural, craft, and landscape features and tourist conveniences.
Not the cheapest but still in the ballpark, and an unexpectedly fine place.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have been wrong before, but usually I can tell in a phone call what sort of experience I can expect at a hotel or B&B, and the Sherburne Inn was no exception. From our first contact to make a reservation, my partner and I had a pretty good idea that we would find friendliness and genuine hospitality there, and we did. The owner, Susan, was not there when we arrived, which usually is a bad sign, but not this time. We walked into the beautiful old house to find classical music playing, and tea and cookies set out. It was as if the house wrapped itself around us and said, "Come on in!" We placed a call on the house phone, and Susan promptly answered, explaining that she was a bit delayed but would be there in 20 minutes. She told us to go on into our room and make ourselves at home.

We stayed in Room Two, which, though small, was ultra clean and comfortable. The bed was like sleeping in a cloud and contained the kind of high-quality sheets and comforter that always make us wonder why we don't buy them for our bed at home! The inn is situated in a quiet area just a short walk from the ferry docks, and an equally short walk to the center of town. We had never been to Nantucket before, and although December is obviously a very quiet time, we have to say it felt magical there, with the town fully decorated for Christmas.

Our stay was unfortunately only for one night, but Susan provided helpful tips on how to make the most of it. Because it was the off-season, the breakfast baskets were not provided, so we can't comment on those, but we imagine, based on everything else during our stay, that they are a nice touch. It's clear that Susan enjoys sharing a very special place with others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Two exhausted travellers, after a gruelling 10 days in Boston and New York, arrived travelworn and wilted: the greeting and welcome was perfect balm. Our room was extremely light, and impeccably clean (and remained in this condition for our three days), and Sue (our host) could not have been more helpful, informative, and caring. Although being low season, and no breakfast was available, Nantucket offers many different breakfast possibilities all within less than 5 minutes reach from Sherburne so this was not a problem.
There was a sun-deck, and we were lucky enough to have sunshine! so we enjoyed our complimentary afternoon tea, with a book, in the sunshine. And by the way, Sue's cookies are absolutely exceptional! Normally, my husband and I don't indulge, but this was one temptation we could not resist.
Of needs, I travelled without my PC, and Sue was kind enough to check us in for our retun flight to the UK and print the boarding passes too.
And Sherburne is an easy walk to everywhere, and everything - including the wonderful restaurant DUNE which boasts a quieter space upstairs too.
Our stay was everything I had hoped it would be and much more. We'll definitely visit again.
Nel and Kevin Coates

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We are *very* happy with our choice of a B&B for our visit to Nantucket this October. We waited until the last minute to book to make sure the weather would be good. We pick Sherburne for the good Tripadvisor reviews and the 25% discount they were offering during their quiet season. Nantucket doesn't allow B&Bs to provide cooked breakfasts (eggs, etc.) so we were happy to forgo the breakfast basket and use the savings to hit some of the fantastic restaurants in Nantucket. The room (named "Romantic") was a queen on the second floor. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was small, very clean and had lots of hot water. There was a common room outside our room which was comfortable and might be nice if you were traveling with a group. They have a reasonable selection of DVDs, wireless internet, etc. The Inn is located a block from Centre street and is only a 5-10 minute walk from everything. Very quiet at night. Coffee/tea in the morning and afternoon - along with yummy cookies. Susan, the owner, is friendly, has good suggestions for trips about the island, restaurants, bike rentals, etc.

Nantucket is quiet in late October - many of the restaurants are closed, but there are a lot still open and, if the weather is good, lots of things to do (we mainly biked along the miles of trails).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Sherburne Inn was a cute place that was close enough to the dock so that we walked with rolling luggage, but far enough from the shoppers and dock traffic to be very quiet. Queen bed was really comfortable, and the atmosphere and decor was splendid. Music in the public areas was relaxing and beautiful. The Jamaican maid, Kellee, was a pleasure to talk to, and hopefully will be back next summer. The owner, Susan, was very pleasant and helpful.

We went for one of the less expensive rooms (#3), and it was really small. The bathroom seemed to be a converted closet; there was only room enough to stand. Your feet were in the same spot of the floor whether you were using the toilet, using the sink, or stepping into the shower. Sitting on the toilet, your knees were under the tiny sink. The shower would not have accommodated a heavyset person.

Another disappointment was that the continental breakfasts ended the weekend before we got there. This was unclear on the website, as we thought we would get some refreshment from the hotel, although we knew that it would be light.

Having said all this, I would stay there again, but might try a different room.

The highlight of our stay was renting mopeds and riding around the island. What a blast! A double was $100, and was worth every cent. Once we got out onto the roads, we realized that had were rented bicycles instead, we would not have seen nearly as much of the island as we were able to see on mopeds (too long a ride for a bike to go to both ends of the island).

We took a bus tour the following day (Barrets), and it was a real letdown! The female driver (she said that she was born on the island), read her script from a book while she was driving. She did not know what some of the abbreviations she was reading meant, and said, "something, something, whatever." She was also vague about what we were seeing -- should we look right or left out of the bus? I did not find some of the points of interest she was speaking about. We had purchased these tour tickets from the Steamship Ferry ticket counter (fast boat) in Hyannis, because they were discounted from $25 to $20 if were bought them on the mainland. This was a mistake, and I would recommend that you pass this offer up. There was another bus tour service on the island, and it may have been better; I have no information on that.

Nantucket half closes down after Columbus Day. We were there the day after Columbus day, and many restaurants had closed for the season. That was a disappointment. Consider this in your travel date planning.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floor hear the plumbing from the upper floor rooms (i.e. when they flush the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherburne Inn

Address: 10 Gay St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £147 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic Inn, offering 8 spacious rooms with king or queen 4 poster beds, private baths and garden views. Each room includes luxury linens and amenities, central AC, free Wifi, extensive continental breakfast daily, nightly wine tastings and full concierge. Conveniently located on a quiet street, just one block from the shops and restaurants. Easy walk from either ferry. Experience the true essence of Nantucket and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sherburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherburne Inn, Nantucket Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing