We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, but overpriced”
Review of Sherburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherburne Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but overpriced”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

At $400 per night, this inn's rate rivals some of the top end resorts in downtown Nantucket. While the location is great and the owner/employees are super nice, it's an old house with very thin walls (= no privacy). I spent a week here with my girlfriend, and we felt like we had to tiptoe around. Pretty sure other guests could even hear us talking in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldiviant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
At first this was a perplexing review of our Inn as we receive so many compliments on the quiet, peaceful location of our in-town Historic property.
Perhaps this guest was expecting a very different experience than can be found in a boutique B&B built in 1835.
We have tried to be extremely informative on our website in describing and photographing each of our unique guest rooms including providing a floor plan with square footage!
Our guests appreciate that young guests must be at least 12 yrs old, and that we do not accommodate pets. This helps to make our Inn quiet and comfortable.
Considerate guests are always welcomed and appreciated, however we are sorry if this was uncomfortable for you. We wish you had told us your concern while you were here, as we would have suggested several methods to make your room feel more private, like turning on the window AC unit to supplement the central AC system and create a background white noise.
Perhaps one of the three high-end Nantucket resorts hotels would be more to your liking next time you visit the Island. Unfortunately you will find that these hotel room rates are almost double our B&B room rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    30
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
170
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We returned to Nantucket to celebrate 50 years of marriage and could not have chosen a better place to stay. Love the Sherburne Inn and all the staff. Susan, the owner, is so friendly and helpful along with the rest of the staff. The complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered cranberries the day of our anniversary was such a surprise and so special. The presentation made it even more special. Can't say enough good things about the room and the inn - cleanliness, comfortable bed, breakfast basket delivered to our room each morning, snacks and ice tea in the afternoon, sherry and homemade cookies in the evening. How wonderful!!
We especially loved our room with the porch. Sitting on the porch sipping coffee and eating the delightful "goodies" in the breakfast basket each morning was a special treat. If and when we return to Nantucket we will definitely stay at the Sherburne Inn.
Bev and Bill Duncan

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms but love the room with the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I returned to Nantucket after being away for several years. We've always stayed at Sherburne Inn, albeit with the previous owners. Coming back was fantastic. The inn has changed slightly, but in a positive way. Our room was extremely comfortable and super clean. Our bed was very comfortable and it took only minutes to nod off.
Sue (our innkeeper) was very friendly and helpful in storing laptops prioir to check in.
It's great to come back to a property which was always consistent and find it to be one step up from previous visits. Can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeP71688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We just returned from a week at the Sherburne Inn and cannot say enough nice things about the facility and staff. The location has to be the best on the island -- steps away from the center of town on a quiet side street, but just far enough away from the middle of the traffic and crowds. Every morning, we awoke to find a basket of fresh baked goods, fruit and juice at our door. We slept in most mornings and never heard a peep from the staff. We returned to the inn every evening to find fresh cookies and sherry, and a very quiet inn with various sitting rooms in which to sit and read quietly, or simply enjoy the beauty of the old, meticulously restored house. While some of the inns I have stayed in on Nantucket are a bit on the run-down side, the Sherburne is extremely clean and well-maintained. And yet, it is not "stuffy" like some of the other inns. It is definitely more expensive than other B&B's, but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for. (And it is actually much better priced than super-high-end lodgings on the island.) The staff, particularly the innkeeper Susan, are a pleasure -- if we had a question, they had the answer. If we needed anything at all -- from a restaurant recommendation to a taxi -- they were more than happy to oblige. We will not hesitate to book our room at the Sherburne on the next visit. They made what was a perfect week for my partner and me all the more perfect.

Room Tip: We did some snooping and discovered that the two rooms in the very back, on the upper floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend at Sherburne Inn and we loved it! It was very clean and comforting! The employees and owners were very nice and helpful. The basket with breakfast at our door each morning was a very nice touch! Plus, it is only a few steps from town and walking distance from the Steamship Authority ferry. Nantucket is an awesome place to visit and the Sherburne Inn is a great spot to stay and enjoy the island.

As for island restaurants, our favorite was a spot called Dune which is right down the street. It was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We tried the Lobster Shack one night for lobster and it was good also. Little more casual atmosphere, but the lobster was good! We tried the new spot CRU and did not think too much of it. The staff were not very knowledgeable and not too friendly. We tried the Jared Coffin House for dinner the last night and it was very good also. It was a new restaurant and we sat on the porch. Food was good and the waitress was very knowledgeable and friendly. The inside restaurant was not quite open, but it looked like it was going to be a pretty cool spot!

Then after dinner, you have to try The Juice Bar for home made ice cream!!

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, I think it was 103. I got a chance to view a couple of the rooms befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosotn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After 30 years of living in New England we finally made it to Nanatucket. And fortuantely we made our reservation at the Sherburne Inn. The inn was very helpful at reservations and other ideas to make our stay more pleasant. The staff was wonderful, the room immaculate and the hospitality wonderful. We are goning back in October. After this stay we will definitely make Nantucket AND the Sherburne Inn a place to visit yearly.

Room Tip: The balconey room added outside space to an otherwisw beaurtiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A beautiful inn just a few blocks from the ferry set back on a quiet street within the quaint historic section of town. The staff are all gracious and welcoming. The rooms are immaculate. On those sultry days, one could return from their day out to a refreshing pitcher of iced lemon water and home-baked cookies. The morning breakfast basket (left at your door) was such a delightful treat to enjoy on the adirondack chairs in the garden. We can't wait to go back in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherburne Inn

Property: Sherburne Inn
Address: 10 Gay St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic Inn, offering 8 spacious rooms with king or queen 4 poster beds, private baths and garden views. Each room includes luxury linens and amenities, central AC, free Wifi, extensive continental breakfast daily, nightly wine tastings and full concierge. Conveniently located on a quiet street, just one block from the shops and restaurants. Easy walk from either ferry. Experience the true essence of Nantucket and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sherburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherburne Inn, Nantucket Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing