We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Nantucket stay”
Review of Sherburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherburne Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Nantucket stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at the Sherburne Inn for 3 nights and enjoyed our trip immensely. The Inn is located steps from all the Nantucket action, yet quiet and very romantic. Breakfast was always delicious and delivered to our door. We stayed in a large room at the back of the house on the first floor, I believe it was called Love at First Sight. It was very spacious with a great bathroom. I would highly recommend the Sherburne Inn to any couples visiting Nantucket.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akloese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    30
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
170
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VT
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was our first time at the Sherburne Inn and we had a wonderful time! It's clean, comfortable and well appointed. We loved the location as it is close to town, shops, beaches and restaurants. We had a great time biking both days on the nearby bike paths. Loved sitting out on the deck in the back. Had everything we needed and found the innkeepers very friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you Ted Y from VT for taking a few minutes to share your thoughts and impressions of your visit to Nantucket and your stay at the Sherburne Inn. It's reviews like yours that re-enforce the reasons why my husband and I got in to the business of owning/managing a B&B. Providing pleasing accommodations while visitors explore and enjoy our Island is our mission. It warms our hearts when we are successful. Hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have stayed several times at the Sherburne Inn out of season and have always enjoyed the peaceful location and ambience along with great attention to detail. We have been well cared for on each visit, with a comfortable, tasteful room and delicious "breakfast in a basket". The inn is close to restaurants, shops, and the ferries as well as beaches. The staff and management are welcoming and knowledgeable, and we would recommend the Sherburne without hesitation.

Room Tip: We have tried several and they have all been terrific - stairs to second floor could be challenging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This lovely inn is just off the town center and has delightful rooms furnished in a very quaint but comfortable manner. Breakfast is served in a picnic basket placed outside your door and is delicious. The Innkeeper and staff could not have been more helpful. I have recommended the Sherburne to friends and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed at the inn in May. It is so centrally located, so well kept and appointed, the staff and management make it all so welcoming but they are also so "not always in your face about how over-helpful they can be" that you immediately get into stride of enjoying them, their inn and Nantucket.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I have spent the last two Mother's Day weekends at the Sherburne Inn. Susan, the Innkeeper, is always very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are always very nice and spotless, the bed comfortable. The Inn is close to shopping, restaurants and other attractions that make Nantucket fun and unique. We always enjoy our stay and are planning the same weekend for next year at the Sherburne Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dennis,
It was truly a pleasure to seeing you and your wife return to the Sherburne Inn.
Your kind word words were greatly appreciated especially by our housekeeper who beams when she hears comments about the cleanliness of our guestrooms. "Spotless" is the ultimate praise for all her wonderful efforts.
We are so happy that you have made your reservation to return next year. We look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Sherburne Inn on May 9 for a one night stay. We arrived very early (9AM) and met the innkeeper Susan who was extremely pleasant and helpful during our stay. She allowed us to store our overnight bags and called us a taxi because we had a tee time scheduled across the island. After our round we came back to the inn and Susan showed us to our rooms. We each had a room on the second floor. We had rooms 5, 7 and 8. Room 8 was the largest and had a nice little porch off the back which overlooks the yard and a great place to relax with a cocktail. My other friend had room 5 which was a decent size room and I had Room 7 which is smaller than the other rooms. Susan warned us that some guests complain about the size of the bathroom in room 7. It is very tight, but I'm 5' 11" and 200 lbs and it suited me just fine. The inn is a short walk from the steamship terminal and is right outside of the downtown area where there are a lot of shops and restaurants. It's quiet though so you don't get a lot of noise. The inn provides you with a breakfast basket in the morning with juice, fresh fruit, yogurt and crumb cake which was perfect. Please note what time of year you go because there are a lot of seasonal businesses on the island and some are not open this early. Still, I prefer early season or after Labor Day for the Cape and Islands. It's not as busy and the weather is still beautiful. I would highly recommend staying at the Sherburne Inn and we look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the largest and has a small private deck located on the top fllor at the back of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to review our Inn. We appreciate your kind, thoughtful words. Most especially the straight forward impressions of the three guestrooms you and your travel companions had selected for your stay with us. From the largest to mid-size to the smallest - you experienced each. Your impressions will be very helpful to future Sherburne Inn guests when they make their guest room selection(s).
Hope you'll be back to enjoy for another ground of golf on our beautiful links courses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherburne Inn

Property: Sherburne Inn
Address: 10 Gay St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic Inn, offering 8 spacious rooms with king or queen 4 poster beds, private baths and garden views. Each room includes luxury linens and amenities, central AC, free Wifi, extensive continental breakfast daily, nightly wine tastings and full concierge. Conveniently located on a quiet street, just one block from the shops and restaurants. Easy walk from either ferry. Experience the true essence of Nantucket and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sherburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherburne Inn, Nantucket Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing