We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent High Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherburne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sherburne Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistent High Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I just completed our third annual one week visit to Nantucket at the Sherburne Inn, and all was wonderful, as in all previous visits. We love Room 4, which has an excellent shower and king bed, and is a few steps away from a little outdoor porch where we enjoyed each morning our delicious breakfast basket of juice, some fruit and a fresh baked surprise from Susan. I have been going to Nantucket for over thirty years, and The Sherburne is one of the best B&B's I have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1217george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you, George for your complimentary review of your stay at the Sherburne Inn. We are blessed with a small, hard-working staff who are eager to please. I have so enjoyed getting to know you and Sally over the three years you have been staying with us especially since we have common passions for golf, Nantucket traditions, and extended family gatherings. I'll look forward to your return, hopefully next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    30
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
168
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

In a sea of b&bs on the island, the Sherburne shines in all the ways Nantucket visitors would ever want. Every room is beautifully decorated (we've seen them all over five visits). Every bathroom is spotless. Every wall and all the trim looks like it had been done this morning. Susan, owner and definately conciege, will help you find and do anything on the island with her computer, and will make your dinner reservtions where you and she have agreed you'll have the meal you are looking for and with the atmosphere you want. Warm and inviting from the moment you walk in, the Sherburne is ideally located --actually perfectly located for all the shopping in town. We have yet to be woken at night by any sort of sound off the narrow street-- even from the room on the first floor located only a sidewalk's width from the pavement. Quiet as a church. Keep in mind b&bs on Nantucket are not allowed to serve breakfast, but Susan comes in under the stringent rule with a basket of breads and coffee hung on your door at eight sharp in the morning. However the popular Black Eye'd Susan breakfast haunt is about a 2-minute walk. The Sherburne is warmly heated in the winter and centrally air conditioned in the summer. So, come for the December Christmas Walk, as we did, or for the hottest days in August. And be prepared to grin like the cat that swallowed the canary.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house have more privacy, and one or two of these have views of the lovely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rchard PB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a native and year-round resident of Nantucket I am often asked where is the best hotel/inn to stay on the island. Not having had occasion to stay in hotels/inn on Nantucket I had not been able to offer an informed opinion. Happily that all changed a few weeks ago when my wife and I spent our wedding night at the Sherburne Inn.

The location is fantastic. Tucked away near the top of Academy Hill, just a block from the Brotherhood restaurant and the popular new Mersault wine bar, the inn really is in an ideal location. Walk to shopping, dining, museums or catch the shuttle to the beach from the bus stop in front of the Whaling Museum just two block away. Take it from a local - you can't beat the location for convenience or quietude!

The exterior of the inn is reminiscent of a bygone era of whaling and shipping prominence though I learned from an old business license hanging on the wall in the lobby that this building houses a silk factory. The interior is equally charming with many original details. The bedrooms (we stayed in two different different rooms during our two night stay as Susan offered a larger room when it became available) were both very comfortable and the linens were obviously of high quality.

When asked in the future where is the best hotel/inn on Nantucket I will happily (and knowledgeably) recommend Sherburne Inn. Exceptional value and a wonderful place to call home during your visit to our island.

- Stephen Maury

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It was truly our pleasure to have a small part in yours and Julia's very special wedding weekend. Thank you for your wonderful review of your discovery of the Sherburne Inn by a local Nantucketer. We are honored and look forward to being available to other Island neighbors who need accommodations for family and friends throughout the year. All best wishes to you both as you settle into our home together on Nantucket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just returned from a very relaxing time at The Sherburne Inn. King room was very comfortable, clean, and all you might hope it could be at a cozy Nantucket Inn. Breakfast delivered by Susan was delicious. I learned more than a couple lovely lessons of hospitality while there!
A short walk to downtown and the ferry. A very good choice. We would stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rb818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
It is a dream come true for an Innkeeper to have appreciative guests stay for a few days at their inn particularly those guests who notice the details and individual touches that the owners add. Such was the case for me when this reviewer and her husband came to stay at the Sherburne Inn. They were a joy to get to know, and I hope we'll see them again either here at the inn or perhaps in the neighborhood! Thank you for taking a few minutes to write a review of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

While reviewing my previous contributions, I noticed my review of Sherburne Inn (July 20th 2012)was not quite what I wrote. Overall the message is in line with my original review, however, with some modifications. I am not sure how this can happen but I wanted to provide my actual review, which can be found on Yelp as well:

My wife and I have been staying at Sherburne Inn for quite some time. This is our first time back however, with a five year gap in time. The owners have changed and we've noticed some changes, small in nature, but all positive.

We arrived on the island before check in time and our luggage was secured until our room was ready.

Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bed is one in which sleep is only a few minutes away. We love the fact that there are no little ones running around, making noise as well. The bathroom is still a bit claustrophobic and the sink is only functional. Shower is superb.
WiFi is sketchy and difficult if one needs to communicate with business.

Continental breakfast is presented nicely in a picnic basket at our front door. Warm home baked goods with fruit compote, yogurt and juice are a perfect way to start the day.

We're glad to see that the inn has changed slightly but the overall experience is one which is always restful and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeP71688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our 5th year staying at the Sherburne Inn, a relaxed and comfortable B&B. The hospitality, service, location and setting are wonderful. We love how the Sherburne Inn staff have always helped with any questions and suggestions. Whether its about the shuttle bus, restaurants, entertainment, nature walks, etc. The shuttle bus is so convenient and easy it allows us to go most everywhere. We also enjoy exploring the island on foot and bicycle to visit the many museums, nature paths and pocket parks. For example, Hummock Pond, Madaket beach sunset, Steps Beach, the Sconset Bluff walk, Whaling Museum and the list goes on and on. We usually take in one of the Theatre Workshop of Nantucket plays which is Nantucket's longest running theatre company. They are most enjoyable. It’s hard to pick a favorite restaurant but Oran Mor, American Seasons and Company of the Cauldron are special as well as a Galley Beach dinner during a sunset. The Inn is our Nantucket home away from home!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anacapri412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Wow! This is a great view packed full of helpful information and tips from frequent visitors to Nantucket and the Sherburne Inn. I know this review will be of great interest to those planning their visit to our wonderful Island. Thank you so much for putting so much thought and efforts into your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were in Nantucket for a wedding and loved our experience at the Sherburne Inn. In addition to a great location (a 2 min walk away from the center of town, on a quiet street) and charming, comfortable rooms, this place gets all the little things right - the breakfast baskets left outside your door each morning (including from-scratch cinnamon buns and home-made granola), the cookies left out at night, the friendly, personal service from the owner and staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherburne Inn

Property: Sherburne Inn
Address: 10 Gay Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic Inn, offering 8 spacious rooms with king or queen 4 poster beds, private baths and garden views. Each room includes luxury linens and amenities, central AC, free Wifi, extensive continental breakfast daily, nightly wine tastings and full concierge. Conveniently located on a quiet street, just one block from the shops and restaurants. Easy walk from either ferry. Experience the true essence of Nantucket and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sherburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherburne Inn, Nantucket Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing