We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Finest Inn that Captures the Essence of Nantucket. Exemplary!”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Again. I will start by stating what I wrote last year. Stay Here! I could simply end the review there but I have much to share as I want many lovers of Nantucket to be able to experience our 'favorite few days of the year'...at the Brass Lantern..as well.. So that you have an idea of how my
opinion of this 'Magical Inn' has been formulated, you should know that I am a world traveler for work and pleasure who is a 'platinum...Schmatinum member of every loyalty plan'...and thus I travel very well from knowing General Managers at the Grand Hotels in Paris, Berlin and Madrid to Luxury Lodges in South Africa. In short...always having the luck of having the experience of a well-heeled world traveler. Voila! It is this cozy, warm inn that gives such a sense of well being.. thus sending me back into the world after each visit feeling as if I've been rejuvenated and
my body and mind at the most relaxed state of the year. That is why. There are few places that you are lucky enough to find as a traveller where everything comes together as if it was destined to create all aspects of a perfect stay... and I feel this is one of those places. So, what are some of these aspects?
The Owner Michelle, and the team she has carefully brought on are part of what makes you feel pampered at the Inn. You might sense yourself alone, reading, in the lovely garden when suddenly Sharon will appear and offer you some fresh scones and tea from the wonderful afternoon 'Tea and pastry' always set up in the newly stylish, renovated dining room. Perhaps you'll come down for breakfast a bit late and you will be dining on some of the delicious choices (Michelle has upgraded the breakfast buffet. Delicious) in the beautiful boutique dining room and suddenly Michelle will great you with a smile and ask you about your evening and what you thought of a certain restaurant and perhaps giving some insight into your choice for that evening. It is this balance of feeling that you are free to wander the Inn and feeling very comfortable to find a wine glass of your own choice or search for the gourmet teas to make a cup or suddenly...having one of the team
to help you when you are in need of some assistance. I think this is a major 'plus' for this Inn as I love to be pampered and yet, to be able to help myself to certain 'extra touches' of which the Inn
has plenty, in a style of casual Nantucket life. Michelle, a font of information, can always be found in the Kitchen during breakfast if you need advice or just want to chat or ask questions about the Inn or Nantucket.
The Inn is , of course, an antique and all has been done to preserve the authenticity with country antiques and lovely design all in quintessential nantucket style. The rooms vary in size (we have stayed in 3 different rooms) but that is part of the charm of staying in a true Nantucket home that was built in another century.By the way..they are sparkling spotless! We all love that.
Michelle manages to bring touches of 21 C luxe to all of the rooms with lovely
toiletries and bathrobes, beautiful luxe linens in the bathroom and also found on the most comfortable beds.. ever! Bottles of water appear everyday in your room. The small flat screen televisions are perfect for these rooms
and many accommodations have a half-fridge and each room has specific lovely touches all around the room. I'd call these rooms Nantucket-boutique luxe. Of course, it depends on how 'luxe' you want.. by which room you decide to take but....the same sense of comfort and cozy surroundings can be found in each room. I love 'Brandt Point' ,a large room at the top of the Inn with views of the harbor and a large bathroom with tons of shelves and windows everywhere you look. Magical. Sconset Rose is a beautiful large room that has many perks and might be the preferred room for many return guests. Taking breakfast in the garden is a wonderful, peaceful way to start a day of many offerings (beach, sailing, town...etc) on the Island and the large buffet with homemade scones, muffins along with bagels, granola, yogurt and cheese and fruit is much more generous than most of the Breakfast offerings at other Inns. You will love the entrance with the large winding staircase in a large room that leads into a stunning living room. What can I say? This is truly my special place. All the travails of life seem to melt away every year when I enter the front door. I guess it is hard to put into words which is why I have probably gone on way too long but....this hotel reminds me of the film 'Enchanted April'. If you take in all that is offered, you will enjoy a few days of wonderful transformation. Who could ask for more?

Room Tip: Sconset Rose and Brandt Point are very special rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Surely, we blush...Thank you, thank you for your abundant and wonderful compliments!

We hope that all our guests feel at least some of the enjoyment you expressed about your recent stay. Thank you, also, for mentioning our staff. Each of our people, Sharon, Emily, Andrew and Angie, work very hard to ensure our guests' enjoyment and are particularly pleased when their efforts are recognized is such a public way.

We look forward to your next stay and will try to find new things that will delight you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our stay at the Brass Lantern Inn was nothing short of wonderful! The staff was friendly and accommodating upon arrival, our room was clean and well appointed and the location was convenient to the center of town. The Garden was serene and was perfect for enjoying a morning coffee or a late afternoon glass of wine. We brought our small dog...the little doggie treats and dog bowls provided were adorable...loved the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon as well as the fresh pastries and coffee in the mornings. Michelle, the owner was on site and always hospitable ...when she was not there, Sharon, the manager was equally hospitable. We can't wait for our next trip to Nantucket as we will definitely be staying at the Brass Lantern again!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back may be a little more quiet than the rooms facing the street, however, N. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review! You described perfectly what we hope our guests experience at the Brass Lantern - even to the details of our pet friendly welcome.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Brass Lantern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

All around great stay. Rates were reasonable and received a 15% discount for last minute booking. Location is convenient to center of town, Brant Point and beaches. Atmosphere was wonderful with tea and cookies in the afternoon. Garden was lovely for reading and relaxing. Rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Absolutely no complaints

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to take advantage our our 'last minute availability' rates which can be checked by visiting our website and clicking on Book Online - we are happiest when we fill all our rooms with happy guests!

Hope to see you another time at the Brass Lantern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were very impressed that a bed & breakfast establishment would accept 2 adults toting 3 small children. Hats off to Michelle, the owner, for her intrepid hospitality. The inn was beautiful, our room was very comfortable, and breakfast was wonderful. We also appreciated the cookies set out in the afternoon. Despite the fact that it rained the entire time we were there (Memorial Day weekend), we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, and would return to Brass Lantern anytime during a future visit to Nantucket.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandTraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Wow - thank you for the accolades! The 17-room Brass Lantern is family - and pet - friendly and we have large rooom to accommodate parents and children and a two-bedroom family suite, for when your little ones will need a room of their own! We look forward to your next stay at the Brass Lantern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Absolutely wonderful Inn/ B&B to stay at in Nantucket. I actually received a15% off discount for a last minute booking as well! The Brass Lantern is very clean, adorably decorated, accommodating, and relaxing. I stayed in the Harmony room, and I have zero complaints. The bed sheets are as soft as silk! There is window AC, a large and clean bathroom (even a cute little dark colored towel for washing makeup off so you don't ruin the white ones...they think of everything!), and the breakfast is delicious and fresh. There is fresh fruit, coffee, tea available all day. They will hold your bags for you before and after checkout. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect, walking distance to town and the ferry. I will DEFINITELY be back! Wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Please pardon our tardy reply to your wonderful review! Thank you for sharing so many of the little details about the Brass Lantern, like our black Makeup facecloths, and the ability to drop off luggage early before check-in and pick it up late when departing.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so completely...did you know that fall is wonderful on Nantucket?? We look forward to your next stay at the Brass Lantern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Lovely small inn convenient to center of town. We were there for Film festival so it worked perfect. It also had good access to bike to Children's beach and was half hour bike ride to ocean. Breakfast was not special, but sufficient. Nice apples around all day and home baked cookies in late afternoon. Shower in our room was a standup stall, so not much room, but fine for us. They provided an air mattress for my 8 year old son to sleep on which was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobullnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the 17 room Brass Lantern Inn. I am sorry that our breakfast selection did not strike your fancy; most of our guests really enjoy our breakfast - with home made granola and yogurt, fruit and cheese platter, fruit cups, fresh baked muffins and scones, bagels and toasts, jams and jellies, fresh squeezed orange juice, a selection of teas and Island roasted coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Although we booked at the last minute, we were well accommodated in a lovely room on the 3rd floor. The stairway was rather narrow and steep but Andrew grabbed our bags and brought them up so it was no problem. Great location, clean lodgings, lovely grounds, and delicious breakfast. The staff was very helpful, as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackinnkeeper, Manager at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for letting others know about your stay at the Brass Lantern! The stairs are steep to the third floor, but the trade-off is a great view of the Harbor. Thank you for commending Andrew in your review - he has just finished his third summer with us and is back at college.

Hope to see you another time at the Brass Lantern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 11 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £129 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantucket the way it should be, warm hospitality and a gracious and classic setting. The Brass Lantern is a 17 room boutique hotel and offers superb accommodations, a fresh and plentiful breakfast and afternoon tea, a lovely patio and garden and a perfect 'walk to everything' location for couples, families and groups. The Brass Lantern is pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing