We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chestnut House tops the list”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chestnut House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnut House
Ranked #23 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chestnut House tops the list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

If you're going to Nantucket and want to be in town this is definitely the best place. Central to everything, beautifully decorated by artisans and hosts, Jeanette and Jerry Carl (ask to see his rugs) you couldn't find more gracious hosts on the island. Comfortable, cozy and affordable. It's a home away from home. Can't wait to go back. Don't miss it.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank guidshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

This was our second stay at the Chestnut House and I hope not our last. When I called to make the reservation Jeannette remembered us from our previous visit several years ago which made us feel so welcome. They're located center city and just a few minutes from the main street and the harbor. We came by ferry without a car and went to the beaches by bus or cab. There are rooms in the main house and also a cottage with its own entrance off the street. The cottage is convenient for a family -- it has a sitting area, a fully-equipped kitchen and a nice-sized dining room table. It's got a separate bedroom and a pull down Murphy bed. All the rooms are attractively decorated with the family's artwork and are clean, cozy and very comfortable. You get coupons for breakfast that are good at either one of 2 nice restaurants on Main Street. Would definitely recommend !

  • Liked — the pleasant atmosphere and the central location
  • Disliked — no view
  • Tips/Secrets — the cottage is especially nice
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2005

After traveling over 3000 miles to get there we found the owner to be unwelcoming. Would not return as we constantly felt we were walking on eggshells. The owner "Jeannette" showed a complete lack of interest in ensuring the comfort of her guests. Not reccomended for families.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 457Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2003

I've been visiting Nantucket for more than 25 years and my absolute favorite place to stay is Chesnut House. The owners are gracious and the location is excellent--just steps away from everything. I believe now they mostly have 2 room suites with private baths. The house is decorated with original art painted by the owner. It's such a popular place, that during high season you need to book pretty far in advance.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
Vanessa Noel Hotel
Vanessa Noel Hotel
#12 of 13 in Nantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#18 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nantucket White House Inn
Nantucket White House Inn
#16 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#20 of 39 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut House

Property: Chestnut House
Address: 3 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3506
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chestnut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing