We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Friendly Nantucket Stay”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #8 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I would highly recommend this B&B as being one of the best on the island. Sally, the innkeeper, took extra care to explain the island, things to do, places to rent a bike, restaurants to visit. The rooms are maintained immaculately, with small touches such as white fluffy towels, ornate pillows, hair dryers, irons etc. The breakfasts are wonderful (best granola ever!!!), and the cookies to die for. Stayed on the 3rd floor and it was nice, quiet and secluded.

If only everyone could be as friendly as Sally this world would be a better place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmblover31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

My friend and I decided to stay at this B&B which was conveniently located walking distance to town. We were immediately greeted by Sally, our warm and friendly hostess. She gave recommendations of what to do, where to visit and where to eat and made us feel at home. From the start, we felt comfortable, relaxed and incredibly at ease. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis, and our bathroom was re-stocked with extra shampoo and conditioner which is always nice. Our room had a beautiful and comfortable 4 poster bed as well as a magnificent view of the water. It was very lovely and we were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality which included fresh baked goods in the morning, including home made granola, etc. There was also wine and cheese on Saturday afternoon and a cute little dog to keep us company. I'd happily recommend this inn to anyone who wants to relax and feel very welcome in a new town.

Room Tip: The room with the 4 poster bed I was told had the largest bathroom and one of the best views. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

First let me say that the Cliff Lodge doesn't make the Cliff Lodge, SALLY makes the cliff lodge! What an unbelievable inn keeper. She is soooo nice. The sitting room and the dining rooms are extraordinarily nice! Outdoor dining too. Breakfasts are really good. Fresh fruit, as much as you want, every morning. Orange juice cereal coffee muffins or scones or some other baked goods. Wine and cheese party on Friday night was super - you get to meet the other guests. Fresh baked cookies every night. Real nice. Only downside is some third floor rooms are extremely small which makes them overpriced. Upside they have AC but some you can't control the temperature. Overall nice place. Real nice harbor views from the widows walkThanks Sally!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a return trip to the Cliff Lodge. We had a wonderful time. The lodge is quaint and comfortable. A perfect place to stay on Nantucket close to the ferry ,shops and restaurants.Sally the Innkeeper is an excellent host,she is there if you need her but let's you have your privacy. I thought we were the only guests and the lodge was booked. We stayed in room 2 on the second floor, it was perfect. A king bed, fireplace, two sitting chairs. A small bath with a shower which was all we needed. The little touches that Sally does to decorate the lodge and take care of her guests make all the difference. I almost forgot,the oatmeal cookies in the afternoon are the best. Breakfast is wonderful as well,home made scones, blueberry cake my favorite as well as assorted cereals,yogurt and fruit salad. We will be back. Thanks Sally

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have 3 children with the youngest being 8. Because many B&Bs won't take children under 10 and because I want the cute B&B experience, I spent hours searching for just the right location. And I was not disappointed. Everything from our bed, to breakfast, to location was perfect. And Sally was over the top sweet to my 8 year old who fell in love with her sweet dogs. It was expensive but you get what you pay for in my opinion. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed for a long weekend before the 4th of July celebrations in 2013 and very much enjoyed our stay at the Cliff Lodge. Our room was very cozy and the bed was really comfortable. The room reminded us of a ship's quarter and we later learned that ship carpenters used to build these houses in the lat 18th century. Sally was very helpful and knowledgeable and allowed us to make the most of our stay. The rooms were all clean and we enjoyed the breakfast - wish the times could be expanded a bit as 8:30 - 9:30 is a small window to hit! The Lodge is very close to town center which allowed for easy access to everything including the ferry. Probably a quarter mile walk to the Whale Museum. They have a bike rack at the back of the building and if you don't take your bike out on Nantucket you are missing something. The trip to Madaket is probably the most beautiful bike trail I have ever been on! If you stay at the Cliff Lodge, do not miss their widow's walk! When you get up to the deck you will have an amazing view of the town and the nearby water. We went up there to see a couple sunsets. All in all a very pleasant and memorable stay and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolf g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time and sally is the best. Our only complaint was the bed was so small we couldnt both fit. Will go back but need a bigger bed. Thank you sally for a wonderful stay! Very close to town loved that and the hospitality was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 9 Cliff Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-3639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £141 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood on a meticulously landscaped property, the inn is within easy walking distance to all downtown shops, restaurants, beaches, museums and ferry services. Although best known as a summer resort, Nantucket Island is extraordinary in every season, and the Cliff Lodge welcomes you with crackling fireplaces, down comforters, homemade afternoon treats, and special activity weekends during the quirt season. Experience the leisurely ambiance and delightful charm of the Cliff Lodge as a special place that always beckons you to return. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful garden patio, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Cliff Lodge is a place of easy elegance that can make you forget that you have ever worked for a living. We take pride in offering our guests personal service in a warm and friendly setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing