We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly inn.”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #7 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend came here using a Groupon which included two nights of accomodations and a free bottle of wine. Not only was the room extremely charming and comfortable, but the bottle of wine (from Nantucket Vinyards, owned by the same people as Cisco Brewing) was pretty good too! Staff were friendly and helpful, policies were casual, and the location is perfect. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoyleMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We decided to visit Nantucket for the first time at the end of our road trip. It was a perfect choice for the tail end of the trip - the room was small, but cozy and comfortable. Sally was an amazing host - she gave us great suggestions of places to visit and provided us with a map, showing us some of the best off-season options. Breakfast was easy and there were several options (which is always good for picky eaters like us!). The Cliff Lodge is n a great location - we were easily able to walk to the town's annual Halloween parade and festivities. It is proximate to the visitors information center as well as many restaurants and shops. We had a great time and would happily return to the Cliff Lodge if we return to Nantucket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First, you'll feel the warmth of the place as soon as you walk in the front door. Its a small bnb...but historically well maintained. The door latches and such things give it that 1700's Whaler feel to it. The rooms are small but cozy...and well maintained.

Sall the Innkeeper is GREAT! She's there if you want to chat...likes to meet her customers...and makes you feel at home. LOCATION is do die for!!! Its a 2-3 minute walk to Town....couldn't ask for a better location.

All in all....a very good BnB....;) Thank you Sally! Steven.

Room Tip: I'd say all the rooms are good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent this last weekend at the Cliff Lodge. I can't say enough good things about this inn. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by the innkeeper, Sally. If you like a B+ B experience you will love this place! Breakfast ,although continental , was wonderful; fresh fruit and tasty homemade goodies. The wine and cheese party friday night was fun and we enjoyed the peanut butter cookies when we arrived back from sightseeing Sat. night. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We just returned from our first Nantucket visit. Sally was a great host and quickly made us feel right at home. She was able to accommodate our late arrival (10:30pm) on Friday night and was happy to let us leave our bags in the living area while we explored more of the town after our checkout time on Sunday. Loved the afternoon cookies, cozy fire place, complimentary wine, yummy breakfast/coffee, the widows walk and the location (less than 10 minutes from downtown!).

Our room, Number 9, was small but didn't pose a problem for us as we aren't very tall. I wouldn't recommend that room if you are over 5'10" or have difficulty with stairs. Our room also only had one outlet accessible and it was in the bathroom. The hairdryers also aren't great for anyone with a decent amount of hair to dry as they overheat and shut off easily. We could also hear our neighbors in the room so privacy isn't great, but it is a B&B after all. Thanks again, Sally!

Room Tip: Low ceilings on the 3rd floor would not be ideal for those that are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malmal113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Sally runs a very welcoming B & B in Nantucket. The inn has lots of character and was very clean. The continental breakfast was very tasty and there were freshly baked goodies to welcome us home after a dy of sightseeing. Sally had lots of suggestions for things to do and places to eat. All in allit was a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnthetrailCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The rooms were clean, Sally, the Innkeeper was extremely welcoming, the location was great, and the prices were reasonable. The beds were comfortable and the lighting was adequate. I can't wait to return to Nantucket....and when I do I'll most definitely be staying here!

Room Tip: Good water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantucket
2.8 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
22.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 9 Cliff Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-3639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £88 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood on a meticulously landscaped property, the inn is within easy walking distance to all downtown shops, restaurants, beaches, museums and ferry services. Although best known as a summer resort, Nantucket Island is extraordinary in every season, and the Cliff Lodge welcomes you with crackling fireplaces, down comforters, homemade afternoon treats, and special activity weekends during the quirt season. Experience the leisurely ambiance and delightful charm of the Cliff Lodge as a special place that always beckons you to return. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful garden patio, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Cliff Lodge is a place of easy elegance that can make you forget that you have ever worked for a living. We take pride in offering our guests personal service in a warm and friendly setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing