We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, classic laid back elegance Nantucket Style”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Right on the beach, this classic Nantucket property is up-scale but laid back. Really nice, attentive people run the place - nice rooms, quiet, perfect beach - beautiful sunsets. Try the Galley Restaurant next door - great happy hour on the beach. We celebrated our anniversary but even better for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZWdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I decided on nantucket for our honeymoon in order to avoid air travel, due to lots of work travel. We were not disappointed! Nantucket is an amazing place for a honeymoon and Cliffside was great. We really enjoyed our stay here. Like anything on Nantucket, it's not cheap, but it was well worth it to be able to stay right on the beach. It is a quiet place, so certainly not where you want to stay if you're looking for excitement, outside of the sunsets, which seem to be an island affair!

Pros:

Location: Walking (15 min)/Biking (5 min) to town, as well as right on the beach. It was fantastic to walk out the door in the morning and get a chair under an umbrella for a few hours without having to pack anything or drive anywhere. It's also perfectly close to town, yet quietly outside of town. We rented bikes for the week but also walked to town. Would recommend getting bikes if you don't bring a car. It's also a quick taxi ride to town for dinner.

Staff: Everyone here was great! Whether you need a beach chair, cool ice water on the beach, or to take out a SUP, everyone is very accomdating. And if we didn't have our wallet on us to tip, all was forgiven. The only blip was that the front desk was often tied up (on the phone) with other guests or future guests. Front desk attention should be given to current guests first and foremost!

Beach: AMAZING. This place has the BEST sunsets - the entire island comes here for $20 cocktails to enjoy this, but if you stay here you can enjoy it on your own. We often brought wine and cheese onto the beach and enjoyed the sunset quietly by our room undisturbed.

Food: Galley's is an amazing location with good food. Everything is overpriced on Nantucket, but here even more so, due to the beach location with amazing sunsets. The food was great, but not our absolute favorite. Two apps, dinner and two drinks was close to $300, but it was our first night of our honeymoon so well worth it. However, the food is not as interesting here as in other places we visited.

Rooms:
The room was very pretty with great detail and cute accessories. Our room had a kitchenette which is great to have snacks, beer, wine etc. However, guests are not permitted to have other guests in their rooms. We had two friends over for a glass of wine in our room before dinner and it felt like we were sneaking into a boy's room in college or something.

Cons:

Pool: The pool is very pretty, very private and beautiful, however it is tucked away at the back of the hotel, so it's easy to forget it's even there. The hot tub is great for a late afternoon soak if the weather is a bit chilly, but other than that we forgot it was there.

Breakfast: Pretty lackluster (Bagels, donuts, bananas, apples and cereal), but at least there was some and unlike a traditional B&B you can serve yourself or even bring it back to your room, which is nice. Some sliced fruit, waffles, etc. would really add something.

Guests: Most were cordial and a few friendly, but others seemed to be annoyed if they ran into another guest. Many of the rooms are litereally on top of each other so it's tough to stay out of each other's way, especially right on the beach. Not surprising, a very NYC/CT crowd, and mostly couples over 40 or families. In our early 30s, we felt VERY young. Many of the children run around with a babysitter running after them, but none of them were truly unruly.

Overall, we were very happy with our choice. We'd love to come back soon, just as soon as we can afford it again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonSportsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside last weekend for a two night three day getaway without the kids. It could not have been better. The location is perfect. On the beach and a quick walk or bike ride to town. The service was about as good as it can be. Everyone is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was great, the pool area was a quiet sanctuary - no kids after 12:30. I absolutely loved it here. We will try to get back here next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1330ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The room:

Our family of 4 stayed in Apartment 111 which had 3 bedrooms. We had loads of space - both our kids had their own room but the unit could have easily slept 4 kids. The smallest room was big enough to fit a bunk bed and a dresser. My preschooler loved sleeping in the bunk bed. The other "kids room" (could also comfortably sleep 2 adults) was a nice size and had two twin beds. The "master" was tight but had a king bed and a dresser. All the rooms had closets so there was plenty of storage.

Apartment 111 had a tiny but full kitchen - the only thing it was missing was a dishwasher. There is no restaurant at the hotel. The fancy place next door is too fancy to bring kids for dinner (maybe for lunch if the kids are feeling well-behaved). So it was nice to be able to cook a simple lunch and dinner. It also had an enclosed private patio with a sand box and a nice patio table which made for nice al fresco homemade meals. There is a grocery store in town at the harbour and if you have a car there is a large Stop And Shop a short drive away.

The downsides of Apartment 111 were: (1) it was dark and had no view (a sacrifice we were willing to make for the benefit of having a large space and a kitchen); (2) very potent potpourri sachets hanging in the closets that made the entire unit reek of potpourri (I would ask to have them removed prior to arrival if you are highly scent sensitive); and (3) it was noisy as it was right beside the reception and parking lot.

The hotel:

Cliffside is absolutely charming. There's lots of stuff and bric-a-brac everywhere but it all works. The continental breakfast in the morning is simple but tasty. While we didn't make use of them, the pool and the gym looked fantastic. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

The beach is the star and it is fantastic. The sand is like sugar and it goes for miles (we walked to Jetties Beach but you could probably walk all the way into town on the beach). My preschooler was happy to stay at the beach everyday all day. They also provided beach toys. The surf is gentle and leaves behind all sorts of shells and rocks for discovery.

The hotel is about a mile from town and is a pleasant walk with strollers (it is too far for little legs without strollers). We brought our car but found parking in town to be a pain (good for exploring the rest of the island though).

We stayed in Cliffside during a grey week in Nantucket but we had a very enjoyable time. The beach was the best!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EPhoebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Cliffside is a very nice beach club that turned into an upscale, but casual hotel - it oozes Nantucket charm! The staff are very accomodating and every detail seems to have been thought of in advance. The decor is casual chic and very tasteful. We stayed in a Gold Coast room becuase we were looking for privacy, but since it was off season we would have been just as happy in a standard room. We loved being right on the beach and having a pivate deck to watch the ferries come and go. The room was well equipped and included a small kitchenette area and it was nicely decorated and clean.

The property is very well maintained. The pool and pool area were appealing aesthetically and the place to be in the afternoon when the beach was too windy. It closed at 5:00 PM. Continental breakfast was satisfying and included everything you'd want, though in general the whole dining experience didn't work for us. The Galley Restaurant is on site for lunch or dinner options, but we found it a little too expensive for everyday, casual sustenance. The one day we decided to splurge and enjoy a leisurely lunch, it was closed! So while we were hoping for a relaxing, low key experience, coordinating taxis and trips into town for meals was necessary and a bit of a pain for us.

I'd be interested in seeing the place in full swing during the summer season when more meal options are available and all the hotel's services are up and running. Overall its a great spot on gorgeous Nantucket!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjmarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

When my husband and I go to Nantucket the Cliffside Beach Club is the only place we will stay. Everything about it is perfect. Every time we have stayed there the rooms have been immaculate and the service impeccable. I follow a special diet and they were kind enough to put a microwave in my room. I requested this at the time I made the reservations. I love that you walk out of your room and onto the beach. The restaurant on the premises offers some of the finest food on the island and is worth every penny. The pool is beautiful and they have a wonderful fitness center. I love the spa feel the Cliffside has to offer. Its a lovely walk into town yet the Cliffside is tucked away from the congestion.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeannieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed for three nights in one of the rooms right on the beach. The hotel is gorgeous... small, located on the beach but near the town, beautifully decorated in an eclectic style. Especially the rooms on the beach front row are the best. Nothing beats waking up in the morning with this view. You also have a pleasant deck with comfortable chairs. The staff at reception and the beach were very very friendly. There is a restaurant next door on the beach which is not linked to the hotel but very convenient for lunch or dinner on the beach. The pool area of the hotel is the best - there is a hot tup, a lap pool, regular swimming pool ... all in a beautiful decor of comfortable deck chairs, wooden fencing, and the surrounding suites.
There are two negatives: the hotel has wooden decks everywhere. Although they were replacing a lot of the bad wood, you have to be very careful. Our daughter got a very deep splinter in her foot which obliged us to go to the ER and I heard other customers with children suffering from the same problem of splinters. The hotel however was incredibly helpful bringing us to the hospital and offering us an extra complimentary night in a suite. That was very professional. What we found a bit disappointing was the breakfast which was very basic. For the standards the hotel offers, it is a pity that not more attention is put in the breakfast. We missed fresh cut fruit, eggs, cheese, ham ... With a little bit of effort a breakfast suitable to the standard of the hotel could be offered. But all in all it is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone going to Nantucket. It is a family run hotel and you can tell they are proud of their business and take pride in offering excellent service.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank bzita22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackbeach, Owner at Cliffside Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We take reviews from our guests very seriously. After the splinter incident with your child, we did extensive maintenance on our outside decks. However, Cliffside is place where having toes in the sand, inevitably means bare feet on the decks. So, prior to the 2012 season, we replaced all of the outside decks and walkways with mahogany decking. This renovation has solved the splinter problem and has added a beautiful new look to the property. New railings, planters and exterior lighting were part of this major project. We view the investment in property upgrades as a fundamental part of achieving our goal of making each visit to Cliffside, nicer than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
6.3 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Beach Club

Address: 46 Jefferson Avenue, Nantucket, MA 02554-2272
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range: £178 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes. Imagine the soft sounds of waves crashing, the fresh sea breeze in your face, and the feeling of warm sand in your toes. This is the ultimate relaxation that is found at Cliffside Beach Club. This unique combination of boutique hotel and private beach club, offers its guests a range of amenities that are rarely found at other resorts. The hotel sits on the beach just one mile from the center of Nantucket. This allows for our guests to be close enough to easily enjoy all of its shops, restaurants, and quaint cobblestone streets, while also being far enough away to luxuriate in the peace and quiet of an oceanfront room. The beautiful private beach offers guests something other hotel in Nantucket can offer, which in an intimate resort setting and such close proximity to a vibrant and historic town. Our guests have the freedom on how to start their day. Perhaps a morning workout at Nantucket’s finest gym in the best way to wake up or slowly waking up slowly under an ideally sheltered pool area before heading out to the beach for the afternoon. Enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail at the private bar overlooking the beach or perhaps take your drink back to your own private deck and watch the sun set into the ocean right before your eyes. Understandably, many of our guests find it hard to leave the hotel and we can’t wait for you to experience Cliffside Beach Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Beach Club Hotel Nantucket
Cliffside Beach Club And Hotel
Cliffside Beach Hotel
Cliffside Beach Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing