We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this very special place. Worth every cent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this very special place. Worth every cent.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent a wonderful few days at the Cliffside. Our room faced the beach and the sunsets were breathtaking. The staff is very helpful and go out of their way to provide great service and make you feel welcome. The pool is also beautiful. Rooms are slightly rustic and lovely and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Its just far enough out of town -- easy to get back in, but really feels like you are tucked away if you don't want to be among the crowds that come in off the ferry. We will definitely be making this an annual visit.

Room Tip: Go for the ones facing the beach --
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shayes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Spent a relaxing few days here. Amazing place to stay. Had a suite on the beach and watched the sun come up and go down. Relaxing. Friendly unobtrusive staff. Nothing too much trouble. Amazing restaurant next door . Ate dinner outside while watching the sun go down. Great place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Choose the beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dentist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Wonderful,friendly and first class resort. Right on the water,great sandy beach and lovely rooms.
Sit on the beach patio for lunch and try their first class restaurant. Service throughout is top notch and location is convenient as well. Place is pricey, but here you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent a beautiful fall weekend in one of the GoldCoast rooms that face the ocean with a little deck and private beach. The hotel reminds you of one that could be in the caribbean. The location of the hotel on the beach is fabulous. The room is not fancy but it doesn't lack anything. It did not appear to be a family friendly resort. It was all couples the weekend we were there. We only saw one family with a toddler. The restaurant that is not operated by the hotel is beautiful but prices are ridiculous $17.00 for a glass of sangria, bring your own or go into town for one. We walked in and out of town each day. The walk took about 15 minutes each way but note at night there are some very dark parts of the walk. Would definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: If you like to sit on a deck and look at the water then book a Gold Coast room, otherwise for $200 l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trotBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We choose Cliffside for a post Labor Day weekend away and I think we saw the hotel and the island at it's absolute best. I would highly recommend a 'treat' weekend at Cliffside.
The hotel was full during our stay, but you really wouldn't have known it. There were hardly any people on the beach despite gorgeous weather. We were also told in advance (very considerate!) that the bar/beach staff would be fewer post Labor Day, but it didn't affect service in the least. Vanessa and Chip on reception were incredibly welcoming - all their recommendations were absolutely top notch, and they couldn't have been happier to help w/ reservations for restaurants and car rental. The beach staff couldn't have been more helpful setting up chairs/umbrellas each day. The hotel is perhaps more old-world than the other offerings in Nantuket (The Nantuket or White Elephant) but we found the decor charming and tastefully done.
In terms of dining, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Galley - I had one of the best entrees I've ever eaten (Hallibut), but it is quite pricy. The chocolate brownie is also every bit as good as it sounds & even dare I say, worth the money. The Galley is more expensive than the other Nantuket offerings (Cru/ Pearl) but the food was so much better, so I would say worth it for at least one night. I heard in passing that the food for all restaurants generally is better out of season due to fewer heads/night, but Galley was the only one to have exceptional food (except the Lobster roll at The Nantuket Hotel- unmissable to any lobster lovers).
The location of the hotel is simply the best - right on the beach - but a 15min walk into town, or a 5 min cab ($11) or a 5 min bike. Totally worth it to have the beach access, and the ocean was bath-like.
Already thinking to book the same week/weekend next year!
One recommendation from the hotel was to do the Great Point Lighthouse drive - was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The above title is pretty much what we said everyday waking up at cliffside. Nantucket is a place you could stay at a quaint B&B and be perfectly happy with a TINY room and touring the island and avoiding your room until you need to sleep. You could do that OR you could spend a little more (like 50% more) and have the trip of a lifetime. Seriously, this hotel is amazing. Being on the beach, THIS beach is a experience not to be missed. You will have a hard time finding a more beautiful sunset anywhere. It is also the only pool in a hotel on the island if you like that sort of thing. Only downside is that there is no reasonable dining option within a short walk so lunch for two will cost you around $65 a day, but that's Nantucket! We stayed in a room on the goldcoast, highly recommend very quiet and romantic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoCal2NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 5 year anniversary at this lovely hotel. This is by far the best combination of location, charm, service, luxury of any place on Nantucket. We biked and explored the island by Jeep and the Cliffside just has it all. There didn't seem to be another small hotel on the beach with awesome service (pool, beach access, breakfast, etc) anywhere. This is a first class hotel with a first class location. The only negative reviews you will see on here are with regards to children and the breakfast. The latter is only because everything is cold which is fine, let's be honest (fresher bagels would be nice). As for kids, this is a fancy beach club and they do a fine job accommodating kids while knowing couples want to have a break from kids.

Room Tip: Room #119 was awesome, a little cheaper than beachfront room but it is designed with an angled view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.7 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.8 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.0 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Beach Club

Property: Cliffside Beach Club
Address: 46 Jefferson Avenue, Nantucket, MA 02554-2272
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes. Imagine the soft sounds of waves crashing, the fresh sea breeze in your face, and the feeling of warm sand in your toes. This is the ultimate relaxation that is found at Cliffside Beach Club. This unique combination of boutique hotel and private beach club, offers its guests a range of amenities that are rarely found at other resorts. The hotel sits on the beach just one mile from the center of Nantucket. This allows for our guests to be close enough to easily enjoy all of its shops, restaurants, and quaint cobblestone streets, while also being far enough away to luxuriate in the peace and quiet of an oceanfront room. The beautiful private beach offers guests something other hotel in Nantucket can offer, which in an intimate resort setting and such close proximity to a vibrant and historic town. Our guests have the freedom on how to start their day. Perhaps a morning workout at Nantucket’s finest gym in the best way to wake up or slowly waking up slowly under an ideally sheltered pool area before heading out to the beach for the afternoon. Enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail at the private bar overlooking the beach or perhaps take your drink back to your own private deck and watch the sun set into the ocean right before your eyes. Understandably, many of our guests find it hard to leave the hotel and we can’t wait for you to experience Cliffside Beach Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Beach Club Hotel Nantucket
Cliffside Beach Club And Hotel
Cliffside Beach Hotel
Cliffside Beach Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing