We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desperate for money”

House of the Seven Gables
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Seven Gables
Ranked #30 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desperate for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We called to cancel our weekend due to Hurricane Earl and they refused even though the Steamship Authority cancelled ferry service on Friday. Dorothy's response was that they don't cancel rooms because of a "rain and wind storm". Well guess what - they don't "name" rain and wind storms, they name hurricanes.
Bad policy - Greedy is the word.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ZWdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

The room was quaint and the staff friendly but they need to change their refund policy.
The airlines notified us that Hurricane Earl would probably cancel our flights and suggested that we change our flights. House of Seven Gables charged us for 2 nights that we didn't stay. Like they were really going to sell those rooms with a hurricane bearing down on the island.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

My boyfriend and I were in Nantucket for a friend's wedding and needed a room on very last minute notice at a very reasonable rate, for just one night. With the help of the nice fellows at the Visitor Information office, they made a call to Dottie at The House of Seven Gables B&B. She offered the exact price we were hoping for on very last minute notice. The B&B is walking distance to downtown, very quaint and quiet and Dottie who runs the B&B is super friendly and welcoming. The room we had was nice and comfortable and the entire place was quiet. I definately will be staying the next time I go to Nantucket and recommend it to others as well!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDM78Portland_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

After a hiatus of a few years, we returned to ACK and this lovely B&B. We had stayed several times previously at the Seven Gables and found it quite chariming, well located and with a run by a very lovely staff. I am please to say that all of our expectations were once again met, and actually exceeded. Dottie was as friendly and accomodating as ever, and the usual high standards we were accustomed to at the inn have definitely been maintained. Simply put, I can't find any fault with the Seven Gables and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiltedflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Recently my wife and I decided to get away for a long weekend, and we wanted to try Nantucket. Our main goal for the weekend was to relax, and we hoped to find a decent place at a reasonable price.

Our search was not easy. Besides limited availability during the high season, in Nantucket, "reasonable price" seems to be an unknown term, with rates of $300+ per room not being unusual. Luckily though we persisted in our search and came across the House of the Seven Gables.

We were quoted a last minute rate of $155, for a queen bed room with private bath. I must say I was a little hesitant, given the drastic difference between other rates, but after reading the Trip Advisor reviews we decided to go for it.

We're really glad we did. After a very short cab ride from the ferry, we received a warm greeting from Dottie, one of the innkeepers. She gave us a crash course on where to go and what to see, and showed us to our room. We stayed in room #1, which is on the first floor at the front of the house. The room was larger than we expected, as was the bathroom. I was a little concerned about potential noise issues, especially in old houses such as these, but as we discovered we rarely ever heard any of the other guests, and noise from the street was never an issue.

The location turned out to be better than we expected as well. It's a short walk to town, just enough to burn off dinner without feeling like a trek. It's also about a 10 - 15 min walk to Jetties beach, through some really beautiful neighborhoods.

Breakfast was about what we expected, with juice, coffee/tea, and bagels and muffins. What was nice though was the patio out back where breakfast was served (if you didn't want breakfast served in the room). The patio looked out onto a nice little garden with a fountain, with landscaping that strategically blocked out the neighboring houses. We opted to eat here each day, and met some really nice folks from the midwest and the UK. On one rainy day we also spent several hours on the patio (under the awning of course) reading books and drinking wine.

This Inn definitely helped us achieve our goal and I would definitely consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reactor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We decided last minute to stay on Nantucket and I called the Visitor Ctr to ask if they had any cancellations at B&Bs. The House of Seven Gables had the best room and the best rate. We stayed in room 11 which was the top floor with a king bed and sitting area looking out over the houses to the water. While the bathroom was a little small, we fell in love with the room almost instantly.
The location is great and very convenient, just off the main drags but close enough for a quick walk to dinner. Practically right next to Something Natural where you can pick up sandwiches before heading to the beach.
Breakfast was small (english muffin, baked blueberry bread) but the coffee and juice was lovely -and it was delivered to our room which made for a nice, relaxing, romantic breakfast in bed. Perfect morning snack before hoping on the bikes.
All in all we loved this house!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonSox327
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

My boyfriend and I were scheduled for a one night stay at the Inn on August 29th, 2009. Unfortunately, a few days before we were scheduled to leave, we heard that Tropical Storm Danny may be hitting the island that day. We called the Inn regarding our concern about the fact that Tropical Storm Danny. The Inn told us to call back if the ferries were cancelled so that we could discuss the matter further.

We woke up at 4:30 that morning and drove for hours in the pouring rain to the Steamship Authority in Hyannis. Unfortunately, once we arrived, we were told that all morning ferries were cancelled due to high seas. The ferry company apologized profusely and gave us a full refund. That morning, while in Hyannis, I called the Inn to see if we could reschedule our reservation. Dottie was extremely rude to us. After giving us the impression that she would work with us, she rudely told me that she was extremely busy and to call back another time.

The next day, I wrote a very nice email to the Inn, asking them if they could reschedule our reservation. We were offered a sub-comparable room on a date that would not work for us and was told that there was nothing else they could do. Even after writing back and stressing the fact that we would be willing to come in the off-season (fall/spring) when rooms would undoubtedly be cheaper and the Inn would be less crowded, our requests were denied. I have a hard time believing that the Inn does not have a room available at any point during the next year. Although I understand that the Inn does not offer refunds for one night visits, nowhere on their website do I see anywhere that the reservations can’t be transferred or rescheduled. Especially considering the highly irregular circumstances of the ferries being cancelled and our inability to physically make it to the island, the Inn should have allowed us to reschedule to a comparable room or at least to a date that would work for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonSox327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.6 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#20 of 39 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
27 Fair Street Inn
27 Fair Street Inn
#35 of 39 in Nantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beachside
The Beachside
#11 of 13 in Nantucket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#18 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century House
Century House
#7 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Seven Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Seven Gables

Property: House of the Seven Gables
Address: 32 Cliff Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-3644
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing