We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved watching the sun rise over the ocean from a room at the front”

House of the Seven Gables
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Seven Gables
Ranked #30 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved watching the sun rise over the ocean from a room at the front”
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I stayed at The Seven Gables various times from July 2004 through June 2007 and I am due for a return trip. My vacations there varied from four day getaways to month-long vacations on the island. Sue and Dottie were so gracious and the sea air and their hard work kept the rooms clean. This is not a luxurious place--what makes it is its location, just a bit out of town away from the hubbub (yes, there is some in Nantucket), high overlooking the ocean--and on Cliff Road. It's a short walk to Nantucket's better restaurants from the B&B and my favorite grill, Black-Eyed Susans (during high season, it's open for breakfast--not to be missed--lunch and dinner).

At The Seven Gables, I have a special fondness for the large bathroom (shared) on the second floor. Love the tub after a day outside. Two rooms share that bath. Do like the plank painted wood floors in some rooms. There's a bike stand by the side of the house--be sure to rent a bike for a few days. Biking along the trails between the beaches is fantastic.

Sue and Dottie were extremely nice to me. Time for me to return! Can't wait till July.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Very pleasant stay at this inn. The inn was a quick 5-10 minute walk from town so close enough but not too close. Very convenient to 2 beaches and just to walking around and exploring. Breakfast was good and served in the room so very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2008

A pleasant, homey place to stay on Nantucket. We appreciated the peaceful, quiet Cliff Rd location--yes, a bit of a walk (uphill) from downtown, but it was much nicer to be out of the tourist bustle. Had a room at the back, very quiet with a lovely breeze from the garden. Ah, that garden--green lawn, flowers, and shady trees, even a little fountain and pond...it's bigger than it looks at first, and there's a table (with umbrella) as well as two chaise lounges. Perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine in the evening. I think they had beach umbrellas and beach towels for guest use, too.

Room was clean and cozy (if small)--felt like staying at an aunt's old New England house with quirky decor (lots of cat-related tchotchkes, although no actual cat). Innkeepers were friendly and unobtrusive. Continental breakfast delivered on a tray to our room was a nice touch, although the coffee (in carafes) was weak and watery, the toasted mini-bagel and croissant blah.

Not a place to come for luxury, lots of privacy, or pampering, but it was clean and well-taken-care-of, in an old-house way. If you're looking for a pleasant, reasonably-priced option with an old NE feel, this could be your place.

  • Liked — The garden
  • Disliked — Breakfast needs better coffee, better pastries from nearby bakeries, like Something Natural or Nantucket Bake Shop
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sandra200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The inn is a breezy 10 minute walk into town - perfect location on Cliff Road. It's simplicity that works. No flat screen tv or Frette linens, but so what, when are you in your room. The rates are fair and not affected by the Nantucket frenzy of ridiculous prices. Their garden is a quiet place to read and enjoy breakfast. Recommend this inn.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — No a/c
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navysuıt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I was greeted by Dottie who walked me up to my spacious, delightful room. The offer of personal assistance was genuine. I needed a soft drink and use of their computer to make airline connections. No charge...no problem. Serene and hospitable. Great continental breakfast on the patio. Stay here. It is great.

  • Liked — Incredible hospitality and beautiful Nineteenth Century flair
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank relapz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2008

This inn is a beautiful ten minute stroll into town! It was comfortable, clean and has very friendly and helpful staff. We've booked another stay at the Seven Gables for August!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CascoKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Very dissapointed.....not what we expect from a quaint upscale island....as a native of MA and visitor to the island several times before my wife and I were very dissapointed.....staff very unfriendly and very poorly run B&B....much better accomodations on the island....would never recommend this one.

  • Disliked — Inn Keeper
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank onthego11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.6 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
27 Fair Street Inn
27 Fair Street Inn
#35 of 39 in Nantucket
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barnacle Inn
Barnacle Inn
#9 of 39 in Nantucket
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Summer House - India Street Inn
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#18 of 39 in Nantucket
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nantucket White House Inn
Nantucket White House Inn
#16 of 39 in Nantucket
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Seven Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Seven Gables

Property: House of the Seven Gables
Address: 32 Cliff Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-3644
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing