We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at Le Languedoc, Nantucket”
Review of Le Languedoc

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Languedoc
Ranked #22 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay at Le Languedoc, Nantucket”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The Inn is known for its restaurant which has superb cuisine.
I stayed for two nights after Thanksgiving in a room with a shared bath. This is an old but well maintained structure. The stairs that ascend to the rooms are steep; the hallway shared by four rooms narrow; and the rooms small. My room (#3) was on a corner facing Broad Street with three windows and a good view of the hustle and bustle in this downtown location. It had a canopy queen bed, bureau, side table, mini 'fridge, a 14" TV and closet. It was freshly painted and clean. The shared bath was large with a commodious shower to match. Room #4 has a private bath for an extra charge. The Inn rents other rooms off-site but close; these I did not see.
The staff were friendly and accommodating. I would recommend the Inn to anyone wishing a stay in an authentic and classic building on Nantucket.

Room Tip: As aforementioned, #3 in the Inn is filled with light and allows street-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boeingbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, ct
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at the sister Inn at 3 Hussey St with my wife and 2 teenage sons. We made the reservations late so we ended up getting two rooms that shared a bathroom that was off the living room. We had both rooms that used the shared bathroom. I can imagine if you only have one of the rooms, the shared bath must be a challenge.

The room was inexpensive (by Nantucket standards) and close to everthing. The staff was friendly and helpful. On the other hand, if you are looking for a full service hotel, you should probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CT_MikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I cannot really relate to the other reviews, so can only tell about the great experience we had with this inn.
We arrived on Friday 5/28 in the afternoon staying for 3 nights and were delighted with the clean room, cozy interior and a firm mattress (which you cannot expect in many European hotels, for instance).
When somebody from the staff put an air conditioner in our window on the following day, I "upgraded" the B & B instantly from 3 stars to 5 stars. I have stayed in many B & B's since 1997, but none of them had a. c.. So we slept even better during our second night and heard no noise although this was Fugawi Regatta weekend and supposedly many drunken sailors in town.
The best part was breakfast. It's in a lovely room downstairs overlooking Bookworks (a bookstore) and Broad Street. We listened to beautiful classical music (an even better selection than on WCRB!) and enjoyed rhubarb muffins.
The staff was always friendly and helpful.
Next time we'll rather come to Nantucket in mid October whenmost of the tourists are gone, but we will definitely return to Le Languedoc Inn!
Very recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Everything in Nantucket is expensive. Therefore it is unfair to compare this inn to inns on the mainland simply by cost. I've stayed in much nicer inns for $145 a night, but on Nantucket, good luck finding anything for that price.

The other reviews were correct. This is a restaurant that happens to have four rooms to rent. The staff is really not for the inn, but for the restaurant. We barely saw them.

The room was very dated, needed some basic updating and repairs. It was on the main street, so the noise kept us up late into the night and then early in the morning, we too heard what another reviewer described as a bottle recycling plant. Luckily we were only there for two nights and the lack of sleep did not ruin our trip.

We had trouble finding shampoo and soap. I had to sneak into a supply closet to help myself.

The location was excellent and the price was decent. I couldn't have stayed here more than two nights however.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, Very hot room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jlesica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

everywhere
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

At $250 per night (peak season rates), we expected something much nicer. The staff was almost nonexistent, the room was tiny, and the noise from the restaurant is something that can't be escaped. In the morning, we were awakened by what sounded like a bottle recycling plant. I would not recommend staying here.

Hopefully they are a better restaurant than they are an inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers_code
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

I deceided to write a review after reading what another guest had said. I found the Jamaican Staff in the Inn extremely friendly and gracious. We had a terrible time getting to the island...airline delays etc, we arrived at 11 pm and even though the front desk was closed, they had left a welcome envelope for us in the restaurant with instructions on finding our room. The next day Shanie went out of her way to find us and properly welcome us to the Inn. She even helped us plan activities for the days we would be on Nantucket. We had a great time!! Amenities were not in the room but was provided if you asked for it. The rest of the staff was friendly and polite and the rooms were very clean and tidy!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Wish we had Flat Screen TV or DVD Players
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ackbabe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

A tiny guest house hovers over the Languedoc property, but barely resembles a true bed and breakfast. We felt "moved in" with a here is the key, walk upstairs, enjoy. If the staff is tired out at the beginning of the summer, who knows what happens in August.
Rooms are the barest of bones that offer mini soap cubes, no phone and a loud fan. The food is good downstairs, yet the staff and especially the front door people attempt a preppy snobbery that is ill served to a visitor. Outside service offers IKEA plastic at Neiman prices.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank winewithdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#17 of 38 in Nantucket
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chestnut House
Chestnut House
#21 of 38 in Nantucket
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nantucket White House Inn
Nantucket White House Inn
#16 of 38 in Nantucket
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#4 of 38 in Nantucket
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roberts House
The Roberts House
#19 of 38 in Nantucket
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Languedoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Languedoc

Property: Le Languedoc
Address: 24 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3562
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Languedoc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Le Languedoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing