We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nantucket Inn Delivers for Family Vacation”
Review of Nantucket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nantucket Inn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was an excellent vacation. Expert housekeeping. Friendly, helpful and courteous staff. The hourly shuttle to town (and back) was great. Full buffet breakfast (included) was an excellent feature. Even the clay tennis courts (beautifully maintained) deseve a mention. Both pools (indoor and outdoor) clean and well maintained. We booked early and paid the non-refundable price for two rooms, so we really got top notch value. Travelers should NOT be put off by the proximity to the local airport. First of all, if you fly in as we did, it's literally a 5-minute walk to the hotel -- no taxi required! Little or no airport noise -- you don't even realize it once you've checked in. Second, the hotel shuttle gets you in to town in 10 minutes and to the beach (other direction) in 5 minutes, so the location is actually excellent.

Good job, Nantucket Inn! Hope to see you again soon.

A.C.T., Long Island, NY

Room Tip: Ask to be in the courtyard closest to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryFamLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you ACT! We always appreciate a pat on the back for a job well done! And are also glad that you recognized the value in the non-refundable rate special. We understand that it's not for everyone but if your dates are firm - why not save some money! (and we always recommend travel insurance, just in case!) Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We now have stayed here twice, once in July 2 2012 and Aug this year. Aug is definitely busier more European people who vacation in. Aug. staff seemed more tired and less friendly. It has probably been a long summer for them. Only complaint is that we were locked out of our room 2 times because the key card stopped working. The shuttle is very convenient with many trips throughout the day and night. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqtravlrMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thanks Freqtravlr! There is no question that August is the busiest month of the season on Nantucket! and while it is no excuse, the crowds do occasionally weigh on residents - including the staff. We always recommend the off-season months (like September) as great alternatives to the high summer as the crowds have thinned and even the rates drop! Key cards are very fickle and we are happy to see some new technology on the horizon - in the meantime we remind all our guests that we are happy to save you a trip to reception - just call us on your cellphone and we are happy to bring freshly encoded keys to your room. (proper identification required) We hope to see you again soon and once again, than you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Six couples returned to the Inn for a second year for our 4 night getaway, and were so impressed, again, at the level of service and attention to detail the Nantucket Inn offers their guests. Manager Scott Thomas insures that his vision of creating a perfect guest experience for All who stay at his hotel was evident everywhere.
From the van drivers to the front desk, to the Mom's breakfast staff, the entire crew was bouncing, energetic, and you could tell they enjoyed their jobs!....it made our stay all the better. The hotel room. Is up to date, super clean, and the courtyards are a perfect setup for the 100 rooms the Inn has to offer.
We can't wait to return again next year.....our Activities Director has already begun working on dates!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have more privacy, but all are nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimedBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you jimed! It was a great pleasure to welcome your group back to Nantucket and the Nantucket Inn. As soon as you have your dates for 2014, let us know and we would be very happy to make your reservations. Even though our season is (slowly) coming to a close, our reservation office is open year 'round and we always encourage booking early to get the best rates! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Even though it is a little far from town, this hotel has it all. All the staff is very very friendly and helpful.
This hotel is kept clean and updated. We enjoyed Mom`s breakfast buffet every morning that included fresh fuit, waffles to die for, pancakes,eggs benedict, sausage , bacon,home fries,eggs, juice, coffee, cereal, donuts and it just went on and on.
The indoor pool is beautiful,with life guards who take their jobs very seriously. The outdoor pool is also nice with a bar for drinks and snacks.
The court yards are landscaped and peaceful. You can have cocktails at the bar were Wendall will make sure you have a good time along with all the amazing drinks he makes. Ilove this hotel!
Shuttles in to down are amazing! They were always on time. Where do you need to go? We`ll take you there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

What a lovely review beth - thank you! We were so happy to welcome you to Nantucket and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit. (and so will Wyndell!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a great spot to enjoy a Nantucket Island vacation. Located by the airport about 3 miles from town. Excellent breakfast! Comfortable room. Shuttle service to and from town is included in the price. Drivers are courteous and accommodating. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you Eric and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Inn is almost 3 miles from town. Totally isolated, and directly across from the airport. There is a complimentary shuttle service, but it means everything has to be planned around the shuttle schedule. Totally inconvenient, even though the drivers are very nice and accommodating. The rooms are outdated with horrible beddings, skimpy blankets and lousy pillows. The bathrooms are also really average with motel type tub showers and cheap amenities. There is a pool, but it is in the back of the property, and also very average. On the positive side, the staff are wonderful. They are mostly Jamaican, and very customer service oriented. The breakfast buffet is also a nice feature. This hotel is a less expensive alternative on the island, but set your expectations. It is definitely a no frills place - tired and outdated. I'm not sure why the other reviewers speak so highly of this place. If you've ever traveled anywhere else in the world, this property is a C- by comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seakayaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that the location of the Nantucket Inn led to your unsatisfactory visit to beautiful Nantucket. We are troubled by these comments as we are very upfront about our location as being outside of the downtown and complimentary use of our shuttle services. Perhaps most troubling is the disrespect shown other reviewers who find the Nantucket Inn a great fit for their vacation needs. Sites like triapadvisor exist so that travelers can share experiences and help other travelers find the correct fit for their vacation needs. We didn't fit for you but we do for a large segment of the traveling public. We thank them and we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff, excellent transportation to/from town. Expensive but compared to other Inns in town is average.
Breakfast was very good. Very close to the airport which it's very convenient if you don't mind the extra noise, however with windows closed and the A/C running the noise is hardly noticeable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
2.6 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantucket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket Inn

Address: 1 Miller Lane, Nantucket, MA 02554-2898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range: £158 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nantucket Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Nantucket. 100 room resort nestled among three landscaped acres just outside the hustle and bustle of downtown. Indoor and outdoor pools, lighted tennis courts and complimentary shuttle service to historic downtown and nearby Surfside beach (ferry and airport transfers too). All rates include complete Mom's Breakfast. Great package plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nantucket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing