We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding experience”
Review of The Wauwinet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wauwinet
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely outstanding experience”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I booked The Wauwinet for three days for our anniversary, looking for a quiet, relaxed, beautiful place to spend time together. We could not have been more pleased with our experience there. We felt that the location of the Inn was excellent being on a part of Nantucket that is more quiet and secluded and where we could enjoy beautiful views of Natucket Bay and the Atlantic beach side of the island was only a few steps away. Our room was beautiful and comfortable and the grounds around the hotel were immaculate. But even more impressive than all of this was the friendliness and personal attention we were given by the staff. Every person we came into contact with was eager to be helpful and informative. I could not help but be impressed with how they seemed to love what they were doing and where they were working. To top it all off, on the day we were to leave, we were delayed on a tour of the bay we were on and missed the shuttle from the Inn to the ferry. The manager of the Wauwinet, Eric, personally took us to the ferry so we would not miss it. I think this is a true testament to their commitment to their patrons and I definitely highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    31
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
27
148
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Recently stayed at the lovely Wauwinet Inn and cannot stop raving about my experience.
The Inn itself is extraordinary but the staff is what makes the experience of staying at this beautiful property so exceptional. Our concierge, Jordana Fleischut, was on hand from check in through our stay. She and her colleagues anticipate your every need while remaining unobtrusive and warm. Our room was breathtaking with views of Nantucket sound. We had the added benefit of the most beautiful sunset during our stay and I joked that Jordana must have taken care of that for us. That is how pampered we felt by she and her staff.
DOn't hesitate to book a stay at this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We visited in October 2010 and are in the process of booking a stay this coming October. This time of the year in Nantucket is perfect -- the weather is comfortable and you cannot belive all the flowers still if full bloom around the island. The grounds around the Wauwinet are spectacular and if you are looking for a place to relax while still having unlimited access to the quaint town of Nantucket, the Wauwinet is your answer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

You will never understand what it is like to feel like to be royalty until you experience the Wauwinet. We went for a romantic long weekend and everything was perfect. The front desk was so professional. They knew we came after being referred by family and thanked us for the business and told us how much they loved our family! Then we got to the breath taking room and found chocolate covered strawberries complements of the staff. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the room was impeccable. I would highly recommend Toppers for breakfast and lunch. The dinner was good but better dinning in town and with a free shuttle in and out why not?? If you have time for a massage or facial you will love the services at the inn. I loved the cavier facial it was wonderful and my skin was so smooth. The Wauwinet falls short on nothing. This is my favorite spot on th east coast true hidden treasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella201140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The immaculate grounds, the attention to detail and the warm welcome from the staff to the incredible dining experience, waterfront views and beautifully decorated rooms, this is the Wauwinet.

The Port and cheese late afternoon, the nap in the lawn chairs listening to the waves, the working of a jigsaw puzzle infront of the fireplace in the game room.

The spa, the lounge, the wildflower gardens... the outdoor dining, the library and the stone patio.

The new friends, the shopping in town, the Chefs tasting menu.

We have found the place we will go every Fall.

Thank you Wauwinet for not missing a single detail.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Although pricey, it's exactly what you expect. Manicured grounds, amazing ocean views, impeccable service and all the little extras you'll love.

Hike along the beach to the lighthouse or borrow a bike for a great ride into town. Free hourly shuttle into towns for dining and shopping too.

A little shocked at some of the prices though. A picnic lunch is 32 dollars per person which is obscene. Other than that, you'll love it here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledyard, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Absolutely charming, picturesque resort located on northeast end of Nantucket Island. It is nestled in an old New England seaside setting offering views of both the Nantucket Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at The Wauwinet sits it apart from other resorts we have visited. The room decor remained me of what would have been in a late 19th century New England luxury seaside cottage; simple, but elegant. A special touch that I have not seen at any other resort was the personalized cards waiting for us on the bed.

We were advised to be sure to watch the sunset over the Nantucket Bay as it would be spectacular. I have to say it was one of the most amazing and unobstructed sunsets I have seen.

The Wauwinet’s internationally acclaimed restaurant, Topper’s, offers a relaxing, yet elegant, dining atmosphere.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Wauwinet. I believe they achieve and exceed what they state: “A sense of the exceptional distinguishes The Wauwinet, which is dedicated to providing an unmatched guest experience. Here, you’ll find a gracious and attentive staff that is second to none. You’ll also find a wealth of special touches and complimentary activities that add exceptional value to your stay.”

Room Tip: For a beautiful room view of the sunset, get a room on the Nantucket Bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
5.9 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
443 reviews
6.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
6.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
6.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
463 reviews
6.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wauwinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wauwinet

Property: The Wauwinet
Address: 120 Wauwinet Rd, P.O. Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-4213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nantucket
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Wauwinet 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WAUWINET is situated in between the Atlantic Ocean and Nantucket Bay, The Wauwinet is the island's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. An adults-only escape, it is the stuff of storybook romance. Its grounds are beautifully landscaped, with unmatched views and access to two beaches - one on the ocean and one on the bay. The 33-room inn is a study in luxe comfort, from Pratesi linens to antique furnishings and private sundecks. TOPPER'S, its New American cuisine restaurant, is consistently ranked one of the top in New England. A continual recipient of Wine Spectator's "Grand Award," the restaurant features over 1,400 American and international wine vintages. Guests who want a casual open-air lunch can linger on TOPPER's Deck before ambling out to the beach for sunbathing, a little fishing, or a boat trip. The relaxing and effective menu of treatments features therapies using locally-sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Otel, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wauwinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wauwinet Hotel Nantucket
Wauwinet Hotel Nantucket
Wauwinet Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing