We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

One of our favorite places to visit in the world! Both the island, and the White Elephant. Always a very accommodating staff. Rooms beautifully appointed, and meticulously clean. Food amazing! Entertainment in the tavern is a blast!
Charm of the Winter Stroll is second to none. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAndD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear TAndD80;

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. It sounds like you had a wonderful time! Stroll is an EXCELLENT time to come! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    56
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
84
209
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

There are many amazing and quaint places in Nantucket to stay, but if you are celebrating a special occasion and want to be comfortable and not worry about anything, this is the place. we stayed before our wedding and the staff couldn't have been more thoughtful and helpful. They made the weekend that much more special. Every last detail is perfect - lasting memories.

Room Tip: Big rooms that face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agatha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Agatha Z;

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. Please let me know when you come back to visit with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

You can't get a better location in Nantucket. Walkable to town and walkable to the beach. Gorgeous rooms and to die for Sunday brunch. Also saw some celebs during the Nantucket Film festival.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Frank R!

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. The FIlm Festival is a wonderful time to come! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Impeccably operated hotel with every amenity situated in a scenic ocean playground. This is hotel luxury as it should be. The White Elephant is housed in multle-storied, cedar shake buildings some of which date back decades. The interiors, however, are understated elegance with expensive antique-class furnishings; tables, chairs, elaborate wall and floor coverings; much of which appear brand new. Our room was spacious and outfitted nicely with a desk, sofa, upholstered wing chairs, and a sumptuous king bed. There was a private porch from which we could experience a nice cool breeze from the ocean. The whole apartment was spotless with not a speck of dust anywhere, even behind the furniture where cleaning is spotty in most hotels. What a comfortable environment. The hotel amenities included a lavish spa, exercise facility, fine dining facility, the hotel's own beach, beach furniture, and a view of the harbor (with its hundreds of pleasure craft) that is the best in town. The staff caters to the customers every whim and they provide transportation to and from downtown. One of our greatest hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Fred F;

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor! It sounds like you had a wonderful visit!

Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmount
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed for 4 days in October, as usual the service was excellent. The staff really took great care of me, and I can be a difficult guest. It's really a home away from home for me when i'm on Nantucket. Will definitely be back in 2012. Happy New Year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear scob;

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

There is not a better travel experience in the world than staying at the White Elephant anytime of the year. I have stayed at the finest hotels all around the world and nothing compares to the White Elephant. I first discovered this hotel about 7 years ago through a friend's recommendation. I now return every year and have upped my visits to twice a year. If I could make it more often, I would. The White Elephant takes care of every guest to the fullest extent. The rooms are wonderful and the staff is phenomenal. There isn't a bad room in the hotel. From the courtesy van rides to and from the ferry to restaurant recommendations to inside information on all things Nantucket, every person working at the White Elephant is there to help. If ever there is a problem, every member of the staff is there to fix it and make sure your visit is perfect. I am ready to book this year's visits and hope I can make it more than twice this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colo_Prosecutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Colo_Prosecutor

Thank you for posting your review! It is nice to see that you are coming back yearly! We so appreciate that.

Please let me know when you come back to stay with us this year!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our family went there for a 3 night stay just before the high season and are thinking about going back every year from now on. At the time our son was 4 months old and we had an amazing time. We had a very difficult time finding a place to stay with a child that young and were so glad we found The White Elephant. If you have an infant I wouldn't even consider anywhere else.

I could go on for days, but, I'll break it down into Pro's and Con's:

Pro's:
- They met us at the Ferry and ushered us directly to our hotel with no fuss
- When we got to our room they had a crib ready with a travel kit for babies, extra diapers and a stuffed elephant toy
- The rooms were awesome, very luxurious, we stayed in a Guest Suite on the first floor and it was perfect as it had
- Concierge was awesome and recommended the best places, the most amazing being this awesome sandwich shop about a mile up the hills into the residential neighborhood, just perfect.
- The entire staff was awesome for that matter, outstanding service.
- Room service food was excellent
- Location was great, walking distance to the main town and all the stores and dining.

Con's
- none
- maybe you could complain about the price during the high season, but, in the off season I felt we got our money's worth and then some.

I think you get the point, it was amazing. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: Get a Ground Floor Guest Suite, in the courtyard with the lounges, if you are traveling with a child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Learned_TravelParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Learned_TravelParent

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. I am happy to see that your travels with the little one were successful! It certainly can be daunting! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton Street, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing