We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage and it made our vacation perfect. The bed was beyond comfortable, the cottage was adorable and the location is within walking distance to town. The staff is so professional and thoughtful, I can't think of one thing I would change. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainedish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jules H;

Thank you for posting your review! I love our one bedroom cottages! As you know, their décor , and the three bedroom cottages, is very much a cottage style, which sets them apart from the décor in the hotel and in the two bedroom cottages, both those areas are more traditional. In fact all the furniture is from the Stanley Coastal Collection. I just love all the pastel colors and the old pine floors in those seven cottages! This year we added lots of great bathroom fixtures, shelves etc. to make them even better (ok, so it gave me an excuse to shop at Pottery Barn for those...it was a long winter...)

Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    59
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
216
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very nice hotel , we loved how they preserve the original look . Nantucket is a beautiful island ,all cobble stone streets ,the restaurants are the best .
the rum cake factory was nice as well .

Our bests experience was renting a jeep and just driving around the island , the waves were amazing .

Room Tip: Close to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jeremy H;

Thank you for posting your review! We are very fortunate that our location, right on the harbor and only a few short blocks from town is so spectacular. The cobble stone streets are a Nantucket Icon! We definitely recommend that our guests keep that in mind when packing their footwear!
The hotel is very much in a Nantucket Style, although don't be fooled, we are constantly enhancing and improving our product. This year alone, 12 of our rooms (those near the bar) have received new window treatments and new carpet and the four suites near the bar now have completely new bathrooms. There is always something to do!

Take care and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We typically go to Martha's Vineyard to celebrate our anniversary every year, but this year my husband surprised me with a trip to Nantucket. We were given an upgrade to a 2 bedroom cottage that was simply the best stay we have ever experienced anywhere. The room was gorgeous, service was top notch from the check-in, to the gentleman that showed us to our room to'the concierge helping with dinner reservations. We arrived as a major event was wrapping up and the place could easily have been in chaos, but it was not. We were treated as if we were the only people there.

I have been laying down some serious hints to my husband that I want to purchase the linens used for the bedding, they were so luxurious! We are looking forward to visiting again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hoagy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear hoagy1969;

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the White Elephant last September! It is so nice to hear about the lovely time you had! While we are lucky enough to host many events in the spring and fall we really value each and every one of our guests and try to make absolutely certain they are looked after as though they are our only guests.
It sounds like a wonderful stay! We do sell our amazing Pratesi linens in a King size set! We just received our shipment for the year and are busy fulfilling mail orders, so please let me know if you would like a set! I can be reached at blandt@niresorts.com

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed at the White Elephant before but I had forgotten about all the little nice touches they offer to make the stay more special. It starts with the pre-arrival concierge calling you a few weeks before arrival to help make dinner reservations, spa appointments, etc. A very nice touch for someone that is very busy and forgets to set these up in advance. Give them your ferry arrival information and they are there to pick you up at the ferry and drive you to the hotel. In our room there was a hand written note welcoming us back and a box of chocolate covered raisins. At turndown each night there were little chocolates plus the weather forecast for the next day. When you check out, they give you a bag with bottled water and snacks to take on the ferry. I love the White Elephant and would definitely go back. I read below that some others have been upgraded on their stay. That would have been really nice on our visit since it was a low season, but maybe next time we'll luck out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onspithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear onspithia;

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are always happy to see our guests returning multiple times. We are very fortunate to have a great base of loyal guests such as yourself, that come back often. Not something we take for granted :-)

The little touches like the chocolates, the departure gifts etc. are fun. We are always looking for new things we can do that are not expected and are little symbols of appreciation for our guests.

Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had been to the White Elephant many years prior with my wife. It has changed in some respects (previously had an outdoor pool) but it still has the essentials including its peerless Nantucket Harbor views, friendly and accommodating staff, large rooms, super ancillary services - room cleaning, "turndown" etc, and general excellence. I was pleasantly surprised, during my recent early October visit, to have been "upgraded" (gratis) to a bigger, quieter and more optimal harbor view room than originally requested. Very classy, but typical of the White Elephant's style.

Location is fabulous as noted, with magnificent harbor viewing and easy walking to "downtown"/Main St. area. The Brant Point restaurant is top notch and the afternoon Port and cheese mixers a very pleasant touch as well. Complimentary shuttle service to the Wauwinet (sister hotel) and Toppers restaurant very convenient. The library is a beautiful and very relaxing room for general relaxation.

Only complaint is I was not able to stay more than 3 nights. Not cheap, but this type of quality rarely is. This place is clearly a notch above, and among the best, on Nantucket. Will be back again- hopefully soon and often.

Room Tip: Most rooms have harbor views but clearly some are a lot better than others. "Best" views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBARRY740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear HBARRY740;

Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, back in the day there was a pool facing the harbor. While this is no longer there, we still have an amazing view and we are so lucky to be so close to Nantucket town that our guests can easlily walk (or take a courtwsy BMW, either way!)

Little touches all add up. I am glad you had such a great stay.

You bring up an interesting point that some readers may not know about: The Wauwinet, our sister hotel has such a great reputation. TOPPER'S, their restaurant, scored a perfect 100 in this year's Travel and Leisure reader's poll! Quite something they (and we) are proud of! We do run a shuttle each evening from the White Elephant to the Wauwinet and in the Summer, the Wauwinet Lady, their boat launch, departs here at the White Elephant for lunch and dinner at the Wauwinet. Don't forget to make reservations and pack your sunscreen for the 45 minute ride!

Thank you again and we hope to see you next season!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I took my dad and mom for their 85th and 81st birthdays. We absolutely loved it. The room was very well appointed, extremely comfortable, we had a beautiful view of the harbor, and the food was fantastic. The staff was most kind, and I will absolutely return to the White Elephant Resort.

Debbie from Saratoga

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Gia D;

Thank you for posting your review. We do cater to many different travellers ranging from solo travellers who just want to come and enjoy a little quiet time to multi generational travellers who may have different concerns and priorities. I am happy you took your mom and dad and that they enjoyed their stay also. Being so close to town and having an elevator and the courtesy vehicles always makes things a bit easier!

Enjoy the holidays and let me know when you come again!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hubby and I went to the White Elephant Inn and it was outstanding. From the time that we got off the ferry, the black SUV was waiting for us with a nice driver and water. Once we got to the resort, the front desk staff welcomed us with delicious lemonade and an upgrade. The room was lovely, very Nantucket in decorations...The resort is walking distance to all of the main destinations, Main Street and the best restaurants. Make sure that you take advantage of the great restaurant on site, we had a great breakfast with an even prettier view. I sprained my ankle while we were there and the staff was quick to provide ice and popcorn for movies...This is much more lovely than the Vineyard, make it a must to go!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear MCastle83;

Thank you for posting your tripadvisor review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and I do hope your ankle feels better!
Arriving by boat is a wonderful way to ease in to the Nantucket frame of mind. Coming around Brant Point as you pull into the harbor is so spectacular. Did you know that it is customary to throw a penny into the water from the ferry just as you round the point when leaving to ensure a return visit?

Hope you did and we will see you again soon!

Sincerley,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
5.9 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton St, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing